We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 773)
Filter reviews
2 773 results
Traveller rating
1 323
944
316
136
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 323
944
316
136
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the beach club restaurant full kitchen grocery store aloha suite garden pool ocean view amenity fee washer and dryer strip mall bedroom condo the penthouse on site restaurant java jazz parking fee tennis courts per day times supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 2 773 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After much research my husband and I decided to stay at the Aston Kaanapali shores for several reasons...we were celebrating 22 years of marriage, it was our very first tropical vacation destination together, and it was only our second trip without the kids, so we knew we needed something special and within our budget. Well this place delivered! The staff are incredible and the grounds are beautiful! We had a lovely room with a partial ocean view, a full kitchen and a very comfortable bed (and a whisper quiet air conditioner). After long days of exploring Maui, having free dvd rentals was such a bonus and it was a great way to wind down after the day. The onsite shops and restaurant were so convenient. I actually ended up getting the majority of our souvenirs from the onsite stores. We thoroughly enjoyed the meals at the restaurant and especially appreciated the attentive staff. The location of the resort is so convenient and I wish so very much we could go back for another vacation!!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OnTheGoFamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesF4993, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha OnTheGoFamily_12 and thank you for taking the time to share your fabulous review! We are beyond thrilled to hear you enjoyed our ideal location, fantastic amenities, and that you received excellent service from our friendly and helpful staff! We appreciate your kind words and for sharing the details of your stay that made it so memorable. It was a pleasure to have you, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo and warmest aloha.

James Farquhar
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. For the money we paid, I feel this resort is a bang for your buck!! Our view was spectacular of the pool and ocean and the grounds at this resort are very impressive. Some of the nicest I’ve seen. The location is prime — 10 minutes drive to downtown Lahaina and the beautiful beach at black rock is just a couple minutes drive. I highly recommend checking out that beach. There is a beach area in front of the south end of the resort and the pools and hot tubs are great. The food at the beach bar is better than expected, my husband was asking when we could eat there for dinner almost every day! Hah. The happy hour goes from 2-5 PM and has good drink specials such as $6 margaritas and Mai Tais. If you’re wanting a tropical getaway in prime location with great access to pools and beaches, GO HERE!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aubrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesF4993, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Aubrey. We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation stay, and were comfortable in your accommodations as well as appreciated our beautiful and ideal location. Mahalo for allowing us to partake in your special celebration and warmest congratulations. We hope to welcome you again in the future, and invite you to book with Aston Hotels & Resorts directly as this will ensure that you continue to receive updated accommodations and the full spectrum of amenities and services we provide for our guests! Mahalo, and a hui hou (until next time).

James Farquhar
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Would call me “a frequent visitor” to this hotel. Wonderful view, two great pools and hot tubs. Any problem, very few, are handled immediately by staff. Great drinks offered poolside from on site Restaurant Visited 10 times and hope to be there many more.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank SouthernMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesF4993, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Aloha SouthernMarilyn! Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to learn that we could offer you with a comfortable and relaxing vacation, and that you enjoyed your accommodations, Beach Club Restaurant, and our resort amenities. We sincerely appreciate your return business and it would be our pleasure to welcome you home again on your next visit to our beautiful island. Mahalo and warmest aloha.

James Farquhar
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Stayed here in August 2018 for a "babymoon" vacation with my wife. Spent hours researching all the available options on Kaanapali (including several other Aston resorts), and settled on this one. I'm SO GLAD we did.

Be sure to look at the deals posted on their website. Found a "three free" deal that included car rental, a room upgrade, and free breakfast in the price, and even with those amenities included, the price on their website easily beat travel booking sites like expedia, Travelocity, etc.

We paid budget-friendly prices, so we expected this to feel like a budget hotel... but the environment, amenities, and service matched the most expensive hotels in Kaanapali (we have previously stayed at the Sheraton). In short, we were BLOWN AWAY by this hidden gem.

I could write an essay about how positive this experience was, but here are a few highlights:

1) The grounds / shoreline / pools - expansive, well cared for, and undeniably tropical. Walking out of the lobby you come to their tropical garden with a charming pond and hidden nooks where you can plop down with a drink. After the garden you hit their awesome pool with waterfalls you can sit under, fountains, and a bridge. Particularly cool are the few (intentionally) half-submerged lounging chairs, perfect for very hot days. After that you hit a large grassy lawn with paths that take you to the restaurant, shoreline, and second pool (near the ocean). Second pool is more "normal", but you can't beat the beachside setting and view. The shoreline is nice, though the hotel beach is a slightly small. The Aston-owned beach just a few steps to the left (when facing the water) has a larger, nicer expanse of sand, and that's where I'd recommend plopping down for sun and ocean swimming. Blissful and lush grounds overall.

2) The room - with the package we got, we were upgraded from a regular "resort view" room to a "garden view junior suite". Expectations were of a literal garden view, but we got a picture-perfect vista of their beautiful grounds AND a peek of the ocean. Was also able to capture some stunning sunset shots right from our room balcony (see pictures attached). The room offered a kitchen with a full-size fridge, regular dishwasher, glass dishes etc, so this would have been great for longer stays. The size of the room was large and spacious, and everything was as nice as you'd expect from a premium resort (with the one small exception of the not-so-great pillows).

3) The service - Everyone was helpful, cheerful, understanding, patient, and laid-back. Overall, really embodying the “aloha” vibe. A few standout examples: A) We arrived for check in early, and (understandably) our room wasn’t quite ready. Front desk thoughtfully gave us a ticket for two free drinks at the beachside hotel restaurant bar so we could sip on mai tais while we waited. B) We needed to arrange special accommodations with the restaurant so we could observe the Jewish Sabbath, and the manager, Nate, was understanding, helpful, and took our special needs in stride, making a potentially stressful and awkward situation smooth and easy (get that guy a raise!).

4) Location – Can’t beat Kaanapali, but the great thing about this resort is that it’s not where the real masses of tourists congregate. That meant that things weren’t too crowded, and that this could actually feel like an escape. Overall, provided a central, reliably sunny, and somewhat quiet place to head out from for all the outdoor adventures associated with Maui.

TLDR: Fantastic resort at budget prices, offering an experience that matches options nearly twice as expensive. Will likely stay here again if we return to Maui, and would absolutely recommend this Aston resort to a friend.

Room Tip: With "garden view" rooms, if you get a room higher than the 4th floor, you'll be able to see the water and sunset.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Aloha Daniel! Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to learn that we could offer you with a comfortable and relaxing vacation home, and that you enjoyed your accommodations, location, dining options, and amenities. It would be our pleasure to welcome you home again! Mahalo and warmest aloha.

James Farquhar
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Stayed here with three teenage granddaughters. They enjoyed the swimming pools and the restaurant. Facility was very nice and it has been renovated. However, the rooms could have been more thoroughly cleaned, and the carpeting also needed to be cleaned. The beach is very small. Would recommend a short drive to one of the nearby beautiful beaches. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Aloha Barry! Thank you for your review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our corner of paradise, and that your accommodations, view, and location all enhanced the quality of your vacation. The beach conditions on island are always subject to change based on the season. We hope to welcome you again in the future! Mahalo and warmest aloha.

James Farquhar
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews