We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to eat and walk around”
Review of Pier 39

Pier 39
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95,00*
and up
PIER 39 Attraction Pass
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: From amazing views and a sea of sea lions to chowder bread bowls and California wines, your visit to San Francisco starts at PIER 39. Kick off your visit by exploring two levels of dining, entertainment, shopping and attractions, all surrounded by unbeatable views of the city and the bay. Take it from the world famous sea lions: a visit to San Francisco starts at The PIER.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We like walking around, observe the sea lions and grab things to eat. However it doesn’t reflect the city of San Francisco that is better than the Pier 39.
Very good location for the kids. Many things to do.

Thank sandraD8965VO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

The sea lions are wonderful, aren't they? It is great hearing that you enjoyed your visit to PIER 39, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18 279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sea lions"
in 3 965 reviews
"lots of shops"
in 489 reviews
"street performers"
in 339 reviews
"seafood"
in 352 reviews
"tourist spot"
in 115 reviews
"clam chowder"
in 216 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 157 reviews
"walk around"
in 160 reviews
"alcatraz island"
in 132 reviews
"the golden gate bridge"
in 282 reviews
"carousel"
in 406 reviews
"souvenirs"
in 595 reviews
"tourists"
in 809 reviews
"bay"
in 870 reviews
"aquarium"
in 515 reviews
"pontoon"
in 115 reviews
"sf"
in 655 reviews
Filter

198 - 202 of 18 285 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We wenr to Pier 39 around 9am before the masses of tourists invaded the area. The pier is nice, full of different shops and restaurants. There's also sealions you can watch. If you walk to the very end of the pier you get a good look over Alcatraz, in the distance you can also see the Golden Gate Bridge. I recommend going early in the day to avoid tourists. It is a must-see-place when traveling in San Francisco. The boutiqes prices are high, same with most of the restaurants.

Thank emmaforsgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

There is indeed a lot to see and experience at PIER 39, and we are so glad you enjoyed your time visiting us! Excellent tip to get to PIER 39 early in the day - not only is it less crowded, but it's also beautiful. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for more fun by the bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Sea Lions at Pier 39 are so much fun to watch and a must see while in San Francisco! There are also many great restaurants and shops and it is fun to just walk through and check it all out, but worth it just for the Sea Lions alone.

Thank Leonski10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

The sea lions are such a treat to see, aren't they? Until your next visit to PIER 39, look in on them anytime with the Sea Lion Webcam on our website. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pier 39 has a multitude of things to do in one area. From fabulous seafood restaurants, to entertainment on the main stage, and the famous Sea Lions basking in the sun or entertaining you in the water. A grand view of Alcatraz from the end of the pier with the Golden Gate Bridge just off to your left. Great picture taking from this point! There is also a huge heart at the end of the Pier reminding us of the ever famous song back in 1962 by Tony Bennett " I Left My Heart in San Francisco ". So many little shops to spend the afternoon visiting- from cloths, jewelry to knick knacks, and the yummy Boudin Bread Bistro. Don't miss a ride around the bay in one of the many Fleets along the pier; a great way to see all of San Francisco & the surrounding cities. On any given day the adjacent streets along the pier are filled with street entertainers from break dancing to finger painting on canvas - don't miss out on them it just steps away from Pier 39. Just enjoy everything San Francisco has to offer, and come back again to venture further into the suburbs of Lil Italy, Chinatown, or Little Japan - so much to do in this town.

Thank 925darleent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing PIER 39 on TripAdvisor! There is indeed a lot to see and experience at PIER 39, and we are so glad you enjoyed your time visiting us! Tony Bennett's famous song "I Left My Heart in San Francisco" is certainly appropriate and we are thrilled to hear that your visit reminded you of this song. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On a solo trip, I had to stop by. I did t regret it! The store are incredible, the food was out of this world. Something for everyone here.

Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan B, Guest Relations Manager at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It is wonderful that you had fun exploring PIER 39's shops and restaurants! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier 39 also viewed

 

Been to Pier 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing