We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for two people.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
198 reviews
DSC2225 opt
_DSC2266.JPG
_DSC2246.JPG
DSCN5932 opt opt opt
Downstairs Garden Suite can be added for an additional bedroom/bath/lanai
Downstairs Garden Suite can be added for an additional bedroom/bath/lanai
Downstairs Garden Suite can be added for an additional bedroom/bath/lanai
Downstairs Garden Suite can be added for an additional bedroom/bath/lanai
Required display of TAT for advertisement
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 198 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mikeydall...
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect place for two people.”
Reviewed 1 February 2011 for a stay in January 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Have stayed in Volcano before and found this tucked away place very charming. The reason I gave it four stars and not five, is because this is a place to stay if you are only using the main house. It is upstairs with an open floorplan and very private. Charming, tastefull, and well stocked, you could spend a week there and totally relax. The problem is that for the other couple staying in the downstairs unit, you get none of that. The room is small, cold, and is just a bedroom with a small bath. Our friends who stayed upstairs were beside themselves with glee, but felt bad for us. The main house is an open floor plan, so you are essentially in their bedroom when upstairs. Stay here as a couple, but skip it if you are going with others. Oh, and eat at the Kilauea Lodge while there.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2011
Aloha, I can appreciate the response to the two bedrooms, as Maile Treehouse, with the Garden Suite as a second bedroom option, is atypical and not suited to all situations. For this reason, we list it as a one bedroom. The following is not meant to be defensive.. just clarifying, as I don't know of anyone before that has been surprised by the design, and therein would lie any dissappointment. Our arrangement, including the downstairs bedroom, has been highly complemented by many families and two couples alike... and has most likely been passed on as unsuitable by others. I'd encourage a look at our extensive pictures and descriptions on our home site which also has uncensored comments specific to the downstairs and full house use! In a nutshell, the upstairs bedroom/tub has an option of being 'visually' separated from the main living space... but any conversation/ noise is shared by all ears upstairs. The Garden Suite downstairs is privately entranced, with an additonal lanai providing coffee/tea/fridge... looking into the forest/garden. The room has an instant wall heater, we post a reccommendation to use the hidden dehumidifier while you are out to have it dry and toasty when returning if needed, as well as there being heated mattress pads for cozy nights. There is no reason to be cold in this room. It is 'custom', high ceilings, crown moulding, wainscot, bay window, bright and lovely, oversized shower and creates a 'private' space for a second bedroom/ bath/ lanai. Without lanai, the room is 218 sf. I hope this provides some useful info.... (okay, a little defensive!- everything was done with much thought and care)
Aloha, Leslie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI
Reviewed 25 January 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scotland
Reviewed 24 January 2011 for a stay in October 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
honolulu
Reviewed 24 January 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 18-24
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 19 January 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing