We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to watch sunrise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hale M

Current view of Hale Malaekahana from the water.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Current view of Hale Malaekahana from the water.
Hale Malaekahana Covered lanai seating and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Current view of Hale Malaekahana from the water.
Hale Malaekahana
Covered lanai seating and dining area
Master Bedroom w/ Kingsize Bed
Reading nook and vanity
View from Master bedroom reading nook
Dawn view from reading nook
Queen Bedroom with ocean front window seat
Twin Bedroom
Living room with punee
Full bath
Kitchen with picture window facing the beach
Kitchen and beach view
View from a Drone!
This is a typical Morning walk on the beach at low tide.
Picture from New Years day 2013
The Beach!
Sunrise
House next door used in the movie 'Soul Surfer'
Short walk to the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kahuku, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Debbie K
Loveland, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to watch sunrise”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time on our vacation. This home is right on the beach. Kids had lots of fun with the boogie boards and sand toys. We stayed in this home for 11 days. It has everything you need to feel at home. The kitchen has everything you need to cook at home and save $$ (a side note the Foodland nearby is closed on Sunday). We saw every sunrise while we were there and drove 10 minutes to Sunset beach to see as many sunsets as we could. The home is very close to the Polynesian Culture Center, Waimea Falls and countless beaches. The home is older and rustic, exactly as described.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House right next to ocean
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Thank you Debbie for leaving a review. We always appreciate when guest take the time to reflect on their stay an Hale M.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emappeal2...
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Letter to the owners of Hale Malaekahana”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hi Stanley & Marcia,
I didn’t get a chance to personally write a thank you in the guest book in your home so am writing this to extend a sincere Mahalo on behalf of the three of us who for rented your beautiful home last week - Hale Malaekahana - for 3 nights from Sept 29 to Oct 2 . It way too short a stay which happily was the only negative in our entire experience of our stay here. None of us wanted to leave. Thank you for the hospitality that you and your sister Marcia provided – the home was immaculate, with everything a home needs to be welcoming and the kitchen was stocked with every cooking item, utensil and condiment imaginable. We walked through the house exclaiming “Oh wow” over and over. “oh my gosh! Boogie boards, snorkels, an ice cooler, and chairs, Yay!” and “are you kidding me a gorgeous window seat view AND a great selection of books?!” and “BBQ grill & briquets wow, can’t wait to bbq chicken teriyaki - all we need is the chicken – oh look it’s running around outside!” and “check out the outdoor shower” and “ice cream in the freezer? What??!” It was all so great. We loved it all. Your beautiful beach just steps from the home was topping on the cake and the beautiful sunrise in the morning seen from my bedroom window in the morning were the candles on that cake topping. Just so special and something I will never forget. I am gushing now. There is so much to love about staying in your beautiful home and don’t even get me started on all the handcrafted woodworking on the doors and trim and light fixtures and custom elements that elevated your Hale Malaekahana into a very special place. I will never forget it and if I ever get the chance to visit Oahu again I hope I can stay here again.
Mahalo,
Debbie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful zen like home right on the beach
Liked least: there were no negatives
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Mahalo Nui Loa Debbie! Thank you very much. I read this to my friends and they said "how much did you pay for this review?" I told them money did not buy this review, honesty, good service and great location did!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik2034
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is a Paradise here!”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with our family for one week and we enjoyed every moment of it. The good service of the Braden family, the well equiped house for a pleasant stay, the sandy beach, the environment ......... it was a paradise to us !

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your review. You left us some laundry in the dryer but I do not think you want to pay the postage back to Holland!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratham, New Hampshire
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, proximity to beach/water, local culture/food.
Liked least: No A/C, sometimes at night the Ocean breeze died down and house became a bit hot/muggy.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your fantastic review and your honest depiction! My sisters and I own, manage and fix up the place ourselves. We take pride in our humble cottage and aim to please our guests. Please come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
oahu2015
Spokane Valley, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our North Shore stay”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After reviewing multiple locations based on reviews and talking to the people renting the property, we decided on this location. Both Marcia and Stanley are very informative and were helpful, which was the most important to us as it was a long trip. The house is well equipped with things you need and should not have to deal with when you are away, with the exception of food. It was great to have surfboards, boogie boards, masks etc to use. we went to multiple beaches while there especially on the north shore, and this made a great place to start out away from the busy honolulu area. I tried to make contact by e-mail and/or phone with some places for rent and people that rent do not answer or not willing to reply in 48 hours, I consider this important and appreciate both Stanley and Marcia being so helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amenities, bogie boards, towels, etc.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
Thanks Mark! We are glad your vacation was a success and you found our place enjoyable. We try to make our guest feel welcome and try to improve our house all the time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing