We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
233
137
49
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
137
49
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews koi pond deluxe bungalow spiral staircase volcano national park hot tub tree house the big island electric fireplace coffee maker two nights unique place flat screen tv large windows small refrigerator main office shared bathroom volcano area
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

This was my FAVORITE place that we stayed on the entire island! We happened upon it just by luck and were so excited to stay there. It is in a lush area of the rain forest, five minutes away from the entrance of Volcanos National Park. The room has windows on every wall so you feel like you are living in the rainforest. It also has very whimsical decorating style, with faux rock counters, shower (double) and cool glow lights that change colors on the wall. Also a neat heater that has glow rocks. The bed has memory foam, which we don't really care for, but it was fine and worth staying there. The heat worked well (it was rainy and cool that night). There is a fridge, counter, microwave, dishes, etc. Just loved it!!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bonoochka100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to post your comments! Comments like yours help us improve our product as much as possible. We are happy your stay was enjoyable. Thank you once again. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

This is a very special hotel with rooms that make the stay a fun experience. Our room had some impressive African antiques. Close the Volcano National Park, and surrounded by delightful tropical gardens, you feel in a rather zen environment. It's calm, beautiful, very different.

Stayed: January 2018
2  Thank Judy952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review Chalet Kilauea on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and all the details we've put into our rooms to make this a truly unique experience. We hope you enjoyed your time on the Big Island and feel free to visit anytime! Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Stayed at this hotel for one night out of two- had to leave as it was terrible. The photos on the website look attractive; the deluxe bungalow looks like it has seen better days. Somehow they added what I believe is their representation of lava crawling down the bathroom walls. The koi pond is a solid green algea mess - hard to see koi through the stagnant green water. But the real gem was the lack of heat in the bungalow. We arrived and the external temperature was 58 degrees; inside it was 61 with no heat. You had to turn on the "eco-friendly slow heater" and keep the bedroom door closed to generate heat. Emphasis on the 'slow' part of heater. they also helpfully provide a space heater- the kind that are responsible for about 1/3 of all house fires in the winter. We looked for blankets in the only storage container ( a small black ottoman) and found two meager pillows. the bed was covered with a thin blanket and sheets. On the website they proudly say that this is an upscale luxury accomodation. Never seen an upscale luxury accomodation with space heaters as your only heat source. we had planned to spend our last two nights in Hawaii at this place- thinking with the rainforest location it would be a nice romantic place to stay. Huddling in sweat pants and sweat shirts really got in the way of romance. I am surprised that a place that prides itself on "upscale" wouldn't have had the sense or attention to detail to warm up what they know is a very chilly space prior to the guest's arrival. and the bathroom is covered in so much tile that the hotel posts a note on the door that says "keep closed as the bathroom tile is a heat sink" We complained to the front desk in the morning and she texted the manager who was supposed to arrive "soon" after waiting for 20 minutes without any word from the manager except "no refunds for early checkouts" we packed up and left. we had plans in the park and waiting for the manager to show up whenever was just not acceptable. We travel extensively and a review of my prior reviews will show that I am not a person who complains. but this hotel warrants such a complaint. stay elsewhere. we managed to get a room at the hotel in the park. it was lovely, over looked the volcano crater and had heat. and blankets. and they don't advertise themselves as upscale...just as comfortable. If this had been advertised as a budget hotel then I would have a different opinion. I shudder to think what their low cost rooms are like.

Room Tip: stay at another hotel, one that promises heat and blankets
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatriciaM9524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. Yes, this rain-forest (at a 4,000 foot elevation) can get cold outside and we do supply 2 space heaters, 2 eco-friendly wall heaters and 1 electric, forced-air fireplace wall heater for use on those especially cold nights. We rely on guest feedback to improve our product. We also note that heating is not a normal concern for the bungalow given its cozy architecture and many heating options. The Bungalow is a mere 600 square feet in total. We are disappointed to find that heating was a concern, while also noting this concern is a statistical outlier. We do not have any similar concerns on record. The Bungalow is occupied 80% of the time and feedback indicates the room stays very warm with the heaters running. Our space heaters have the highest standards of safety features and are considered 100% safe. The heaters are sourced via a national hotel supply company and are common for smaller operations especially when central air is not an option. We pride ourselves in being eco-friendly in this delicate Hawaiian Rain-Forest ecology and therefore cannot with good conscience activate room heating when it is not occupied. We truly appreciate this opportunity to share our vision for sustainable tourism in delicate environments. We also appreciate the opportunity to receive this valuable feedback from this Tripadvisor user. Mahalo; rest-assured, the Bungalow has comfortable interior heat and extra bedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We had a great stay in this memorable room, enjoyed walking around the grounds too. Very creative and out of the ordinary, exactly the type of place we prefer. The bathroom and shower are amazing and fun, like a cave but modern and very clean.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 221ronf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to post your comments! Comments like yours help us improve our product as much as possible. Thank you for choosing Kilauea Hospitality Group. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

The room had a great set up with a bed in a nook. Our kids said it was like a cave. The bathroom had 2 shower head and design was so interesting that we took a picture and posted on Facebook. Staff was also very friendly.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deadhedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletKilauea, Guest Relations Manager at Chalet Kilauea, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to post your comments! Comments like yours help us improve our product as much as possible. You stayed at Chalet Kilauea; offering upscale private accommodations. We are happy your stay was enjoyable. Thank you once again. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews