We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very beautiful location and accommidations”

Review of Poipu Sands 414

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Poipu, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
soifdawg
Aptos, California
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Okay, but not a good value. There is no ocen view except from outside unit!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We've stayed at many different Sands units over the years. This place is pleasant enough, but is missing a few things considering its high price point. Like the advertised ocean view. ( only from patio!). Also-a big deal, the Wifi reception was terrible. We called and the maint folks came by, but did not fix. They were nice enough but it never worked. (Bummer no streaming movies).
Other Examples - kitchen is nice, but if you are a cook it is missing many important items(pots/pans/good knives/std baking utensils/etc). Bathrooms/ toilets need to be upgraded- need to flush multiple times or they plug up.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2014
Aloha Soifdawg,
We're so glad to hear you have enjoyed staying at Poipu Sands in the Poipu Kai Resort, and we sincerely thank you for your detailed review. We're sorry to hear about the Wifi reception in your condo. Unfortunately, many islanders experience frequent difficulties with internet reception throughout Hawaii. Sometimes this occurs because of our tropical climate with its windy and rainy nature. I have also notified the maintenance department about the problem with the toilet in your condo; they will address this issue. The Suite-Paradise staff is always willing to help you with whatever needs you might have from providing any kitchen items you might need during your stay to helping you personally select a condo with a more suitable ocean view for your next visit to paradise.

Sincerely,

Liz Parisi
manager@suite-paradise.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge AB. Canada
Reviewed 28 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
California
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alaska
Reviewed 14 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
anothercl...
Hiroshima, Japan
2 reviews
“Overpriced, needs updating, new patio furniture please”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Lets see, where do I start. Well, lets go with the positives. Its first floor so it was great to walk out the patio door to the large lawn, great for my 5 year old. Nice updated kitchen with all appliances you need, however, the silverware, cups/plates were camping quality, and not a sharp knife in the place. Tiny cups, no coffee mugs.
Negtives: old patio furniture, paint feeling off the chairs and table, 4 plastic walmart chairs.
Never used an IH stove before and its terrible; takes forever for water to boil, the convection oven has broilers but heat is too low to do steaks, only bakes. this was inportant because none of the BBQs were usable on the resort. They are gas BBQs but would not get over 300 degrees or so, so you cant do steaks or other meats; and this is one thing we really look forward to on our vacations. It was a real spoiler. I called the owners association and asked about it and was told they will consider it at the next owners meeting.
No wifi. had an internet connection with a 3 foot cord. luckily my wife brought her old laptop which we could plug in, my ipad was useless.
CD player was broken; we brought several CDs for my daughter but could not use them. It was old and rusty.
NO containers for food. We like to cook - this was a long vacation - and we had no place to store left over food.
Grounds need to be watered - vegitation drying out and dying.
Touted as an ocean view, and we could see the ocean - over the roofs of the cars in the parking lot of the next door resort..
Local calls are charged at $1 each. Unheard of nowdays.
no beach equipment - toys or mats. this was also a first for us. We have been to Kauai many times and all places have provided these un to know.
we were instructed to strip the beds and put the dirty sheets outside the room on checkout. At the price were charged - no way.
We had a good time in Kauai but will never use a rental agence again. We will go through owners as we have done in the past. Be careful if you rent at the Sands, quite a few units have no view at all, other than looking straight at the resort next door.
Welcome to motel 6.
Very over priced for the quality of the condo.
The pool was freezing, and it was advertised as being a heated pool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to walk to the beach.
Liked least: Not being able to BBQ on vacation.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing