We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good place for 2 to stay in Princeville”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Hale Honu
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Welcome to Hale Honu
Kitchenette with refrigerator
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Douglas W
Aurora, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good place for 2 to stay in Princeville”
Reviewed 11 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The unit is nicely decorated, clean, and well furnished. It does not have a full kitchen, but it does have a sink, work counter, and various appliances so you can do some cooking. It also has a full size refrigerator. It has a nice seating area with a large couch and coffee table. It does not have a T.V., which we did not mind. It does have very good WiFi which is somewhat hard to come by in the Islands! It has a small Lanai with a couple of chairs and a small table if you want to sit outside. In the bathroom there is a stacked washer and dryer which work perfectly and are very handy. The shower works nicely and has plenty of hot water. The closet is small, but there is a space next to it for a couple of shelves worth of clothes as well. There is a lot of beach equipment. Two full snorkel sets with fins, two nice beach chairs, and two boogie boards. It also has an iron and an ironing board. There is a small community pool out front which is very close. There were lots of very clean towels for the bath, and a couple of equally clean beach towels. Only a couple of small nitpicks. There are 2 1/2 flights of stairs to get to the unit. Not a problem for us, but if you have any physical issues which would make it hard to go up and down the stairs, this is not the place for you. Also, being a little older unit, the walls are very thin and not insulated at all. Therefore you will hear everything going on either outside or in the adjoining units. Roosters and crying babies are both annoying. But it really is a nice unit, and perfect if you are not bothered so much by external noises.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
Arch Cape, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still Perfect for a couple.”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was our second visit. It's attractive, spotlessly clean and everything we need to enjoy the beauty of Kauai is at our fingertips. Jessica, the owner, is responsive and welcoming. We love it and will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evanoetin...
Chico, California
2 reviews
“Great location & well equipped for beach adventures”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Jessica is so very helpful and knowledgeable about the islands amenities. Make sure you read the condo's guest/welcome binder. It's filled with tons of information about the local beaches, restaurants, shopping, golf, boat tours, adventures, etc. The condo was clean, comfortable, and conveniently located. The pool is clean, refreshing and right off the front porch. Anini beach is about 10-15min walk down a semi-private trail that parallel's a golf course before it dives to the coast through a cool jungle. We used the awesome Tommy Bahama's beach chairs, sunbrella, and coolers every day! (oh, boogie boards and snorkel gear were provided too) You can easily drive to Anini and many other beaches which I recommend. Our favorites were Hanalei and Tunnels beaches. Tunnels had great snorkeling! Hanalei had good food, shopping, paddle board rentals, massages on the beach, etc. They're a 10-20 min drive from the condo and well worth it. You MUST connect with Na Pali Boat tours! The sunset cruise of the world famous Na Pali coast was one of our favorites. They do snorkel tours too and if you book through Jessica directly she gives a discount! There is no TV or AC. But the consistent trade winds and ample fans in the condo cooled the place down so well that we didn't miss the AC much. And honestly, if you're coming to Kauai to stay inside and watch TV, go stay in a fancy resort!! If you want a cozy condo in a great location that's thoughtfully supplied with everything you need for fun adventures on one of Kauai's beautiful beaches, this condo checks all the boxes. Mahalo Jessica! We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach accessories. Coolers, chairs, umbrella, snorkel gear, boogie boards
Liked least: No television or air conditioning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcatt...
Eldora, Iowa
1 review
“Great for our honeymoon!”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We rented this place for our honeymoon. Very quiet location which was nice. Really quick to get to Princeville and Hanalei (where there were several great dining options), as well as surrounding beaches. Very clean and well kept. Having the boogie boards, snorkel gear, and beach accessories was a great benefit of staying here. Jessica gave us a big packet of information about attractions, beaches, and dining in the surrounding area.

It did tend to get a bit stuffy in the rental. The ceiling fans and one stand alone fan had trouble keeping up on warmer days. Even if it was a little warm, it wasn't terrible, just not like having A/C. Also, be aware there is no TV.

Hale Honu worked really well for our honeymoon and fit with what we wanted to do and see in the area. Would definitely recommend this place! Thanks Jessica!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
Arch Cape, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way and we travel a lot.”
Reviewed 12 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Hale-Honu was private, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and quiet: welcoming in every way. Everything was in the condo, snorkeling equipment, boogie boards, extra towels, directions to island landmarks. The lovely pool was right down the stairs. Princeville was within easy walking distance. The advance instructions and directions were informative and accurate. It was an absolutely perfect experience. We are already planning to return next year for an even longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We felt comfortable immediately. It was exactly as advertised.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing