We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$309
Hotels.comUS$309
PricelineUS$309
eDreamsUS$309
travelup.comUS$307
FindHotelUS$309
View all 19 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 000)
Filter reviews
2 000 results
Traveller rating
765
798
286
90
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
765
798
286
90
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coconut marketplace ocean front sand bar oceanfront room small kitchenette fridge and microwave hot tub every morning resort fee central location rental car abc store monk seal beautiful grounds south shores laid back nice beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2 000 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2021

We are not "resort" people so the IOB was just our speed. Attractive grounds, comfortable though small rooms, RIGHT on the water. We swam most mornings. We did not use the pool and grills but that area looked very nicely kept. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace is a big perk. I would certainly return to this area and this property.

The staff was very friendly, although the limited desk hours were inconvenient a few times. Thank you, Rachel, for being so nice on the phone and in person. (I gave four stars because of the limited desk hours.)

Our family of four was cramped in the room. We had intended to book two rooms, one for the parents and one for the teenagers, but somehow ended up with only one. I can't say that that wasn't my mistake and if I had read my confirmation carefully I would have noticed it before it was too late to add a room. Oh well!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jennifersK1810FY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori Morita, General Manager at Aston Islander On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2021

Aloha jennifersK181OFY!

Mahalo for staying with us at Aston Islander on the Beach and for taking the time to post a review. So happy to hear we were just your speed and that you would return to our property. We enjoy meeting our guests and having the opportunity to welcome them back again and again. Special thanks for mentioning Rachel~ she works very hard to take care of our guests and is always friendly and helpful. I will be sure to share your comments with her.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2021

the beach isn't ideal for swimming since there's barely any beach but this hotel is in a great location and its clean and quiet. Really nice hotel. But if your packing a lot of bags, be aware that theres no elevators so you'll be lugging those bags up steps if your on an upper level.

Date of stay: July 2021
1  Thank pvaultingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori Morita, General Manager at Aston Islander On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2021

Aloha pvaultingirl!

Mahalo for your 5 star review of your stay with us at Aston Islander on the Beach! Thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again one day soon!

A hui hou... until we meet again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2021 via mobile

The hotel is in a central location. You can walk to ABC stores in Coconut marketplace which has great premade food selection for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Beach is not so safe to swim. Room has a kitchenette, no cooktop though, you can only microwave food. The furniture in our room was very old, the dresser has a horrible smell, which made all of our tshirts super smelly. The chairs in the balcony were literally falling apart. The bathtub didn’t properly drain. Overall a nice location but rooms need a lot of maintenance to be worth the money you are spending to stay here.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ireeemyuksel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori Morita, General Manager at Aston Islander On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2021

Aloha ireeemyuksel!

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and share your feedback with us. Happy to hear you enjoyed our wonderful central location with the array of options for dining and shopping just steps away. I am not sure if the items you mentioned were reported during your stay as we would have loved an opportunity to address them while you were here. This is the first time I have heard about a smell in the dressers but I will share your comments with our facilities manager so that we can address this as well as any lanai furniture needing attention.

Mahalo for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience.

Aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2021

Aston Islander on the Beach is the perfect spot for a Kauai vacation. It is located about halfway between the north side and the south side, so all of the sites on Kauai are a short drive away. We previously stayed in an ocean front unit, but this time, we stayed in an ocean view unit (#342), which had a gorgeous view of the pool and the ocean just behind it. There is a bike path being built that will go all the way up to Donkey Beach and right in front of Islander is the Coconut Marketplace with lots of restaurants, shops, and a small grocery store. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank NancyAndBrianB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori Morita, General Manager at Aston Islander On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Aloha Nancy and BrianB!

Mahalo for this 5 STAR review of your recent stay at Aston Islander on the Beach!

This IS the perfect spot for a Kauai vacation! Our central location with excellent restaurants and shopping surrounding us makes it the ideal location to relax and unwind. Thank you for sharing your wonderfully positive experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for a 3rd visit soon! (and a 4th and a 5th.......)
With Aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2021 via mobile

This is not really a hotel. These are individually owned units and they are not all the same. We arrived at 8pm and there was nobody at the front desk. There was a handwritten sign to call the manager, who told us to call security. After a little bit, the security guard came and led us to the room, which was on the third floor. There are no elevators, so we had to hump our suitcases up two flights. We are not young; it was not easy; security didn’t volunteer to help. The room was tired and smelled musty. The air conditioner was weak. As we walked back towards our car to get some things, we saw people dragging their suitcases and we warned them that there was nobody at the front desk. They said it was not an issue as they had rented through Air B & B. What hotel rents through Air B& B? On our second night, our key didn’t work. When we called the numbers, they went to voicemail. Overall, not a great experience.

Room tip: Arrive before 6 if you want any help from the management. Be prepared that there are no elevators.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank lisaj842
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori Morita, General Manager at Aston Islander On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Aloha lisaj842,

Thank you for providing us with your honest feedback about your recent stay with us the Islander. We regret to learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. We are working hard to address some of your concerns as we ramp up our staffing to deliver the guest experience that we demand of ourselves. Our property is advertised as individually owned units managed by Aston and our units are all basically the same with the exception of the views. I am not sure how you booked your reservations but we are reviewing our third party booking partners in detail to ensure we have the correct information on all platforms. Thank you for staying with us during these unusual times. Please let me know if you do decide to return so that I can ensure your stay is exceptional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews