We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5 717)
Filter reviews
5 717 results
Traveller rating
2 424
1 732
842
457
262
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 424
1 732
842
457
262
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach tower whalers village adult pool ocean view black swan self parking heavenly bed pink flamingos breakfast buffet our honeymoon hula grill spg points koi fish abc store an umbrella free shuttle an upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 5 717 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The entire experience was unforgettable for all the WRONG reasons. An extremely long check in where we were told our credit card didn’t work but upon logging in to our credit card & a call back to our Australian bank the charge had been debited twice. The property was under construction & the rooms were very outdated. The passage carpet had waves in it & should have been stretched because the waves made it difficult to walk for fear of catching your shoes & tripping. Most staff did not make eye contact for fear of needing to engage in conversation. However the house keeping staff always made an effort to greet & acknowledge you regardless of the time of day. We sat in the pool area to order drinks & food and after a long period of time raised our hand to signal we were ready to order. The 2 bar staff looked at my husband & me then to each other & ignored us. A significantly delayed time later we were acknowledged. We should have walked away but this is the property we were to spend 3 nights at........ I would love to say it got better but it didn’t. If you would like to stay at a property we’re you are ignored & customer service is non existent then this is the property for you. Upon leaving we were waiting for our vehicle & another couple also awaiting for their vehicle had lasted one night before leaving in ‘disgust’ their words, never again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank NetteL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinMaui, General Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha NetteL11,

Thank you for sharing a review of your experiences at The Westin Maui. It is disappointing to hear your stay was impacted by several complications, and we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences. We would like to follow up on your visit, so at your earliest convenience please do not hesitate to reach out to us at yourmauiexperience@westin.com so that we may alleviate any outstanding issues.

With Warmest Aloha,
Thomas Foti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

They have successfully transformed their mountain view rooms into dumpster view with partial construction. There’s no lobby, either - that’s also under construction. I’d like to congratulate the team on an amazing transformation (or ‘Holomua’). Well done. Couple that with the front desk “management”, and their first-in-class unsympathetic attitude, and you have a disaster. In particular, a special call-out to Cole, the “guest relations manager”, for his smug and arrogant attitude in relation to “not seeing how [this] would affect our stay.”

This is our 4th time staying here and we will never be back or entertain staying at a Westin hotel again. I’d be willing to overlook the construction for the location on Kaanapali (and being in Hawaii in general), but there’s no excuse for this poor of a level of customer service. Additionally, the use of disingenuous (at best) messaging is really disappointing (“light” renovations at the time of booking transformed to “major” construction 3 days prior to our arrival). To Westin (and this hotels’ owners): there’s no reason to put guests into rooms where construction is prominent; think long-term and put your customers first. Guest loyalty far outweighs any short-term room revenue; any good “management” staff should recognize this. So do yourselves a favor and hire a competent and customer-focused team.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank sk13286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinMaui, General Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha sk13286,

Thank you for your continued loyalty and return stay at The Westin Maui. We regret to hear of your dissatisfaction from your recent visit. Please know that we are equally disappointed, and we hope you’ll accept our sincere apologies for the areas we fell short and our appreciation for bringing these concerns to our attention. It’s clear that there are areas we can still improve on and feedback like this is vital in elevating our future guest experiences. We hope you do consider a return to allow us to create a true Westin escape.

With Warmest Aloha,
Thomas Foti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We love the pools at this place. The unfortunate thing is they had started construction on the lobby. This was a hassle at best and meant all valet parking. We had the reservation for almost 8 months and never got an email or correspondence otherwise about the construction. We did get several other emails concerning activities so I know they could have communicated this had they so desired. They did give us a slight upgrade but the fourth floor wasn’t high enough to get any views. All we could see were palm trees and the fish pond below. We will likely consider another hotel next time.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinMaui, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent visit. We completely understand your thoughtful concerns and as we work through our Holomua improvements to redesign our lobby, room accommodations, and parking facility into a grander experience, we appreciate your kind support of our efforts. It is exciting to know our pools exceeded your expectations and provided a relaxing element. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay and provide the highest level of satisfaction.

With Warmest Aloha,
Thomas Foti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights and loved it. The room was not as big as the Hilton in Waikiki but was still large and well designed. We are on the 11th floor with a mountain view. We had a great view of the mountain, with the car park construction to the right. With the door open the construction was noisy but we couldn’t hear anything with the door closed. I guess if you wanted to sit out on the balcony during the day it would be a problem. For us with two kids we were never in the room during the day so wasn’t an issue. There is also construction on a currently vacant building on the property adjacent to the main tower. They were replacing all the balconies when we were there which was noisy at times and is right beside the pool. Again, this is probably more an issue for the pool loungers as it didn’t bother us at all as we were generally busy with kids and the noise of the pool waterfalls tends to help deafen the sound. It was also more intermittent. They are also working on the main foyer area and this generated some noise from time to time but although I was really concerned before going, for reasons mentioned above it wasn’t a big deal. The hotel also seemed very quiet in terms of number of guests. Not sure if this is due to low season or construction, but it was a bonus from our perspective. The Sheraton appeared busier as did the Marriott - the latter seemed to have some kind of kids pool reno going on which looked pretty disruptive too. Overall the location of the Westin is great as it is beside Whalers Village so lots of food options and has a little buffer from the beach whereas the Sheraton is butted right on the beach which means foot traffic from others visiting the bay end of the beach. It’s an easy 5-10 walk to the bay where we saw lots of fish and a sea turtle as well as one just along from the Westin. The only minor drawback was the pools are 4ft deep everywhere so little kids can’t stand up. The beach also had a steep drop off which may have been caused by the storm, which makes it less safe for those with very small kids. I would also recommend the Westin Luau - pricey but very entertaining!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinMaui, General Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha Kate,

Thank you for sharing your highlights from your family island getaway with us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful views from your room facing Mauna Kahalawai, also known as the West Maui Mountains. From our prime location right near Black Rock to our fantastic pool experience, we couldn’t be happier to hear about all the great family memories you were able to make at our tropical paradise. We also appreciate your kind understanding of our current transformation and look forward to unveiling these exciting upgrades with valued guests like you on your future visits.


With Warmest Aloha,
Thomas Foti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned home after a 7 night stay here. A very relaxing stay it was. If you like to lay by the pool this resort ticks all the boxes. There are 2 massive family pools, waterslide, adults only pool and hot tub. There was no problem finding a pool lounge after 10am during our stay and we really appreciated this after staying at resorts where you will struggle to find a pool lounge at 8am. There is poolside drinks and food service available at the “normal” resort prices however for the value savvy traveller The Whalers village is next door. I made use of the gym and hired the gym workout clothes/ shoes for only $5 during the stay, this included a t-shirt,shorts,new socks and shoes. The gym was typical for most resorts of this standard,was clean and everything serviceable.

In the room we had 2 double beds, next time we would request a king with a trundle for our son. Very clean and well serviced daily, a bar fridge, 2 complimentary bottles of water and the usual bathroom ammenities.

We made use of the free shuttle that leaves the hotel hourly and makes 3 stops in Lahaina, this cost is covered in the resort fee. A very comfortable and on time service with friendly knowledgeable drivers, we tipped after each trip $3 for our family of 3 only because we appreciate good service and always do, however the majority of passengers didn’t tip.

Overall a very relaxing trip that we would do again.

Room Tip: 6th floor mountain view room was quiet all day and night.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinMaui, General Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha Brett,

Thank you for choosing to spend a relaxing escape with your family at The Westin Maui. Your wonderful review was a pleasure to read. It delights us to hear that you felt pampered and rejuvenated, thanks to our poolside service, accessible fitness facility, and wonderful service. Mahalo again for making your trip to our island resort. It would be an honor to host you again the next time you are in need of a tropical getaway.

With Warmest Aloha,
Thomas Foti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews