We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent and unique Hawaiian rainforest retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
treehouse in forest of hapu'u and ohia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
treehouse in forest of hapu'u and ohia
moongate entrance cedar hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
treehouse in forest of hapu'u and ohia
moongate entrance
cedar hot tub
treehouse from lava boulders below
ascent to treehouse
front door
lanai
dining al fresco
inside - jotul heating stove, ships ladder to trapdoor
indoor table top in window
kitchen
cooktop & sink
sidelight at front door
living room
looking out through speakeasy window
cedar hot tub
bedroom
treehouse in forest
outdoor shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
laurenici...
Ithaca, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent and unique Hawaiian rainforest retreat”
Reviewed 29 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We very much enjoyed our stay at the treehouse.
We normally camp on vacations, but we were on our honeymoon and decided to splurge a bit on this awesome place.
We stayed there with the intention of exploring Volcano National Park and as many other reviewers have noted, the location is excellent for that. The park entrance is literally only a few minutes drive away. Unfortunately there was some intense sulfur dioxide fumes in the park while we were there due to shifting winds and the volcano venting, but we were still able to explore most parts of the park that we wanted to and luckily there was no vog at the treehouse itself.
The general setting of the treehouse is of course wonderful. It was so nice being able to look out on all the tree ferns and ohi'a. The big lanai was definitely my favorite aspect, where we could eat outside and look out on everything. There's also a smaller upstairs lanai right off the bedroom, which makes it truly wonderful to wake up there. There were a lot of other touches that we enjoyed as well, like the stained glass windows, Hawaiian music CDs, recycled wood used in building the treehouse, etc. The outdoor shower was great- you won't ever get to shower again with that view! (don't worry though, the nearest neighbor is far enough away to provide ample privacy). We also took advantage of the cooking facilities (stove-top, microwave, pans, and utensils are all there), cooking several meals there.
Now on to the few negative things we had to wrack our brains to think up. Getting up to the bedroom was a bit awkward, as we are very tall and it's a narrow space to climb through on the ladder, but it is a treehouse so that's not really an unexpected feature. Still we left pretty much certain that more rotund Americans would not have been able to fit through the hatch to the upper level at all, so if you're 45+ waistline this place is probably not for you. Also the upstairs bedroom design is curious because there are a number of large bamboo cylinders that vent straight to the outside with no screens in them. We were concerned that bugs might come in through them, but the only thing that seemed to come in was the cool, moist rainforest air. Don't think it will be 80 degrees down there, we went in January and I think it got down to 50 at night, luckily the treehouse has a nice gas powered heater. We also arrived to find the power out, but after talking on the phone to Gail and Robert we were able to troubleshoot the problem and get the generator going again... a bit of an annoying start but we had no problem reaching them to get it fixed and my engineer husband had fun playing around with the power system.
Overall, if you're looking for a unique place to stay near Volcano where you can have some peace and quiet and really experience the amazing environment there, this is it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the amazing, peaceful, natural setting... especially as enjoyed on the great lanai!
Liked least: the narrow ladder up to the bedroom level
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2012
So happy you took the time to write such a thoughtful and complete review. It is true that one size does not fit all. There have been several very tall visitors to the treehouse, and it worked for them, and some fairly large people have stayed there. I do agree that the small size overall dictated by the trees themselves coupled with the fact that it does mean climbing ladders to get up there makes the treehouse an unlikely choice for anyone who has a 45+ waistline. We were lucky that your husband had the curiosity and willingness to tinker with our power system and restore electricity, and had he not been able to do that someone would have come over and got it going. We were about an hour and a half away at the time, and very happy it worked out for you. As for the vents, we have never screened them as bugs are in low supply at that altitude, especially mosquitoes. The unimpeded air circulation is more important overall, hence the open cylinders. Mahalo again. Thank you for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalAaron2...
Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing and Totally Unique”
Reviewed 24 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

My wife and I were so looking forward to our stay here and I have to say it exceeded our already high expectations. It's hard for the photos or descriptions to do the place justice...really just a magical spot. Very convenient for exploring the Volcanoes National Park (5 minute drive away) and if you're looking for a truly unique experience you can't go wrong here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub...in a treehouse? Brilliant!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2011
Mahalo nui loa. Very happy you stayed in our abode in the trees. You arrived at a great time for lava viewing - always adds to the magic of the experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windus22
Encinitas, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shower”
Reviewed 2 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

We loved our experience. My husband and I have stayed in Tree Houses in Belize, Maui, & Mexico. This one was the most authentic of them all. Very well designed & romantic. But the outside shower was cold at 50 degres out!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: The shower!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2011
aloha and thank you for posting a review. We have had some cold temps lately. Hopefully the hot tub offset the out of doors shower.... in such a space as the treehouse, with the weather being what it is, we chose to forgo the indoor shower... mahalo and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiancaMcC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magical hideaway for two”
Reviewed 29 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We truly enjoyed every minute spent here and I wish that we could've stayed longer. Being lulled to sleep by the pitter patter of rain and gently woken by the singing birds left me relaxed and refreshed. The cardinals and spotted doves were frequent visitors to the deck and they are such fun to watch. The birds and the occasional movement of the tree have made it seem like we were truly apart of the forest. We really enjoyed our day trips to the many lovely areas around Volcano from the treehouse. We were so very grateful for the plush chairs on several occasions, especially after our hike around Kilauea Iki trail. I could go on forever about the wonderful details which have obviously been chosen with great care. We hope to return here another time, as I can’t imagine finding a better place for some R&R.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Incredibly comfy & cozy. The shower was uniquely awesome.
Liked least: Unfortunately, it never was dry enough to lay in the hammock.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2011
Thank you so much for caring enough to post a review. We are grateful your experience has led you to wish to return, and we hope your travels bring you back to Hawaii and the treehouse. aloha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jreinmill...
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 16 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here last week. The place truly is amazing and is the most unique place we have ever stayed. The location and design are very exotic but the house contains all the amenities you'd expect at a "normal" property.

Everything was very clean and well maintained and matched what is advertised. The kitchen provided everything you'd need: small refrigerator, two burner stove, microwave, and a bunch of dishes and utensils. The outdoor shower had tons of hot water and soap, shampoo, and such were provided. The small gas fireplace really kept the place cozy even when it poured rain our first night there. The bed was also very comfortable.

We had a completely wonderful stay here. I'd absolutely recommend staying here if you are in the Hilo or Volcano areas. It will be a once in a lifetime experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2011
thank you so much for the glowing recommendation. We are delighted you so enjoyed your stay at the treehouse. We'd love to see you again! mahalo nui loa, and much aloha.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing