We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
54
84
52
44
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
84
52
44
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nightly luau ocean front great room for the price resort amenities an older building hotel room oceanfront room bed was comfortable beautiful beach top floor hear the waves save some money awesome location beach access tennis courts convenience store housekeeping staff
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Spent six nights here recently, third floor ocean view. I had read good reviews as well as all the bad ones. Since I had stayed at the Royal Lahaina Resort last year I was familiar with the property and I knew I could use all the amenities of RLR while staying at the Ocean Inn. I was pleased with the room. Definitely nothing fancy but very spacious and clean with comfy beds and pillows. Did I mention the view was to die for. This property sits on the most beautiful, swimable stretch of beach. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Enjoyed the restaurant, pool bar, and rented paddle boards. Luau noise did not bother me and I was always able to find a parking space. Over all we enjoyed our time here and will be returning soon.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank 190MichelleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Kaanapali Ocean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Aloha

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel with fellow travelers. We couldn't agree with you more we have a beautiful stretch of beach our own little section of paradise with amazing views. We are very delighted to see you enjoyed your six night stay with us and we hope to welcome you again soon when your travels bring you to our area.

Mahalo

Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We wanted an ocean view room without paying top resort prices, and the Ka'anapali Ocean Inn had that. The room itself was fine--nothing to write home about but who's staying in their hotel room all the time in Hawaii anyway?

It was nice to have access to the resort amenities, although the only one we took advantage of was the snorkel gear and boogie board rental. Having such direct beachside access was great--I went for a sunrise walk along the beach and it's one of my favorite memories.

The main negative had to do with parking. After a day of adventuring we'd usually want to come back and shower and change before heading out to dinner... which was right around the time that people began arriving for the luau. Several times we had to circle for upward of ten minutes before we found somewhere to park. I don't know that there's much to be done about this given that it's not like we want to pave over more of Maui, but if we'd realized it was going to be that much of an issue maybe we would have planned our days differently.

Room Tip: Ocean-facing rooms are farther from luau noise
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Kaanapali Ocean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Aloha

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are delighted to see overall that you enjoyed your stay with us and all that the areas has to offer from the sunset walks to the snorkeling and beach activities. We are sorry to read about the parking issues during your stay.We appreciate your kind feedback and will share your review with our leadership team. We hope to welcome you again for another fabulous stay soon.


Mahalo and a hui hou (until next time)! Warmest aloha.


Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

The location is ideal for those wanting beautiful beach access. The Kaanapali Ocean Inn is a budget hotel but since it's located in the Royal Lahina Resort you have access to tennis courts, spa, pools and beach access (we even watched the Luau from our balcony for free!). But, know that the accommodations are budget. Although the rooms are spacious they are outdated with old bathrooms. Parking is an extra $15. The hotel is a decent option for those wanting a good beach location without paying a lot but if you're wanting big pools and fancy rooms then up your budget and look at the Marriott, Westin or Hyatt properties.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fletcherali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Kaanapali Ocean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Aloha

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and our beautiful beach. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again for your next adventure.

Mahalo
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Maui Hotel Room (1514):
Pros:
- View
- Amenities of RLR
Cons:
- 2 queens, not king. Don’t guarantee bed only room type; booked 5 months ago and no other rooms avail; booked 3rd party (Expedia)
- Expedia ofc onsite says common complaint
- AC only hi or low
- Smells like urine/musty
- Filthy under beds/paper towel when we checked in; haven’t been cleaned under on months
- Mattresses old, killing back
- Safe barely opens/closes
- Gaps in door
- Luau noise every night 6pm-9pm+
- roaches
- Hear neighbors using the restroom and talking
- Wifi weak and disconnects randomly
- Room smelled so bad we did laundry the night before we checked out. When we got home our clothes smelled like the room.
- everything was very old

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dont-stay-abilene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Kaanapali Ocean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your negative experience. We try to maintain the highest standards of service but clearly that is not what happened here. We are addressing your concerns with the appropriate departments regarding the room. Again we are extremely sorry to have disappointed you and hope you consider us the next time you visit Maui.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

We were celebrating our 25th anniversary flying from Atlanta. My wife got sick on the plane and we couldn’t make the trip from Los Angeles to Hawaii. Bless these sweet people they’re refunding our money. We are trying to drive back across country but thanks to them it has taken a little stress off us. Thank y’all so much. We’ll definitely spread the word of these great people.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank keith205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Care Team at Kaanapali Ocean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Aloha
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our resort on tripadvisor. We are sorry to read of your wife’s sickness and hope she has a speedy recovery. We hope once she is well again you will come and visit us soon.

Mahalo
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews