We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Private, gorgeous garden, snorkeling, turtles...”
Front of property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property
Daytime view of Pacific Ocean from house Dining Room and Ocean View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Front of property
Daytime view of Pacific Ocean from house
Dining Room and Ocean View
Living Room with Pacific Ocean View
Dining-Kitchen
Beautifully renovated Bedroom with ocean view and private bath.
Newly Renovated Bedroom Sitting Area
Newly Renovated Bedroom with ocean view and private bath.
Newly Renovated Bedroom with ocean view and private bath.
Newly Renovated Bedroom Sitting Area with ocean view and private bath.
4th Bedroom with ocean view and private bath. Newly renovated with trundle beds.
Pacific Ocean view from property
Aerial shot of Property
View from driveway to property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Kihei, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fyritz
Makkah Province, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Private, gorgeous garden, snorkeling, turtles, paradise!”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Want to relax? Want to immerse yourself in beautiful foliage? Want to do basically almost any watersport? Want to see and swim with the turtles? Then the Lu'uwai's Makena Landing house is the best place to go! We went as an extended family of 14: parents, children and grandchildren. Everyone had a wonderful time! The property itself is amazingly beautiful with a wide variety of flowering plants, a grassy yard and perfect, picture framing trees. Everyone in the family enjoyed the turtles that came each day to swim and eat near the rocky wall! Why pay money to ride in a boat with hundreds of other people to snorkel and swim with the turtles when you can just jump off your back yard wall into the water or walk to the nearby beach and walk into the water anytime you want for as long as you want!
The Lu'uwais have provided a variety of water equipment if needed (we had our own) and there is a nice outdoor barbecue area with folding tables and chairs that enabled us to do a delicious bbq and sit outside to eat and enjoy the beauty of the surroundings!
I'm sure if you rent this house you'll enjoy!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianatr...
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view and away from the crowds”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Right on the water so there is no better view on Maui plus you are away from the condo crowds. Best sunset view in South Maui. 100 yards and you are at Makena Landing for great swimming, snorkeling and kayaking. The commercial snorkeling boats park right out front when the wind is right, so that confirms the great snorkeling location. Very nice traditional Hawaiian home that is rustic vs high tech but very comfortable. Helen is very responsive and easy to work with. We come back every year so there can't be a better recommendation than that. Close to the Wailea hotels, good restaurants and golf courses but away from the noise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdens2016
Riverside, California
1 review
“Our stay at Lu"uwai's traditional Hawaiian home was better than we could have imagined!”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Makena Landing with our five daughters and their spouses/ boyfriends. It was our first trip to Hawaii and we were so happy with the house and location. The view is spectactular and we all enjoyed hanging out at the stone pier with the waves crashing right at our feet. The house was clean and so comfortable for our large group. The sea turtles swimming right up to the rocks were fun to watch and we loved being able to jump in the water from our backyard and snorkel for hours. The beach which was a short swim or walk from the house was uncrowded and serene. We also were just a short drive from markets and restaurants. We could not have enjoyed our trip more and would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: ocean crashing on the rocks in the backyard
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianatr...
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in February 2016

There is no better view on Maui plus you are away from the condo crowds. Right on the water so you can hear the waves all night long, which is very relaxing. Great location as you are only 5 minutes from the Wailea hotels, good restaurants and golf courses but away from the noise. Walk 100 yards and you are at Makena Landing for good swimming, snorkeling and kayaking. A very nice traditional Hawaiian home that is rustic vs high tech but very comfortable. Helen is very responsive and easy to work with. We come back every year so there can't be a better recommendation than that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect Maui Ocean Front Vacation”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Having walked the path between the crowded Wailea resorts and crowded beaches, it emphasized just what a great opportunity we had staying at Lu'uwai's Makena Landing. It was much more of a Maui experience than a resort experience, and was great for our 2 families to do our own cooking and eat outside when we wanted. Turtles were hard to miss both on the beach and in the water. It must be the best Maui location because this is where the tour boats bring people to snorkel, Kayak and SCUBA, so it is busy on the water in the bay, especially in the morning. It also seemed rare to have an actual oceanfront yard. I'm not sure what else we could have asked of the house that it did not provide. Best value in Maui. I hesitate to give 5 stars because I don't want it to be booked next time I go to stay there. Be prepared for a steep driveway. I would advise to let the family out at the top before going down; easier on your nerves and on the rental car.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing