We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“jungle comfort”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hale Ma‘ukele

View of the house from the backyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the house from the backyard
Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View of the house from the backyard
Living room
Open floor plan
The kitchen is fully equipped
Dining room
Back Deck
Backyard
Hot Tub
Upstairs hallway
Master Bedroom, with a king size bed
Master bathroom
Second bedroom, with two full size beds
Laundry room
Second bathroom on the second floor
Third bedroom, with a queen size bed
Bathroom downstairs
Propane fireplace
View from Street
Sign
Hot Tub in the Forest
Protea flowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Japanese first
Any
English first
michaelgX...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“jungle comfort”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Beautiful spacious comfortable house.Has everything you need and 5 mins to volcanoes national park. Large spa in jungle garden was a highlight. Timber work inside house was fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: timber features in house
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tubeye
Bucks County, PA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice rainforest hideaway”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Very nice, clean home. Beautiful design and great covered deck. Comfortable beds. Kitchen has the basics. Had an issue with the bathroom shower curtain and manager fixed it same day. Cooked at the house several nights so broken dishwasher was a downer but no big deal. Perfect spot for exploring Hawaii Volcano National Park. A few restaurants nearby. Limited grocery options. Recommend stocking up in Hilo. Got a gallon of milk at the general store, $9.88 and it expired in 3 days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hjcohen50
Waimea, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Another great stay!”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is our second stay this year and the unit continues to deliver a great experience. Fresh fruit and coffee start the day as we enjoyed the beautiful grounds and foliage surrounding Hale Ma' ukele. The unit is our starting point as we continue to explore the Volcano Park and numerous sites along this side of the Big Island. We look forward to our next visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hjcohen50
Waimea, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great stay as always.”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Our stay at Hale Ma' ukele was wonderful as always. This was our fourth visit and it has become our go-to location when we visit the Volcano Park area. The house is beautifully situated among the huge ferns and is well equipped. Most importantly, each time we have stayed, the house has been meticulously maintained and well cleaned. The hardwood floors and furnishings provide a relaxed feel and the decor is tastefully done. The owner continues to deliver a first-rate experience which we thoroughly enjoyed. We will be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Reviewed 10 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing