We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good food, slow(ish) service”

Kalypso Island Bar and Grill
Ranked #14 of 55 Restaurants in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Reviews were mixed for this place and we were initially unsure. Unfortunately in Hanalei, most of the highly rated places to eat are food trucks, and we were not really in the mood for that so we decided on Kalypso Bar and Grill. It turned out to be a very good experience. We sat outside, which is really pleasant.

Service was a bit slow to take our drink order, and then a really long time to actually receive our beers. The wife got the Bourbon stout and I got the Big Swell IPA. Both are $6 for a pint and really tasty during non-happy hour.

For lunch, the wife got the Kalypso burger and I went with the Spicy BBQ burger. The cows are grass fed and you can taste the difference. Both burgers were very tasty. Mine was a mess to eat but I really enjoyed the mixture of spicy jalapeños and sweet BBQ sauce. Be sure to get extra napkins! Really good burger. Cooked to medium exactly as I requested.

Overall, we were happy with our choice. Aside from slow service it was a good place. But our server Renie was friendly and helpful and we are on vacation so slow service is probably a benefit.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank russkwtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 107 of 2 417 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

What a nice place. Very relaxed, great, friendly staff and very good food. I can see why it's so popular. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Kalypso is a worthwhile stop if want a laid back, easy place with a island spin on familiar favorites. The restaurant is pretty much exactly what you think when you stand outside or look at the menu. Why three stars? Because while good, its really only average food, but most places are exactly that. Service was prompt and friendly and prices were what you'd expect on Kauai. I'd go back, but not after sampling other options. Unless of course I was in the mood for hanging out with a cold beer and eating some pretty good nachos...wait isn't that what the island is all about?

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Cool place with a variety of food on the menu. It's not surprising that the service is excellent with the usual friendliness of the people of Kauai.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Jimc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

There doesn’t seem to be many options for dining in Hanalei, so we were happy to find this place with only a 15 minute wait for the 2 of us. The atmosphere included upbeat music, and a busy dining room with groups of 2-10 including couples as well as big families. We shared coconut shrimp as an appetizer. I had the ahi and calamari lettuce wraps, and the husband had the fish special. Both so delicious and filling!! Our cocktails were cold and yummy, too! I had the Caipirinha followed by a Dark and Stormy. The waitress was super sweet, & the hostess did an awesome job getting tables sat. We plan to come back for happy hour to try some Mai tais and nachos.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank amyd748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kalypso Island Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Kalypso Island Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing