We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved this cottage. A wonderful place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Pukeawe Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pukeawe Cottage
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Pukeawe Cottage
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room--cozy wood burning stove
Dining Room
Kitchen
Laundry Room
downstairs bathroom with tub/shower
twin bedroom
Downstairs twin bedroom--roll top desk
Downstairs Bedroom #2--Queen
queen bedroom
Master suite king bed
Master suite sitting area
Master suite
Upstairs master bath with tub/shower
kitchen porch
Sun deck
Side yard patio
Meditation garden
Bamboo
Bird Haven
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
NancysWor...
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this cottage. A wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Six family members - ages from 68 to 12 - stayed at this lovely cottage for a week. The cottage has everything you could want. It was very pleasant. The furnishings are comfortable, and we had plenty of space for all six of us. WiFi is fast. The yard is beautiful. You have complete privacy from neighbors. We couldn't have been happier.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I felt like we were at home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you for your nice review. We are most pleased that you enjoyed your time at Pukeawe Cottage and hope you return for another visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmp1213
Salinas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage in Volcano!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Had a wonderful time at this lovely home in Volcano! This was my 2nd stay at Pukeawe Cottage and both visits were perfect. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable. I stayed for 6 days with some friends, including a 1 year old child. It's a perfect location for exploring that side of the island. We had several fun day trips in the Volcano and Hilo areas.

The house is beautifully decorated and has a cozy, welcoming feel. The kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms are all well stocked with items you'll need during your stay. There was even a pack n' play for the baby and several fun board games for nights in. The outdoor landscaping is great and there are some nice spots to sit outside and take in all of the surrounding beauty. There is a container of seed outside for feeding the local birds, who arrive every morning for breakfast.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay. I would recommend this home to anyone visiting the Volcano area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob S
Brea, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If your destination is Volcano HI, you must stay here!”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage lives up to everything others have stated in their reviews. The owners have created an ambiance that makes it feel as if your best friend is sharing their place with you. We felt so much at home it was just amazing. It is very difficult to properly describe our experience at the cottage without sounding phony. But, trust me, you will be more than pleased with your experience here. And the owners are very responsive to any questions you have.

We have rented condos on this and other islands and nothing compares with the Pukeawe Cottage. And, yes, the wood stove does provide enough heat for the whole house. If you plan to arrive after dark, which was what happened to us, I would suggest looking at the location on Google Maps, street view to get your bearings. There are not lights in the area and it is easy to drive by in the dark.

In summary, you will be very pleased if you are staying in the Volcano area and stay here. Plus, it is so close to that park that you can easily take in the evening glow of the volcano which is a treat to see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the amenities and the bird food to feed the many birds in the area.
Liked least: Nothing, really.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
Thank you Robert. That is a good suggestion to look at the street view on google maps if you are arriving after dark. There are no street lights but that's what makes the night sky so amazing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles H
Ithaca, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy and comfortable in volcano”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed three nights in this lovely cottage. The house is well appointed and has been decorated with just enough personal taste to feel like a home. The gardens are beautifully set out and leaving bird feed was a really nice touch.

The place is very convenient for Volcano National Park (note that it is past the park entrance from the main part of the town of Volcano, but only by a few miles); but it's also just a lovely mountain retreat. We would absolutely come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann C
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fell in Love with this cottage!”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed 3 nights...everything was perfect. Great location...loved the warm days and cool refreshing nights! Can't wait to go back!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing