We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PEACEFUL”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
197 reviews
DSC2225 opt
_DSC2266.JPG
_DSC2246.JPG
DSCN5932 opt opt opt
Downstairs Garden Suite can be added for an additional bedroom/bath/lanai
Downstairs Garden Suite can be added for an additional bedroom/bath/lanai
Downstairs Garden Suite can be added for an additional bedroom/bath/lanai
Downstairs Garden Suite can be added for an additional bedroom/bath/lanai
Required display of TAT for advertisement
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 197 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
042416haw...
Ortonville, Minnesota
1 review
“PEACEFUL”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

It was everything we were told that this property was very private . Nice to listen to the birds. Close to a couple small stores for all the odds and ends you may need during your stay. I would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: that we had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kmcClevel...
cleveland, ohio
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was a beautiful rental in Volcano, close to the park. Had everything we could want and more. It was a lovely touch that ingredients for a breakfast on the first day were left for us. You would want to buy your groceries in Hilo, since there is very little to get in Volcano.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The windows all around to see the forest
Liked least: I liked it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia...
1 review
“Tranquil Escape”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was a great launching place for our many adventures. What a great place to come "home" to after a day of hiking and exploring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace was awesome to warm the chilly evenings.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Hideaway!”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Maile Treehouse is a MAGICAL place to stay! I can't say enough wonderful things about it! My husband and I traveled to Hawaii for our honeymoon and were seeking some quiet and relaxation, and boy did we get it at the Maile Treehouse! First off, Leslie H. was a pleasure to work with, she was very organized and had a quick response time on any inquiries re: our stay. She also has an exquisite touch, because the house is filled with the homiest decorations to make you feel comfortable and relaxed...like you're staying with friends! Our favorite aspects inside the house, were the fireplace and the jacuzzi. It gets a bit chillier in Volcano, than near the Kona side, so the fireplace was a cozy feature. The house is set up with all you need to cook meals during your stay. Just make sure you stop at the store before leaving a bigger area, like Hilo. Also, it is understandable why the house is named the Maile Treehouse, because you are surrounded by foliage...you feel like you're the only people on the island. If you're looking for excitement and nightlife, I probably wouldn't recommend staying in Volcano...this place is meant for the worlds quiet souls. With that said, it's a bit of a hike to get anywhere, except for the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, which is fairly close. However, Leslie left a book of "to do" suggestions and local highlights that may strike your fancy, which we found super helpful. Overall, after two weeks in Hawaii, staying on multiple island and in multiple hotels/rentals, the Maile Treehouse in Volcano, was by far our favorite stop! So, thank you Leslie! We hope to come back again someday! Mahalo!

Sincerely,
Your friends from Ohio, David & Sara

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill Z
Tualatin, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect Tropical Hideaway”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This place is amazing. If it's available, rent it. The photos show the house accurately: it is clean, comfortable, spacious, and utterly delightful. The kitchen is well-equipped, the bed is insanely comfy, and the soaker tub and fireplace are most welcome after a day of hiking in the national park. The lanai is the perfect spot for dinner -- we ended getting takeout and bringing it home because it was such a lovely spot to sit and stare at the garden below. There are windows all around the house (and no curtains), but I never found privacy to be an issue. Quite the opposite: I was constantly spying on the birds that were flitting through the trees. My best moment here was standing in the shower with the windows open, hot water pouring over me, and watching and hearing apapane fly around the trees just outside. Truly magical!

Leslie is a delight to work with--answers emails and even texts very quickly.

I have already recommended this place to friends and family for their next vacation, and if I ever return to the Big Island, this is where I want to stay,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view fro the shower!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$185
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing