We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing views, relaxing condo, close to all west...”
other travellers have booked this property
View of the pool and the beach taken from our Lanai
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the pool and the beach taken from our Lanai
Beach in front of the Royal Kahana Cabana by the pool. Offers a snack bar and gas BBQ's for our guests use
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
View of the pool and the beach taken from our Lanai
Beach in front of the Royal Kahana
Cabana by the pool. Offers a snack bar and gas BBQ's for our guests use
Evening sunset as seen from your private lanai
Recently renovated kitchen with all the comforts of home
Master bedroom - large and comfortable
Dining area
Private, gorgeous beach area
An evening  view of the pool area from our home
A glorious sunset from our lanai January of 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lahaina, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
terrysk20...
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing views, relaxing condo, close to all west maui beaches”
Reviewed 5 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

My family (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed in this condo over February break and loved it. The owners were very easy to deal with and emailed you very quickly. The condo has a passcode so when we arrived at the condo late we were able to get in with no problems. The door for this unit is right off the three elevator doors. We did not find this noisy as the walls are cement and it is hard to hear what is going on in the hall. The owners have fixed up the kitchen and bathroom so everything is clean. The condo has all the kitchen tools you need, the bathroom has a make-up mirror, blow-dryer and iron, small washer and dryer, small safe, two flat screen tvs which netflix can be uploaded to, wifi in the condo and pool area was great. In the morning around 6am the regular condors go down and put there towels on chairs on the north and east side of the pool because this is the best seats with sun. There were always enough chairs that could be moved around if you used the pool in the afternoon. We were luck during our stay that the ocean brought back the beach in front of the building so they reopened beach access. This was great to go down and watch the sunsets. However, on our last day the weather changed and washed away the beach so they had to close off access again. Yes they had to put sand bags along the beach but with the ocean being so close they need to protect the building and pool. No major constructing was going on so this did not affect our stay. Something else not talked about was in the morning is sometimes rained and then cleared up around 9am but the rainbows over the ocean were amazing. We spent a lot of time on the balcony. You can see the ocean and the pool right below you while on the balcony but with binoculars we saw whales almost every day while having lunch.
We loved our stay and trip to west Maui for all the markets, beaches and restaurants.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. We loved having you as guests and look forward to welcoming you back. Remember that we offer our returning guests a discount at any of our homes. Visit rkmaui on the web. It has been such a pleasure. Mahalo,
Shelly and Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
583silver...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Lovely condo, poor condo complex.”
Reviewed 1 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We loved the condo. It was clean and spacious. It was really well equipped with all the kitchen utensils you might need and plenty of plates, glasses and cutlery. There was even the bonus of beach equipment. Towels, chairs, snorkels etc. However the ocean view was two thirds ocean and one third the next door hotel tower and the beach front advertised was a row of sand bags. Whilst the condo itself was very well maintained the same could not be said for the complex. The common areas and poolside were very jaded looking. The landscaping was minimal and untidy and the tennis courts were closed and overgrown with algae..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The spaceous condo.
Liked least: The run down condo complex.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2016
Thank you for you note. And, thank you for your kind remarks on our home. We do take great pride in our home and want our guests to feel our love of Maui.

I'm going to borrow and explanation of the beach work from fellow property owner, Keri L whom explains the situation very well.
"As a natural process, every year in the winter the north swells take some of our beach (sand) south and our beach becomes a little bit smaller in those months. Then in the spring/summer, the south swells bring sand back to our beach, giving us a wider beach. However, this last El Niño winter, Maui has had some bad storms causing unprecedented beach erosion and property damage in West Maui. The majority of this occurred just within one day, but now we are left wrestling with the aftermath. Because of some forethought from our management, we were well prepared for some winter damage. We actually had the greatest property/beach protection system that we have ever had completed (Fall ’15) prior to all of the storms. The material used was biodegradable (only material that was approved by the county), but the storms were so bad that they still caused a lot of damage to our shoreline and destroyed a lot of our protection. Fortunately, we had only sustained a little property damage to our wall/fence and some decking. But it could have been catastrophic. Our neighbors on either side of us came dangerously close to losing their buildings. So in perspective, we were really fortunate. The county has now given us permission to put out more permanent protection. Currently we are finishing up securing our shoreline for this coming winter. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience to our guests. The south swells this summer did bring some of our sand back, which gave us access to the beach. However, we didn’t get the usual south swells this summer so the amount of sand returning was minimal. For the last few weeks we have been back into winter swells from the north and we have no sandy beach. To access the Kahana beach, you need to walk down to the Sands of Kahana (which is about 900 feet south of the Royal Kahana). We also have close access to some of the most beautiful beaches in the world and they are just a short drive north and south. I don’t expect our beach to come back this winter. However, we do expect our beach to come back like it always has this Spring/Summer ’17. Of course this is all up to Mother Nature.
Again our sincere apologies for the need for the construction, but it was needed to protect our property. The El Niño winter was unprecedented and we hope to have things return to normal next year."

I apologize for the resort condition. 2016 was a difficult year for Maui. Much of the management time was spent on the shoreline. The Homeowners Association and The Management team are committed to restoring the resort to the top notch property it is. Thank you for your patience. We look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo,

Shelly and Dan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee Ann C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room with a view.”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This room was perfect for my family of four. The beds were comfortable. Everything was just right. Beautiful location!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Thank you Lee Ann. It was delight to work with you and I hope that we will welcome you back to Royal Kahana 512 in the near future. You can always visit us at rkmaui

Our home is perfect for a family or a couple. The views are amazing and the location perfect. I hope you family enjoyed the heated pool and used the air conditioning. The A/C is a must on Maui especially during the summer and fall; we are one of the few properties on Maui to have it.

Mahalo and we look forward to hearing from you. Enjoy the remaining summer.

Shelly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blauvs
Fulshear, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The Perfect Home Base in West Maui”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and two young sons and I rented this unit for a week over the holidays. Since we are both divers and we wouldn't think of leaving our kids home while we're off having fun, we wanted to find a place with more elbow room than your typical hotel room. Royal Kahana #512 couldn't have suited our needs better. It's a great size for a family of 4, has a stellar view of Kahana beach and the island of Lanai, and is perfectly located near all of the fun West Maui has to offer. 15 minutes into downtown Lahaina. Times Grocery Store with pharmacy 5 min away. About 50 or 60 minutes to Kahului airport depending on time of day.

The best thing about this property is you're not spread all over the universe like at a big resort. Your car isn't a two mile hike away. Neither is the pool! There is a decent little gym in the basement that kept my workouts on track during our week. Unit 512 is located right by the elevator too for extreme convenience! Unit comes with a closet full of useful stuff like two full snorkel sets, a body surfboard, and a couple of sand toys. Beach towels are provided in the unit too, and you have a USABLE kitchen and washer/dryer!! Parents out there, I you know what I'm getting at here -- this place is perfect! The furnishings are relaxed/casual and tropical in theme. It's not so super fancy that you feel like you're going to mess anything up by breathing on it, but everything is clean, and in great working order. The owners, Dan & Shelly were so friendly and helpful, and provided every detail of information we'd need to make a great vacation a reality!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2016
Aloha!
Thank you for the kind review. We agree Royal Kahana #512 is perfect. And the Royal Kahana itself outstanding. We are always working to improve our families home for our guests and am thrilled you enjoyed your stay. For us, it is always difficult to leave. We are here now and must return to the mainland in just a couple of days. Please consider coming back soon. In May the Royal Kahana management will be upgrading our pool and pool deck with beautiful new tile and the results will be gorgeous.

Keep in mind that we do offer all of our guests a returning guest discount. Thank you for choosing our home and we look forward to working with you on your next holiday.

Mahalo,

Shelly and Dan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nattwater
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

You can't do better with this condo. Perfect in every way. Roomy clean. Beautiful view. Convient and all around a perfect place to stay on Maui. We would come back here easily.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind review. Royal Kahana #512 really is a gorgeous home. It's the first one my family purchased and my favorite.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Aloha and Mahalo,

Shelly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing