We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$254
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$220
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/23
Hurb
US$206
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/23
Hotels.comUS$220
PricelineUS$252
ZenHotels.comUS$306
View all 20 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 113)
Filter reviews
1 160 results
Traveller rating
608
420
87
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
608
420
87
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the lava lava beach club free valet parking hot tub lawn games valet service morning yoga coconut marketplace fire pit an older hotel free bikes beach front abc store parking lot pool view we loved our stay on site restaurant resort fee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 1 160 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

Location was ideal to see whole island. Staff was great. Enjoyed being attached to Lava Lava Beach club. 5 minutes to Kayaking. 45 mins to Waimea Canton. 45 mins to Hanalei. Staff checked by text each day to check on needs / issues. 2 nice pools. Only downer was undersized parking stalls that put vehicle at rusk of scratches/nicks.

Room tip: Driving in Kauai is difficult due to traffic. Traffic thru Hanalei stops between 7:30 and 1 pm due to road work between Princeville
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2021

Thank you so much for sharing! We are delighted to read that you loved your stay with us and that our staff provided great service! It is true the spots at the parking lot are small. We do offer complimentary valet so that guests do not have to worry about parking their vehicle! We hope that you had a lovely time and will join us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2021

Yes. In some ways, the Kauai Shores Hotel has a leg or two up on the 5-star resorts. Nowhere else on the island were we able to find a hotel with true beachside dining or a true beachside stay. The big resorts have patios, decks, large pool areas, railings, shrubbery, and other barriers separating you from the shore (in some cases, you can't even see it unless you walk down to it), but KSH delivers a nostalgic and authentic Kauaian time on every level. Not only can you dine near the shore of the ocean, but you can do yoga, and you can walk from your hotel room, onto some grass, onto some sand, and then be in the water in a matter of seconds. There's no walking through lobbies, walking through gates, across patios, pool areas, through other gates, through shrubbery, and the hotel itself is devoid of all of the corporate/branded trappings, distractions, and annoyances of the big resorts as well. It's just a pure Kauai experience. The hotel is somewhat retro but clean, and the staff we interacted with, especially Richell at the front desk and Jennelle and the two Sofias at the restaurant were fabulous. While the rooms were basic (no fancy marble bathrooms), they were also clean, and the beds were comfortable. If you're tired of the stuffy and corporate environment the 5-star resorts offer and are looking for a truly relaxing, peaceful, and joyful time, try KSH next time you go to Kauai.

Room tip: Any of the even numbered 2nd floor rooms 204 to 216. Closest to the water and the restaurant.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Aloha William,

Mahalo for your kind review regarding your recent visit. We are delighted to read you enjoyed everything we have to offer at Kauai Shores Hotel. We love reading when our guest have a wonderful experience at our hotel. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Mahalo,
Fatima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2021

Love this hotel. It has a really good vibe, a fantastic pool, great people so it was easy for my 10 year old to be immediately playing with other kids in the pool, beach in the property (but sea not great for swimming there), and a good restaurant at the beach itself. Also conveniently located in the East to easy to access the whole island.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nic_stm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2021

Aloha,

Mahalo for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your 10 year old had a blast at the pool! We are centrally located to plenty shops and restaurant are glad you went out to explore. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo for staying with us!

Mahalo,
Fatima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2021 via mobile

Great central location for access to all the island adventure. Close to a plethora of choices for meals and shopping. Great staff, clean rooms, comfortable and stylish environment. Fantastic choice for a place to be while exploring Kauai!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank heatherpG5493OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2021

Mahalo for your feedback! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2021 via mobile

Just spent a week here during 2nd week in July 2021. Great place, nothing fancy but clean, great rooms, amazing Lava restaurant and bar, ocean front, great spot in middle of Islands east side.
The rooms are big, nice clean king beds with great sheets and pillows, two end tables with recharging lamps. Big flat TV with a ton of channels. A safe, Lanai had a table and 2 chairs. Overlooking the pool is the rooms to get on the 2md floor. Each building has a ice maker on the 1st floor Nd 1 of the buildings has 3 laundry machines.
There r 2 pools, 1 kinda big hot tub. The beach is ruff Nd usually gets more rough throughout the day BUT like 100 yards to the south down a path is a secluded beach for kids and there is snorkeling beach there also.
It's 30 mins to Poipu and like 40 to Hanalei BUT look up road closures and times it's open. U have to check out both those places BOTH amazing.
Hawaiian Monk Seal at Poipu a d a huge sea turtle with a million other fish.
I def would stay here again, best place is Kauai for the $$$$

Room tip: Get pool view 2nd floor room
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank riva9129
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2021

Thank you for sharing! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate all your tips regarding staying with us and getting around the island! We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Kauai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews