We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This place is amazing! Paradise!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kilauea, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WadooFort...
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This place is amazing! Paradise!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This is the most beautiful place we have ever stayed. Beginning from the long drive up to the cottage through manicured grounds with flowering trees and palms, to the small cottage itself, which was immaculate and beautifully decked out in maple finishings throughout. The cottage has seven sliding glass doors, which you MUST keep open when you're there to keep it cool and pleasant with the ocean breezes coming through, but when we slept, we just kept the bedroom doors open as the screens cannot be secured and it was a bit of a security hazard. Otherwise, this place was better than perfect. We showered outdoors in complete privacy, and sat on the lanai at night and watched the stars while hearing the ocean pounding just below. The cottage sits on 11 secluded acres with a security gate entrance. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with tropical flowers and fruit trees, and if it rains (which it will, almost every day), the frogs come out at night and hop all over the grass. The path to the Secret Beach is a pretty easy one, and the beach itself is unrivaled on the island. It is secluded and beautiful, rugged but you can still get in the water. Pristine. There is a safe in the cottage that I recommend you use when you leave because those doors could be flipped open with a butter knife. Otherwise, the only drawback are the incessant rooster crowing at all hours. But they're all over the island, so you can't get away from them. And at least they're pretty. Good eating is found in nearby Hanalei -- try BarAcuda and Postcards for well-prepared and wonderful meals.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsten M
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect secluded retreat”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Hale Nanea is perfect for anyone looking to get away from it all. The property itself is gorgeous and very well appointed. We really loved the outdoor shower, jacuzzi, and used the grill 5/7 nights there. You could mostly enjoy the outdoor seating areas in the morning when the mosquitoes aren't out in full force and the sun is behind the house. In the afternoon and evenings, the lanai is flooded with sunlight--and gets quite hot--and the bugs start to come out. We enjoyed our happy hours and sunsets on the beach instead--can't really complain. The walk to the beach isn't for everyone--several hundred yards down a steep hill then cliff, which was fine for us but I couldn't imagine my parents, who are in their 60s, doing it everyday, sometimes twice or more a day. That said, once you get to the beach, there really is no better spot on the North Shore. Quiet. Secluded. Hike the lava rocks to a little waterfall. The waves are better too (albeit a bit dangerous).

The only reason I don't give the property 5 full stars is because of a few minor annoyances: the ceiling fan broke in the bedroom one night and it really was too hot to sleep without it (but it was fixed the next day), there was a hornets nest clear as day on the side of the house. Not sure why it hadn't been removed. Luckily, we were not stung, but we did have "company" during breakfast most mornings. Finally, and this was probably the biggest issue, there was construction at the property next door that began early in the morning -- sawing, banging, loud talking -- which was topped off by really loud rap music that killed any sense of serenity at Hale Nanea, which we mostly were able to drown out with our own music...but, still...no resort would have booked you without a warning there would be construction.

Overall, I'd return to Hale Nanea any day. The positives far outweighed the negatives. Thanks for a great stay.

Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Reviewed 3 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Susan_New...
USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Cottage by the Sea”
Reviewed 13 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from our four night stay at Secret Beach Hideaway's Hale Lani. There were so many things about this property that was just right for us. The only mistake we made was in not staying here for our entire trip to Kauai. Coming in from NY where summer is humid and muggy, we (he) were concerned about the cottage not having air conditioning so we spent the first half of our stay in a one bedroom suite at the Hyatt. While the one bedroom suite at Hyatt was lovely, the properties could not compare. Secret Beach was serene while the other was hectic. Secret Beach was private and instead of hearing a lot of children screaming, you heard chickens clucking, lizards and frogs singing, and birds chirping. We liked to refer to it as the music of the cottage.
Regarding the lack of air conditioning, Secret Beach Hideaway provides it's own refreshing air through a carefully placed cottage on a hill top with constant Hawain breezes. Even my husband who keeps the temp of our a/c at refrigeration levels at home, agreed that with all doors open the breezes in the cottage were preferable to a/c. The views from every area in the cottage were stunning and the beauty and comfort of having breakfast and cocktails on the private patio with million dollar views, was better than any 5 star resort.
Everything you need is made available to you in this beautiful hideaway and what you may want is available in the little town center.
Beware there are many living creatures outside of the cottage. You will see frogs, lizards, cane spiders, birds, chickens, and many others, but you will rarely see or hear any other humans.
We cannot wait to return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lora M
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The closest I've been to Paradise!”
Reviewed 1 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Everything was beyond the beauty shown in the photos and the staff was incredibly friendly, welcoming and gracious. The Secret Beach is very secluded and beautiful, just a bit of a challenge to reach it, but absolutely worth the hike. The trade winds blew across us at night and we felt very secure and safe sleeping with the doors open. (A safe was provided for any valuables). The owner, Michelle Hughes went out of her way to assure our comfort and her attention to detail is impeccable. We rented 2 Hales for our use, and I cannot say which was more beautiful or more well appointed. I have not traveled extensively like many others, but I know perfection when I find it and this is it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$550
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Enquiry
Talk to the Manager
18882820654
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing