We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome!”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage
Exterior cottage in jungle Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Front of cottage
Exterior cottage in jungle
Entrance
Front door entrance
Beautiful Wooden Soaking Tub
King bed with sitting area
Fireplace and firewood which we supply
Fully equipped kitchen
Bathroom vanity with large walkin shower
Sitting area
King size bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lindsay M
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was a wonderful cottage. The location is perfect, nestled in a quiet forest and very close to Volcano National Park. The drive to Hilo is easy and quick to visit the farmer's market on Saturday and pick up some groceries for cooking in the beautiful kitchen. We drove in from Kona, and that drive was beautiful as well. We loved staying here and will definitely return! The fireplace is an added treat for the chilly evenings and kept us warm. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cultureco...
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just as advertised-perfect!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

It is a very comfortable cottage ,wonderfully decorated (not cheesy Hawaiian) and is in the singing rain forest.So much better than Volcano House.We hiked for 3 days and were happy the cottage was so close so we could come home to cook..Definitely do shopping in Hilo.Brenda and Tom came over when an important light burned out.There was nothing to improve upon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolene G
Anoka, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cozy cottage - so close to the volcano!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed for one night one a visit to the volcano. The cottage by far exceeded our expectations!! The home is gorgeous!! They had a full kitchen - we only used the fridge but a family could stay for a length of time and do full cooking. The bed is fantastic - incredibly plush, plenty of blankets and pillows and we had the best night sleep in the cottage! Wake up to birds singing - lovely! No bugs inside which was great. After an evening of hiking in the volcano - came home to a perfect and relaxing dip in the hot tub! The best viewing for the volcano is at night - and it is SO handy - the cottage is literally a few minutes from the park. The bathroom was so great as well - so many little touches, everything was absolutely perfect. I only wish we could have stayed longer than one night!! Will absolutely try and stay here if we ever make it back to the island!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bed, bathroom and hot tub
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holski
Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and a Home from Home”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 1 week of our 3 week visit to Hawaii in this lovely cottage in Volcano and were really happy that we did! The cottage is really well appointed and perfect for couples - whether you want to go out exploring or if you just want to chill out, make a nice meal and watch a movie. The cottage itself is great and aptly named - after we left, I really missed the constant chirping, buzzing and general chatter of all the creatures who call the rain forest their home. Although you are really close to the main road and can easily get to numerous tourist spots and attractions from the cottage, you still feel like you are in the middle of nowhere - which we loved. You are just minutes away from the Volcanoes National Park and having bought a ticket to get into the park we found we could return as much as we wanted during the week using the same ticket. We took full advantage of this for example by getting up at 4 am to see the volcano in the dark, fitting in a quick hike before popping back to the cottage for a relaxed breakfast (with a lovely fresh cup of coffee) and then returning to the park for a longer hike or a drive down the Chain of Craters road. It only took about 5 minutes in the car to get to the park from the cottage so we could see just as much of the Volcano and the park as we wanted - perfect!
When we had had enough of hiking, it was simple enough to go to the beach for the day- just about a hour's drive in the direction of Hilo. The climate changes dramatically on the way to Hilo so if it feels a bit cold and damp for your tastes in Volcano, you can get about a +20 degree difference in temperature within a hour's drive! As Volcano itself is very small with limited amenities, it really is best to go to a supermarket in Kona or Hilo (depending on where you fly in from) before you arrive. We made lots of great meals in the cottage, and found we had all the pans and utensils that we needed and we really enjoyed reviewing our hundreds of photos of the volcano over dinner with a nice glass of wine. Although I hear the restaurants around Volcano are good they are relatively expensive- possibly because there isn't much choice of places to eat - so we preferred to cater for ourselves that week.
The Volcano Winery is about 10 mins drive away and certainly worth a visit - it's a great way to pass an hour or 2 - especially if the weather is not good. We found the weather in volcano to be quite changeable so do pack clothes for all weathers - especially if you want to visit the park after dark as it gets very cold. The cottage does have a washer and a drier so if you happen so get wet/ muddy/ sandy etc then you can always get clean and dry again- really handy!
Although we didn't need to use it, the cottage has got a log burning fire but we always found it to be a really good temperature indoors. It does get chilly outside at night but the bed was always very comfy and warm and, although some people have suggested there should be a separate bedroom, for us the plan of the cottage worked really well - mostly we were so exhausted by all our adventures during the day it was nice to just get comfy on the bed after dinner and drift off to sleep.
Brenda and Tommy were really great hosts and, even when we called them at night in a panic because one of the washers on the taps on the bath had broken and the bathroom was flooding, they calmly told us where to shut off the water and even got a plumber straight over in the morning to fix it!
For us it really felt like a home from home - there didn't seem to be anything we were missing ( except perhaps a mop for bathroom flooding disasters!!) . Add to that the brilliant location for exploring the Big Island and you have a really winning combination! When we are lucky enough to return to Hawaii we would certainly like to go back to Singing Forest Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!
Liked least: Hot tub didn't get very hot and seemed like it had a bit too much chlorine
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin H
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cozy, romantic hideaway for 2”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable bed - contemporary & stylish design. Minutes from Volcano National Park. Laundry, 2-person hot tub, fireplace & full kitchen. Large, luxurious, pebble-floor shower. Quiet, peaceful and very romantic. It was the perfect place for our honeymoon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private deck hot tub!
Liked least: We had to unplug the hot tub at night to keep the noise factor down (it's right next to the bed)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing