We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect North Shore Rental”
off the beaten track
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
off the beaten track
We don't like condos a nice studio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
off the beaten track
We don't like condos
a nice studio
another Living Room
We don't reccommend Princeville condos
Camping on the Kalalau Trail
near secret falls
North shore is lush, green, with best beaches
no houses in sight
honey, this isn't Kansas
nature
where is the traffic?
what we need
room with a view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
ruthkumi
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect North Shore Rental”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed in the Dawn Studio for 2 weeks in July 2013. Booking this was extremely easy and Leslie was very easy to communicate with via email. The location is fantastic for access to North Shore beaches. Everything you could want is there after a long day of hiking or swimming. They have truly though of everything from beach toys to things in the medicine cabinet. Though there is no air conditioning, it was actually cool during the night. The only down side is the frogs and chickens noises-but this is Kauai and we were expecting that. Since we did not get to hike the entire Kalalua trail, we plan to return. I wouldnt want to stay anywhere else. As a rule, I never make a return visit to anywhere, but this time I will make an exception. A slice of Paradise.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiredinka...
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Beautiful place...zero sleep”
Reviewed 6 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Lovely accommodation and view.
But not worth it.
If you want any sleep this is not for you.
It's absurdly loud!

The barking dogs and locals are nothing compared to the nasty bullfrogs, that
continually croak from dusk until dawn.They were extremely loud and sounded like horns, geese or donkeys an inch from your ear. Six continuous seconds of quite was the record all night long.
Infuriating! The roosters in the morning were a minor noise in the scheme of things.

Sure call it nature...it was brutal.
Couldn't wait to check out and get some sleep.
What a shame.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
We offer a nature retreat, and sometimes the frogs are silent and sometimes they are "in season". There are two kinds, with different cycles and propensities. Obviously other guests didn't experience what this guest did, and we are sorry he was unable to sleep. One thing we can do is weed edges of pond more closely when we notice they are mating or whatever the reason is they sometimes get loud. This reduces their places to hide and their number. We just want to say that we would not have a successful rental if everyone experienced this, and they don't. We take all criticisms seriously. This one is a head scratcher because it is intermittent and a natural phenomenon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriDMou...
Mount Tabor, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Moon Studio was a dream on Kauai”
Reviewed 31 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012
3
people found this review helpful

I booked this rental through TA and wasn't sure what we would actually experience when we arrived. My husband and I were in love with this beautiful property. W stayed in what was called "Moon Studio" which is the largest unit of the three, though I did get to see the other two units which are smaller, but also beautiful.

As we entered the studio, we were greeted by a large, semi-circular screened dining area overlooking the jungle and mountains of the North Shore; a breathtaking view complete with nighttime sounds of wildlife. We spent a lot of time here.

The bedroom and bathrooms are very comfortable and pleasantly decorated. The owner provides a large kitchen, and there are boogie boards, beach chairs, towels and sunscreen for guests to use, which is a bonus.

There were two other units being rented and we did hear movement and talking, along with some noise from neighborhood dogs at times. This didn't bother us much, and it was beautifully quiet when the other guests left. We did have some window slats missing in our bath which invited a few bugs in, and the shower drain was a little sluggish. I communicated this to the owner and hopefully they have been fixed. However, these are VERY minor glitches and the location, view, comfort and price of this property is highly worth it, in my opinion. Just a short drive to the many gorgeous beaches, hiking at Na Pali, and town of Hanalei. We would definitely book again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Moon studio space and view
Liked least: Deeper room cleaning and small fixes such as window slats, but these are MINOR
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2012
The window mentioned was fully screened, but some glass needed replacing, so it was not correct to say mosquitoes entered this way. It is possible to hear other guests and for this reason we limit the number of guests and are specific about being conscientious. Thank you for the review. Look forward to seeing you again.:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Reviewed 23 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jessica C
Kihei, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Views were amazing, but....”
Reviewed 10 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Unlike others, we had no problems booking our room. When we arrived, (it's fairly easy to find, if you go by Ray's directions) it looked quiet, peaceful and beautiful. Ray was very sweet and easy to talk to. Our room (the Lily Pad) was great! The views from the balcony were spectacular and we woke up to huge rainbows outside each morning. The only problems we had were that there was no A/C. I know what you're thinking, "Who needs A/C in Kauai?". Well being from Texas, I'm just accustomed to having it a nice 68 degrees in my house at all times LOL. Because there was no A/C, we couldn't shut any windows or doors, day or night. So at night, the roosters cocka-doodle-do at all hours and the giant bullfrogs at the pond literally sound like buffalo. Unfortunately, we had to leave a day early because my husband got called back to work, but if you love the sound of nature (very loud nature) at all times of the day or night, and can deal with no A/C, then this place is for you. Regardless of those things, Ray has a really great place there!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
We have ceiling fans, and unlike south shore, it is not hot on north shore. We have quilts on beds and offer extra blankets and some people need these, particularly in winter. The trade winds come from East, and keep it cool on North Shore. I'm always amazed that on south side I can sleep without any sheet at all, but that isn't possible here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$170
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing