We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Whale Watch”

Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The BEST small group ocean rafting tours since 1982, Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel invites you to snorkel Lanai with us, as well as share photographic, non-threatening close-encounters with Dolphins, Whales and Turtles! Our rafting vessels host less than 26 guests per trip, creating a fun and uncrowded experience with Maui's marine life! We offer two different Lanai snorkeling tours, 4.5 and 6.5 hours on the water! Our snorkeling tours include snacks and meals, gear and multiple snorkel stops where you will be able to spot a variety of marine life along with our most beloved ocean friends, the dolphins! From December through May, Humpback Whale encounters are guaranteed and the crystalline offshore waters frequently provide a passing subsurface eye-to-eye view as we host tours, photography session and research groups. Make a difference and experience one of the last remaining great migrations of the Animal Kingdom. Your ticket supports freeing of entangle whales, whale research and education on Maui! See you out on the water!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We were reluctant to go on a whale watch so late in the season, but I sure am glad we did! We went on March 31 with Captain Ben and Sergio and were not disappointed. Within 15 minutes of heading out, we found a mama, baby and at least one male whale and saw one breach within about 80 yards of our raft. Didn't think it could get much better than that, but it did. The baby breached two times and then two times the whales turned and came directly under our boat. It was such a fun time!

Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Team_Ultimate_, Manager at Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Wow what a fun experience, especially so late in the season, so glad you had fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"captain ryan"
in 140 reviews
"whale watch"
in 219 reviews
"small boat"
in 107 reviews
"vip tour"
in 40 reviews
"zodiac boat"
in 21 reviews
"tail slaps"
in 28 reviews
"active whales"
in 24 reviews
"larger boats"
in 33 reviews
"hour tour"
in 48 reviews
"fast boat"
in 23 reviews
"close encounter"
in 17 reviews
"whale behavior"
in 21 reviews
"whale activity"
in 33 reviews
"male whales"
in 16 reviews
"small group"
in 53 reviews
"baby whale"
in 24 reviews
"mother and calf"
in 20 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 1 580 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

End of whale season, not expecting much. We came upon a baby that was quite playful! He and his mom and later another whale gave us an amazing show! It is an Easter morning I will never forget.Thank you Ryan and Kristie

Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Team_Ultimate_, Manager at Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Mahalo for spending your Easter morning with us and our favorite ocean mammals! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We boarded the boat in the order on the card we were given and met Captain Ryan and first-mate, Kristi. Captain Ryan seemed to know exactly where to go and found the perfect spot. We found a mother and her baby and another adult whale was with them as well. Almost immediately, the calf started jumping and tail slapping. We stayed in that one spot the whole time because the whales were putting on such a good show. There were multiple breaches, tail and fin slaps and the whales just kept swimming from one side of the boat to the other. They seemed so close that we could touch them. We also got to hear the sounds they were making under the water. It was an awesome experience and Ryan and Kristi really took time to explain whale behavior. I highly recommend this adventure!

Thank Kkrauter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Team_Ultimate_, Manager at Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Mahalo for your recommendation and so glad you had such a fun whale encounter with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This was my favorite thing that we did on Maui! We saw two different groups of humpback whales. Two breached within 50ft of our boat. We did the 3hr photography trip and the captain went out of her way to give us the most time and best angles for some incredible pictures. It was clear that all the other tours were watching where we went even though they didn't get onto the water until an hour after us. Incredibly knowledgeable team of people and a great tour. Don't bother looking at any other whale tour.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Team_Ultimate_, Manager at Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

So glad our crew took care of you guys and made the trip worth your time! Mahalo for whale watching with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Great whale watch and snorkel tour with family on March 30. We must have seen 10 different whales, including a calf that was tail slapping and breaching. Ben and Sergio were knowledgeable and knew where to go.

Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Team_Ultimate_, Manager at Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Wow! So glad you had that much whale activity this time in the season! So fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel also viewed

 

Been to Ultimate Whale Watch & Snorkel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing