We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
272
70
13
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
70
13
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friday mornings sea turtles returning guests coastal trail mai tais great snorkeling beautiful grounds paddle boarding overlooking the ocean napili tano units lawn paradise lanai maui rocks
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2015

This place was fantastic, the staff were very helpful and it was a great place to stay. Jules was very helpful with ideas for happy hour across the bay and local knowledge. There was even boogie boards and fins to borrow to explore the ocean steps from the resort. The grounds were very clean and the unit we stayed in was excellently maintained. Sure, there was no Air Conditioning but there was always a constant breeze to keep you cool enough. We used the BBQ next to the beach to cook fresh fish from the fish market a couple of miles away. Our only regret was we did not stay longer.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steep_n_deep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

I see people complaining about the lack of air conditioning, and I completely understand that. However we had 4 fans and a ceiling fan in our room when we arrived which really helped cool things down, and there is a nice breeze coming off the ocean in the evening. Besides, why stay in your room all day when there is so much to see and explore in Maui?

Has a nice pool, right on the beach where there is good swimming. The kitchen was decent and we were able to eat in easily. For the price it's a great place to stay. Napili Bay is also a very "happening" place with tons of activities going on and lots to see.

Room tip: Go for a pool-facing room. Any floor is fine but I always like upper floors.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank UncleCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015

I was shocked to find there wasn't any air-conditioning in this place! They give you plenty of fans to blow the hot air around, but the temperature in the room made it difficult to sleep. The kitchen was ok - the bathroom VERY tiny! Decorated like someone's grandmother's home -- lots of silk flowers, etc. Frankly these items took up much needed space for suitcase storage. They give you coffee when you first arrive - after that you're on your own. I don't understand that since they get the same room charge each day, why don't we get the same service?! House keeping comes every other day and changes the towels. That's about it. Wi-fi worked only during the middle of the night. Perhaps they have bandwidth issues. Who knows.
Can't say as I'd stay here again - might have been ok if I was in college and traveling with a group of other kids but this was in NO WAY shape or form a RESORT. Don't let the name fool you!! I can't believe it receives such a high rating on Trip Advisor --- but then again, a lot of the positive reviews sound the same to me. Go figure.

Room tip: Go elsewhere!
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

First, let me tell you what's good about the place. It has easy access to a nice beachfront. We appreciated having relatively new kitchen appliances, i.e. stove, microwave, and dishwasher.

The few new appliances were inserted into an environment had had not been updated since the 1960's. The bathroom was small, the shower stall tiny, and the toilet flushed only with difficulty and encouragement. For inquiring about that problem, we were given a plunger.

Sliding screen doors and many fans provided the cooling, as there was NO air conditioning. That was a shock, when we arrived on a steamy warm and humid evening, and the place only got hotter during the day.

Service: Housekeeping only comes every two days and performs minimal service. Coffee was provided for the coffee machine only on the first day of our week-long stay, and we were advised that it's up to us to go shopping. When we called the desk asking for more coffee on the second day, the office attendant said she'd send more, but nothing ever happened. We got some later by a chance encounter with the maid, who acted frightened that we asked her to do something forbidden. The office is only open during 9-5 business hours, and even then the phone is not always answered. Wifi service was provided, but often did not work.

Parking was tight and competitive.

It's not as though this place is a bargain, either ...

In summary, I can't imagine why you would want to stay here, unless you're planning to spend every daylight hour at the beach, you'll be cooking in your room, and you'll be too stoned to notice how crummy the accommodations are when you're stuck inside.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank DrasticTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Napili Surf is the ideal setting on Napili Bay. The long time staff provides wonderfull friendly service treating each guest as a VIP. Each week includes a great social hour breakfast and a Mai Tai party where you get acquainted with your neighbors. Your location for watching the sunsets is spectacular. We have returned every year in September for 17 years and love it.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank damonnancyjohnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews