We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secret Food Tours San Francisco
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Secret Food Tours San Francisco tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
74
2
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
2
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burrito mission district food stops dolores park highly recommend the tour guide david inside info street art local history cool things great tour his knowledge small group walking tour all ages murals taqueria
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I lucked out and got Katherine’s tour all to ourselves. Her knowledge and passion for the Mission area made the food and sights all the better: from burritos to spring rolls to chocolate to ice cream, and stops at interesting shops along the way. The pace was perfect and outdoor artwork alone is worth the trip. Many thanks!

Thank Ottawa_JF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas J, Owner at Secret Food Tours San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for joining and for writing this wonderful review. We're extremely grateful that you had a wonderful time with Katherine's tour. We're really looking forward to have you again in our other Secret Food Tours - now in over 30 cities world-wide. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us took this tour this morning and we loved it. Plenty to eat, all delicious and varied. Our guide, Katherine was exceptional. Her local knowledge added to the experience. Great little out of the way places we would never have seen without Katherine. Highly recommended

Thank Meander588504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas J, Owner at Secret Food Tours San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for joining and sharing your amazing experience. We're extremely happy that you had a wonderful time with Katherine's tour. Kindly check our other Secret Food Tours - now in over 30 cities world-wide. We can't wait to see you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

My partner and I really wanted to do the secret food tour of the mission, so we shortened our drive down the coast and stayed in San Fran for an additional day. The morning of the tour, we woke early and hopped in our 30 dollar Uber to get to the mission cultural centre, where we waited for 40 mins before calling the tour guide at the number provided. The voicemail was full so we called another number they gave us. A man answered saying that the tour had been cancelled because the guide had been in an accident. I totally get that accidents happen but the appropriate response would have been to find another guide, or at the very least call me to let me know. Neither happened. No one apologized until we pointed out that no one apologized.... they offered to reimburse me for the tour cost, and the Uber, but I’m still waiting. They offered to comp a tour in the future (I was ok with accepting a tour in LA a week later, but still no response. This seems to me to be a pretty sketchy organization. There we stood with a small group of tourists waiting for the tour (none of whom had received a telephone call). We delivered the bad news...

Thank Mykel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas J, Owner at Secret Food Tours San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, Mykel, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback with us. We do sincerely apologize that your tour had to be cancelled, as we mentioned over the phone on the day, the guide had unfortunately been in an accident. As you mention in your review, the first number you called did not answer, and that's because we were on the line with our guide, who had just called to inform us that he would be unable to make the tour that day. As soon as we had that information, we went ahead and called the other guests to let them know of the situation, but by that point you had already contacted us.
In terms of a refund for the tour, we have fully refunded the tour for the two people in your party, and we have tried reaching out by both phone and email to discuss the two complimentary tickets to a future tour, however you have yet to respond to any of our attempts to contact you. Because we value the experience and time of all of our guests, we would appreciate if you reached out to us so we could discuss your experience further and to provide improvements for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful time on this tour. Carly was very knowledgable, friendly and in addition to exposing us to delicious dishes, showed us around the mission district with beautiful artwork. My favorite dish was the pork burrito without rice. Absolutely delicious. The highlight of the walk was the amazing view of the city at the end. Thank you for a wonderful experience and accommodating my hisband's dietary restrictions. Highly recommend the tour and Carly!

1  Thank Sherly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas J, Owner at Secret Food Tours San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Thank you very much for taking your time to write us such a detailed and wonderful review, Sherly. It was truly an honour to have you in our tour and a pleasure to have shared with you the true beauty of the city and its way of life. Please let us know when you are coming back so we could give you a discount, see you again soon in our other Secret Food Tours - now in over 26 cities world-wide. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

David provides a super food experience combined with an informative walk in the Mission area. His knowledge of the city and its food outlets was impressive. All our the food stops provide generous and top quality food. A must do tour when visiting San Fransico

1  Thank Wanderer578560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas J, Owner at Secret Food Tours San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you for rating us as a 5 star experience and for giving us this amazing review. We are so happy that you had a great time with our awesome guide, David. See you again soon in our other Secret Food Tours - now in over 26 cities world-wide. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

As new residents of SF, we are so happy to have spent the day learning about the Mission District- past and current. We truly “ate our way thru” the area! As with any tour, the guide makes or breaks the experience and Carly was amazing! She’s bright, outgoing, adorable and so knowledgeable about this amazing city! We will definitely take visitors on this tour and will look into the SFT in other cities!

1  Thank 562BeckyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas J, Owner at Secret Food Tours San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Thank you for joining us, we are delighted to know that you had a fantastic experience exploring the city. Again, thank you for the recommendation and we hope to see you again in our other tours in more than 26 cities now worldwide:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews