We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful tour.”

Princeville Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$71,88*
and up
Princeville Botanical Gardens Tour and Chocolate...
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Princeville Botanical Gardens is a family owned and operated garden paradise located in the Princeville area on the magnificent north shore of Kauai. The Robertson Family, with the help of their close gardening friend Michael, have transformed their 9-acre retirement home into a breathtaking garden with dramatic landscaping in two steep valleys. The tour includes homegrown honey and fruit samples, as well as a chocolate tasting that teaches you the history of chocolate making. You'll have fun learning about the uses and folklore of native Hawaiian plants and exotic species from around the world. RESERVATIONS REQUIRED. Visitors can experience the garden on pre-scheduled tours on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. Tours are not recommended for children under 6 years. Moderate mobility is needed to go on our nature walk. Please be sure to call us before visiting. Thank you!
Reviewed 28 June 2018

The tour of the gardens was excellent. Our guide Laurie was well informed and gave a lot of excellent information on the various plants and trees. I took my 18 year old grandaughter who love it as well as myself. Highly recommended tour.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank cherylb3182018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold H, Tour Manager at Princeville Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Aloha

We feel so fortunate to have Laurie as part of our tour guide team. I will pass along your kind compliments to her. She will be thrilled that you and your granddaughter hold her garden presentation in high regard.

Thanks for your garden visit and for your review!

Mahalo nui loa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"chocolate tasting"
in 187 reviews
"garden tour"
in 42 reviews
"fruit"
in 183 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 50 reviews
"hour tour"
in 44 reviews
"beautiful garden"
in 28 reviews
"chocolate tour"
in 17 reviews
"labor of love"
in 16 reviews
"plants and flowers"
in 13 reviews
"dark chocolate"
in 10 reviews
"chocolate making"
in 10 reviews
"great tour"
in 34 reviews
"bug spray"
in 23 reviews
"master gardener"
in 7 reviews
"educational experience"
in 6 reviews
"enjoyable tour"
in 6 reviews
"cocoa trees"
in 6 reviews
Filter

79 - 83 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

Guide was very knowledgeable about everything in the gardens. Chocolate tasting was delicious. A little muddy due to lots of rain prior to our visit, but not enough to make the hike unpleasant.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank mikoandalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold H, Tour Manager at Princeville Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Aloha

We have had a very wet year so far. Kauai had a great rainy season from December through March. This was followed by expended rains lasting through June. Now that July has arrived, we are seeing a lot more sunshine!

The majority of our garden has gravel pathways. As you so aptly observed there are a few muddy places to negotiate, but doable.
Thank you for visiting our gardens and taking the time to write a review. Please visit us again next trip!

Mahalo nui loa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

These gardens over promise and under deliver. The tropical fruit tasting amounted to 1 sliver of mango from a takeaway food container while we were huddled on a narrow track. The chocolate tasting, while interesting and informative, was somewhat embarrassing. Several times the host asked us not to take too much during the taste test each time directing their comments to some of the bigger members of our group.
The garden itself was a work in progress. Still quite young as far as a botanical garden goes but some fascinating specimens nonetheless. The host was very informative I was surprised that so few plants endemic to the region were represented.
The track was rough and ready in places, possibly a result of the recent flood.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank debraquinn764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold H, Manager at Princeville Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Aloha

First of all, thank you for taking the time to review our gardens. We take reviews that are considered 'less than positive' as a learning and adjustment opportunity for our team. As tour manager, I have not yet identified the tour guide that policed the chocolate presentation in such a restrictive and conservative manner. I will find out and this will be corrected. We wish to provide and enhance a loving, kind, joyful and plentiful experience for every person that visits our garden. I apologize that this was not your experience.

We are a young garden. The property was all invasive jungle when purchased by our founders some seventeen years ago. We have planted over 700 tropical and subtropical species so far during our development which continues to this day and into the future.

We do have native plants that are endemic to the region and will seek to emphasize them more in our presentations. The vast number of botanical species seen on Kauai have been introduced from somewhere else over the centuries. Our garden selection reflects these fascinating specimens.

We humbly offer a full refund to this reviewer. I ask this reviewer to please contact me at Princevillegardens@gmail.com.

Once again, thank you for your reflective and constructive review.

Mahalo
Harold Hensley
Tour Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Great fun! Beautiful! Very informative! A little expensive but it goes to a good cause. Would do it at least once.

Thank DanielandKristi... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeville Bot... G, Manager at Princeville Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Aloha
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found our garden fun and beautiful. Please consider a return visit during your next trip to Kauai.
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We arrived about 3 weeks after the floods in the north of Kauai. The staff were very friendly and knew their stuff. However we didn't get to see all of the grounds due to it being flooded. So it was a bit disappointing to have the tour stretched out for the three hours so that they didn't have to address a refund of sorts. So it got a bit boring at the 1 1/2 hour mark and we had 1 1/2 to go. The chocolate tasting was ok but i think they could have done more, seeing as we didn't have a whole tour.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank HelenS1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeville Bot... G, Manager at Princeville Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your review. We lament the fact that we were unable to fulfill your total expectations. Our garden was significantly impacted by the flooding. We lost two of our three bridges along with sustaining substantial flood debris. It took us about five weeks to clear the effected area and construct a sturdy temporary bridge. The area that was unreachable during that time amounted to about one third of our garden. We made every attempt to inform prospective visitors of our limitations during the time of clean-up and construction.

Our tours through the two thirds of the garden that remained open were more detailed and generally well received. For many weeks now we have been able to cover the entire garden. In fact, we will complete our permanent metal suspension bridge in early July. We feel lucky as many of our neighbors suffered so much more damage and are still in reparation.

We humbly invite this reviewer to come and visit our garden free of charge should our Island be revisited in the next two years.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Princeville Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Princeville Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing