We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location for visiting the Upcountry”
Master bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom
Hot tub TV, dining table and sofabed in second room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Master bedroom
Hot tub
TV, dining table and sofabed in second room
Kitchenette
Kitchenette
Bathroom
Meyer’s Lemons (Yum!)
Master bedroom w/large quality TV hidden in armoire
Sofabed made in second room
Quality large second TV hidden in armoire
Flowers
Bamboo
Hot tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kula, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AustinRin...
Cedar Park, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location for visiting the Upcountry”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was a great rental in a perfect location for visiting the Upcountry of Maui. The weather is cooler and there are lots of things to do close by. We went to the crater, the goat farm, the lavender farm, the vodka distillery, and the winery. We also drove the back road towards Hana and had many quaint stops along the way - visited the Seven Pools. The towns of Paia and Makawoa are close by and there are many great restaurant options in Kalu. Paia, and Makawoa. Loved La Provence for breakfast, Kula Bistro for lunch or dinner, Paia Fish Market and Café des Amis. Pamela was a great hostest and her property comes furnished with everything you need - having two rooms was a bonus and the price was reasonable. Highly recommend this rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, location, location
Liked least: drive was kind of steep, but she offers to park your car for you.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P
Berthoud, Colorado
2 reviews
“Nice, Quiet, Spacious, Retreat in Upcountry - We will be back!”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We spent several nights in Kula to help decompress and acclimate from our travels. Pamela was a wonderful host that bent over backwards to make us comfortable in her place. We enjoyed sitting in the hot tub during the cool nights, and when returning from the close by Haleakala sunrise experience. There would be no hesitation in staying at Kula Treat during our next visits to Maui.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It was extremely quiet.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefkjp
Hayward, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Nice Rental”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely piece of property that offers a very nice lower granny unit to travelers, one with virtually all the amenities, and the owner is a terrific lady who lives upstairs; Pamela is helpful and quite available to her guests. There are two rooms that folks rent, and both are spacious and nicely maintained, plus there’s a great hot tub and free washer and dryer; the big sink is just outside the back door, and there’s a portable 2-burner stove in the well appointed kitchenette, if one wants to cook; the second room includes a fold-out couch, and the bathroom is very nice. By and large, it’s an extremely inviting unit – with the exception of the spotty cell phone reception and the main bed, both of which we sincerely hope that Pamela will find a way to upgrade (there was only one place where we could stand in order to be able to hold any of our phone conversations).

We’d like to return to stay with Pamela again, but only if the main bedroom is improved by a better bed; we don’t understand why she made a point of describing it as “comfortable,” because it’s just a mattress on a piece of plywood that’s very hard and rests on a squeaky metal frame. In our case, this made a VERY big difference, as we’re both recovering from injuries and had been on a long hike that first day. We got to the place, needed to use the hot tub to relax, and then had a terrible night’s sleep; we opted for the fold-out the rest of the time we were there, which was not all that great, but we believe that anything would have been an improvement. Given that we planned to get up early to go to the Haleakala summit, but could not do so because we didn’t sleep through the night, this was a very disturbing aspect of an otherwise fine stay – which caused a situation that could not be altered because we had made numerous unchangeable plans related to the overall timing of our trip (I actually cried, as I was in pain, felt miserable, and had really been looking forward to seeing the crater before it got cloudy). Pamela appears to be doing a good amount of business, so she really should give proper attention to such an important aspect of her rental – we’d have a difficult time believing that no one else has ever commented on this rather serious defect (equally, that she can’t afford to upgrade).

My husband and I are both mature “hospitality” professionals, and we possess not only experience and eyes for detail but also a thorough understanding of the legal, real estate, lodging, and transportation industries, as well food and beverage services. As a result of my broken ankle, I was laid up for three months and able to do extensive research and planning for the many aspects of our first trip to Maui; John had knee surgery eight days before I slipped and fell. We had to postpone our first anniversary plans, which were originally to be celebrated by going on our honeymoon (cost was the factor related to our budget for both the wedding and the trip). Logistics being what they are, we waited for a few months and first went to Napa to play “tourist in our town” (see our reviews of Cedar Gables Inn and the Napa Valley Wine Train), then waited a few more months to give me adequate ability to walk. John is a limousine driver and I didn’t want him to spend much time going from place to place on the island, so we stayed at five different types of “alternative” accommodations in all of the best areas – and we’re glad we did! (Follow us on our trip, which began at Hale Akua Garden Farm – start there, if you’d like more good info. – the next stop from here was The Pineapple Inn.)

Please don’t misunderstand us or this review– Kula Treat is definitely a treat and well worth a visit – we know that we had some physical limitations to contend with that are unusual, and there are those for whom a good bed isn’t that much of an issue. All in all, we really did like the place and the owner and would be inclined to stay there again someday – it’s a picturesque location into which a lot of heart and soul have been poured, the area is private and quiet, and the view from the hot tub is nice, plus it’s entirely accessible to all of the upcountry on Maui, which is definitely something to explore while you’re on the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Hard bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in February 2013

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing