We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing stay in Hana”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hana Cabana

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hana, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CatStap
Edgewood, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean but has many lizards and spiders INSIDE.”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
5
people found this review helpful

The cabana is cute and as stated is in the middle of a flower/fruit farm. Unfortunately, none of the fruit was ripe and they had harvested the flowers the afternoon we arrived. The kitchen was not well appointed and made cooking difficult ( no sharp knives, no skillets that would allow cooking without sticking and scorching.) The most difficult problem that we experienced were the lizards crawling all over while we tried to relax or sleep. The last evening there was a huge spider (as large as my hand) in our living room when we came in from dinner. We called the owners but they did not answer. We left, drove the Hana Road at night and paid for a hotel. The owner has still not contracted us regarding our concerns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location of the cabana
Liked least: The lizards and spiders
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJsquare-
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Amazing stay in Hana”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Tradewinds cottage was private, quiet, tranquil, spacious, close to everything and comfortable. It's situated in the Hana jungle on a flower farm. We enjoyed the full sized hot tub under the stars each night after our hikes. Don't expect to use the WIFI as it's not in good range and no cell service either, which is how it should be in Hana. We were able to cook delicious meals as the place was very well stocked. We made good use of the BBQ and kitchen. Do not forget your bug spray and don't leave the door open for longer than you need to. The geckos do help with the bugs that do make it inside and they are fun to watch and listen to. We stayed in the Cabana last year, and we found the tradewinds were much more spacious. Nothing negative to say about the unit and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to get the real Hana experience. We plan to return in the future!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lac22015
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming, secluded cottage”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage was everything we expected! It was secluded among a lovely flower plantation. Rebecca was very informative about the area when we arrived. At first we were surprised to find that there was no air conditioning, but once night fell we realized it wasn't needed. It was very pleasant to have the cool night breeze while we were warm under the blankets in the very comfortable bed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdcampion...
Palm Desert, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mosquitos Galore”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We have very mixed feelings about this adorable little private cottage. It's romantic couples dream. The cabin itself is decorated really well. It's very clean and you can see that it is well cared for by the owners. The supplies in the cabin are plentiful. Everything you need is there for cooking meals. It should have been an amazing stay, BUT we were never able to enjoy this amazing out of the way spot because the mosquitoes were so bad that we couldn't enjoy the hot tub or sitting out on the porch having morning coffee or afternoon cocktails. My husband attempted to go out to test the BBQ one afternoon and came back in with 8 new bites. We had Mosquito repellant other repellant products that we brought, but nothing worked. Other negatives were the mattress sank in the middle which normally wouldn't have been a problem but and because it was so hot and humid at night we didn't want to be sleep next to each other but had no choice because we kept rolling back into the middle of the bed. If you have no issue with Mosquitoes and you love to snuggle in bed even if you're hot then this is the place for you. Take away the Mosquitoes and the saggy bed and I would be back there in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: Mosquitoes & Bedding
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku, Hawaii
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet grounds and hot tub
Liked least: Mosquitos
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing