We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$526
US$446
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$469
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$488
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$383
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$373
US$363
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$441
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$478
US$445
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Beach Hotel(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
US$335
US$311
Lol.travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveller rating
499
42
23
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
42
23
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific dream photographycane canoefour seasonsbeach crewbedroom residencecanoe restaurantthe ritz carltonserenity poolpremier ocean viewhalf bathfull kitchenpool staffthree bedroomcoastal trailmoment you arrivein room diningprivate pool
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 575 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've (family of 3 with a 6-year old) had the good fortune of visiting the Montage 4 times in the last 3 years and every visit is the same - awesome. This trip we also stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani and The Grand Wailea - these hotels while also very nice make the Montage look ever better not only from an overall experience standpoint but also, believe it or not from a value perspective.

THE BOTTOM LINE: You will not go wrong by planning your Maui vacation around the Montage. While everyone's version of paradise is a bit different The Montage delivers warm service, great pool, incredibly spacious and well appointed accommodations (condominiums), amazing beach a 3 minute walk away and an incredible spa. Also I paid $1400 per night for a 1-bedrooom ocean view through Amex and at this price point on Maui I think Montage is very fairly priced - a bargain if anything at $1400 per night can be considering such a thing. We spent $1200 on a Napua Tower room at the Grand Wailea and that was only 800 square feet!

Details:
- With only about 60 condominiums as part of a larger home ownership community the atmosphere is very personalized. We know employees by name and remarkably many employees know us by name as well. It's a nice addition to a great property.
- All accommodations are 3-bedroom condominiums - although they will close off 1 or 2 bedrooms to serve the needs of smaller parties and also charge less.
- Every condo has a LARGE balcony with 2 lounges, a huge daybed and a dining table that seats 4.
- Kitchen, although we never use it is all high end appliances and is beautiful
- Since last year they've done some renovations - new paint in the condos, some new art, new carpeting and some new furniture. Since is was built only around 9 years ago the atmosphere overall is current and fresh as compared to other properties on Maui that tend to be 30ish years old.
- After the Grand Wailea for 3 days we were ready to go back to the Montage. It's peaceful without being boring. No fighting for a chair here - there are plenty to go around.
- Fitness center and Spa are next level. I don't do massages often but this was amazing. They have small outdoor huts in a bamboo garden where you can get your massage. Pretty magical and incredibly relaxing.
- Unlike some other high end resorts, kids are VERY welcome here and my daughter met lots of kids some of whom we're going to see back home in San Diego. Great families and a perfect environment for the entire family from infants through grandparents.
- Small detail after visiting other properties - these rooms are QUIET. I mean you will never hear another soul from inside your room. And they have blackout shades which makes sleeping in awesome.

Nit picky feedback for management:
- Housekeeping is still all over the map in terms of service times. One day it's 9 am and another they didn't come until after 4:00. Not sure if this is staffing levels or what but feels like rooms should be serviced by early afternoon so you're not coming back to shower only to have housekeeping in the room.

Room Tip: They're all awesome. Great, Amazing and Fantastic.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BiscottiCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha,
Thank you for your detailed review of your trip to Maui. We are delighted to be a part of your 4th trip to the island. Our specious accommodations including a private lanai, chef-inspired kitchen, daily spa access and beach amenities surely enhances any tropical experience. We truly appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our team. Please allow us to welcome you and your family again.
Until then, malama pono (take care),
Anthony Freda
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

came to Montage Kapalua Bay because we did not feel safe to go to Haulalai Four Season on the Big Island due to volcano eruption. We go to Hualalai once or twice a year. The Montage turns out to be a nice treat. It is a little far away from where the action is but if you want a relaxation and a hang out place, the Montage fits the bill. the residence is very quiet. the elevator opens to your room only so no foot traffic. the view is gorgeous. the room is very big. we had two bedrooms and three bathrooms. there is a nice kitchen, dishwasher, two sinks. The kitchen is fully equipped so if you stopped by a grocery store, you can have a place to cook. they also provide a barbecue grill so you can barbecue your fish or meat. the service is excellent. People are very nice and helpful. the only negative thing was the breakfast which was very slow and hit and missed on our requests. asked for no salt and the food came sprinkled with salt. Had to send food back twice but they were very nice about taken it off the bill so I cannot give them lower than 5 star. If the breakfast is better, we would love it. However, if you just want basic stuffs like eggs and oatmeal, they are fine. they have good juice. the spa is amazing with good treatments. Love the massage there. the lead therapist, gave the best massage ever. I won't reveal the name because I want to be able to book again when I come back. I had recently sustained severe pain on my buttock with pain radiated down along the side of my leg. went to see two doctors and one of them gave me injection without relief and thought that I might need spine surgery. I was on a wheelchair to and off the airplane. Thomas Ockerman at the gym figured out what was wrong with me and gave me a treatment, I now able to walk and back to work after three weeks off work. Excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 88traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha,
Mahalo for sharing your experience at our resort and Spa Montage Kapalua Bay. We are delighted that you left feeling better than when you arrived. We look forward to your next stay and massage here on Maui.
Warmest aloha,
Anthony Freda
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have enjoyed so many events here and especially love the fitness center and spa. It has the best steam rooms, sauna and fitness center. The pools are beautiful to lounge around for the whole day! So much fun!

Stayed: April 2018
2  Thank hankman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha,
We are thrilled that you enjoyed Spa Montage Kapalua Bay. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to your favorite spa in the future.
Mahalo,
Anthony Freda
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place was great. pool is next level and grounds are perfect. Staff is off the charts also. Deal with Anna at Concierge she is a rock star. they bend over backwards to make sure all is great. Best Island location in my opinion also. 100% stay here !!!!!

Room Tip: ocean view if you can swing it is the best
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha Jim,
Thank you for your review and for your kind words regarding our pool, grounds and genuine service. We have shared your review with Ana and her team. Your recommendation means a lot to us, mahalo. We look forward to your next family vacation.
Warmest aloha,
Anthony Freda
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We brought our kids and grand children to Hawaii for a family vacation, and really wanted to stay in an apartment, and this location was better than apartment or condo. You have the best of both worlds, you have a full apartment with all the amenities and the hotel location. The Montage is small enough you get a feeling of extended family and our young grand kids were completely safe to wonder on their own. We stayed in building 5 at the end which is the most private part of the resort. The grand residences have views, barbecues and each unit comes with a washer and dryer a must for long vacation with kids. We are planning to make this our annual holiday spot. You must give Montage a try! You wont' regret it.

Room Tip: Building 5 on the 3rd floor or above is the best location
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank NewyorktoLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing Montage Kapalua Bay for your family vacation. Our grand residence is one of our best options for a relaxing home away from home with all the amenities you need in an ocean front resort setting. Please allow us to welcome you and your family back again.
Until then, malama pono (take care),
Anthony Freda
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews