We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible!”
other travellers have booked this property
Hale Hubner rests in the heart of the lush hapu'u fern and ohia rainforest one sees in the park.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hale Hubner rests in the heart of the lush hapu'u fern and ohia rainforest one sees in the park.
Relax and unwind in the wide open floor plan featuring all wood interior and 20 ft vaulted ceiling Enjoy the clear nights and dark skies far from city lights.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Hale Hubner rests in the heart of the lush hapu'u fern and ohia rainforest one sees in the park.
Relax and unwind in the wide open floor plan featuring all wood interior and 20 ft vaulted ceiling
Enjoy the clear nights and dark skies far from city lights.
Watch for birds by day and stargaze at night on our huge lanai.  See Kilauea's glow on clear nights!
Take in the rainforest views while you cook from our fully stocked and spacious kitchen
Sleep peacefully on our queen size master bed featuring memory foam mattress and hotel bedding
Relax on the oversized futon, which folds out to become a second queen size bed with spring mattress
Cozy up on the cool nights by our wood burning stove
There are many interesting plants to see on our property, especially the hapu'u ferns
Enjoy the beautiful views from the nearby beaches all within a short drive from our house
Revel in the the magnificent hawaiian sunsets
Take a trip to Kalapana to witness Pele's power and watch the Big Island grow
Make the short 10-15 min drive from our house to see KIlauea's spectacular glow at night
Kilauea is just as spectacular in the daytime
Drive to Punaluu Beach to relax in the sun with the turtles
Take Mauna Loa drive to the overlook to see Kilauea from up on high
Explore and enjoy the numerous waterfalls of the east side of the island
Catch a glimpse of snow on Mauna Kea!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christine...
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is exactly as advertised. The moment we arrived, we loved the place! It is very evident the amount of care that is put into keeping the place amazing. The attention to all the small details ( instructions on using all the house amenities) were greatly appreciated. The wood stove was cozy at night. The area is very serene and crisp in the evenings! We felt very welcome in the house, as if it were our own. Loved the collection of books, DVDs, visitors map etc.

A very unique cottage in an amazing part of the big island!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at Hale Hubner for 2 nights in March. We had never been to Volcano (or the Big Island) before and as we drove along the lane to the cottage we did wonder if we'd picked the right place. As soon as we arrived we knew we definitely had. Though we didn't cook (breakfast at Volcano House filled us up for the day) the kitchen is equipped with everything. Loved the layout of the cottage and the outside area, which we didn't get to try much due to the rain. Laying in bed at night with the sounds of the forest was a little unnerving at first but then I found myself standing outside at 3am looking at the millions of stars - beautiful. If I'm lucky enough to travel to Hawaii and Volcano again I'll be back at Hale Hubner.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J K
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A week on the Big Island of Hawaii”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at the Hale Hubner cottage was very enjoyable. We stayed from the 28th of March - April 3rd of 2014. We had a little more rain than we expected but that didn't stop us from having a great vacation. The nights get a little cool because of the elevation but the electric fireplace in the bedroom kept us warm and cozy. They even supplied a heated mattress pad for both the bedroom and the futon. The kitchen has everything you would need to cook a nice meal. There is even a grill on the patio if you're in the mood for grilling. The Wi-fi was a plus since it allowed us to download pictures each night upon our return. The cottage's location is surrounded by lush emerald green vegetation. My favorite being the Hapu'u, which is a common tree fern. The full length single pane windows allows you to take in the beauty of these spectacular native Hawaiian plants. They are everywhere and are absolutely gorgeous. The cottage is very convenient to Volcano National Park as well as the black and green sand beaches as well as several coffee mills. There are several restaurants within about one to two miles that served very good food. The Lava Rock Cafe being one of them. The General Store makes an awesome pizza! If you plan to explore the east side of the island plan a little drive time but you can explore a lot in one day. Oh, I almost forgot to mention how convenient it was to drive up to see the volcano glow at night. You can see a little of the glow from the patio of the cottage. Definitely would suggest to consider this cottage for your lodging needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balls2
Ayr, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for Retirement Couple”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed at Hale Hubner for 5 days in January 2014. The cottage is located very close to the National Park and a small village. It is not far along a one track road surrounded by palm trees and bush. It is quiet and cool and a very relaxing place. With a fully equipped kitchen, we were able to eat in sometimes, or enjoy the internet or TV. We didn't use the deck, but it is a lovely place to sit outside and enjoy the calmness of the retreat. With being close to the little volcano village, we had at least 3 choices to eat out. We were glad that we took up Matt's recommendation to pick up bottled water and some groceries before leaving the main town (in our case Hilo) - where there is more selection and I think lower cost. Overall, we were very content and enjoyed our stay at Hale Hubner and would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet retreat
Liked least: A bit cold in the mornings due to high elevation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles K
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a delightful cottage!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Hale Hubner provided the perfect setting for our stay near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The location was ideal for easy and quick access for day hikes and early morning lava viewing.
The cottage itself is so comfortable, cozy and well appointed. We enjoyed the wood burning stove, the deck and the fully equipped kitchen. We highly recommend Hale Hubner and hope to return! Thank you for sharing this lovely cottage!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing