We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9 087)
Filter reviews
9 087 results
Traveller rating
3 544
2 943
1 448
710
442
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3 544
2 943
1 448
710
442
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean tower dolphin quest hilton waikoloa kona pool lagoon grill the big island pizza place chinese restaurant kamuela provision company boat ride swim with the dolphins buddha point fish huge resort boat service main lobby dolphin encounter
Filter
Updating list...
2 974 - 2 979 of 9 087 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Loved it, only problem were the Mynah birds that kept cackling all thru the night. I was located at the Ocean Tower on the 6th floor right in front of the treetops. If you are a visitor, I recommend a room away from the trees. Then you won't be bothered by the birds.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank branatons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2016

Aloha Branatons,

It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hilton Waikoloa Village. We also appreciate you sharing your comments about the Mynah birds at Ocean Tower. Improvement is a continuous process for us as we strive to exceed our guests' expectations and we are doing our best to address this issue.

We'll look forward to welcoming you back to our slice of paradise the next time your travels bring you to Hawaii Island.

Mahalo,
Debi B.
TripAdvisor@HiltonWaikoloaVillage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016

From the minute we checked into this hotel and were greeted at the front desk by Nicholas (who was such a wonderful guy and made us feel right at home) until the minute we checked out, this place was A+++!!! Our kids were crying when we were checking out we had such a GREAT time there!! In fact, we never left the resort once the entire time we were there!! The food was great, the room and view was awesome, we overlooked the dolphins and saw whales from our balcony every morning and late in the afternoon!! The staff was spectacular too, everyone was so helpful and happy, that makes a world of difference when you stay somewhere, you want to feel at home, welcomed and comfortable. The girls who work at Shaka Cones were so friendly and nice, Carolyn at the Lagoon Grill, Kim who drives the tram and boat, and our favorite of the trip was Alexandra Shlitter who works at Dolphin Quest! It was so wonderful to be able to sit and eat and watch the dolphins, sit on our balcony and watch them and the views were incredible!! We loved the tram and the boat riding up and down the canal to eat or go to the other pool. We are already planning our next trip there!! Love this place and everything about it!

Room Tip: Lagoon Tower with view of Dolphin Quest!
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Aloha Caroyln M.

We were absolutely thrilled to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful stay with us at Hilton Waikoloa Village. We greatly appreciate you sharing all of you accolades about our staff and will be sure to share your delightful review with all of our team. Our team truly enjoys sharing the aloha spirit with our guests and helping them create lifelong memories.

We'll definitely look forward to welcoming you back to our slice of paradise when your travels bring you to Hawaii Island.

Mahalo,
Debi B.
TripAdvisor@HiltonWaikoloaVillage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Hotel is massive, choose your room location carefully. We have young kids, we chose the lagoon tower which was a great location for us. We paid 400 per night, with that price I would expect some service, well, not so much. Waited almost one hour in line to check in. Self-parking lot was often full which was a huge hassle. One morning the housekeeper kept knocking, knocking, I could see she was irritated-- good grief I am on holiday here with young kids, just come back later--- get this, the next morning our alarm clock went off at 5:30. It had not gone off the morning before, for sure the housekeeper set it!! I am not kidding you! Unless you are reserving a chair by 8 am forget about getting any shade. Facilities are beautiful but it is common to see apple cores, banana peels and empty food containers laying around. Overall I was very disappointed by this place at this price point. That being said, we had a great time, the lagoon and water slides are great for kids. If you have already booked it then come and enjoy, but if you can, book somewhere else.

Room Tip: We were on ground floor of lagoon tower, I liked it.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 0karla0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Dear 0karla0,

Thank you very much for providing this information about your experiences at the Hilton Waikoloa Village. I agree that we have something to offer for everyone, so I'm glad that you liked the facilities. However, I'm very disappointed to hear that you did not find the service to exceed your expectations, and I am especially concerned that you believe a deliberate disturbance was created during your stay. You have my sincerest apologies for the issues that you encountered. I do genuinely believe that we have very proud and honest people working at the resort, so we will certainly investigate to see what occurred. I do hope that we will have another opportunity to impress you with our world class service in the future. Thank you for choosing the Hilton Waikoloa Village.

Mahalo,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016

The staff was all very friendly and accommodating. The pool area was great (although hard to find chairs sometimes.) The resort was clean and well kept. We used the spa on our last day to shower off after we had checked out of our room before leaving for the airport (you get spa access if your room in located in the Makai tower). The showers were clean and the staff there was helpful too. The birds outside our room were pretty loud, but they provide free ear plugs on request. Overall we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

Aloha Sharon T,

Thank you for this great review! We are delighted to hear that you found the staff to be welcoming. We take great pride in providing our guests with a warm atmosphere and making them feel at home throughout, so knowing that you felt this hospitality is wonderful news! I'm sorry to hear that our winged friends were a bit noisy, but hopefully they didn't prevent you from getting some needed rest and relaxation in paradise.

Thank you for making the Hilton Waikoloa Village your home on the Big Island. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Mahalo,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

Other reviewers have done a good job describing this place - it is huge - feels very much like Disney .
PROS: nice conference facilities although the Internet access couldn't handle 750 logins at once. Rooms in makai wing are convenient. Big beautiful pool on makai side and protected snorkeling area in lagoon (not great visibility but no waves). Can see whales spouting from rooms.
CONS: very pricey for what you get - there are other hotels that are a better value . Food was OK. Much better quality and price off property . Long lines at check in (although moved quickly and bags delivered promptly ). Very long walk to rooms on right side of property. Although there is a tram and boat available , these are pretty slow .
Summary: would I come back for a conference? You bet. Non - work - related? Probably not.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank sheaf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2016

Dear sheaf01,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy that you enjoyed the resort and amenities and our meeting space. The whales come to Hawaii in the winter months and provide endless entertainment.

I’m sorry to disappoint you with our dining options. We appreciate your comments as a valued guest, to help us improve our service. We hope to welcome you again when you return to the island.

Aloha,

Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews