We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oh My, What a Lovely Change of Pace!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Artist Cottage,A Place with Heart,Warmth & Charm.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Artist Cottage,A Place with Heart,Warmth & Charm.
Christmas At The Artist Cottage Relax & Injoy the songs of the native birds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
The Artist Cottage,A Place with Heart,Warmth & Charm.
Christmas At The Artist Cottage
Relax & Injoy the songs of the native birds
Front Porch
Full Size Futon Sleeper Sofa for extra guest
Bedroom with New Queen Bed
Bathroom/mini spa
Guest in Hot Tub Spa/Seats 6 guest
Hot Tub Spa
Hot Tub
Punalu'u Black Sand Beach
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Forest Path
Beautiful Surrounding Rainforest
Volcano Village
Cozy Fireplace to Injoy on the cool nights
Dinning seats 4 plus LapTop Computer
Lap Top Computer with WiFi internet
The hand carved Dolpins Greet You
Carved from a Mango Tree
Past Guest
Warm Cozy Fireplace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Volcano, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SnowBop
San Francisco
1 review
“Oh My, What a Lovely Change of Pace!”
Reviewed 16 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Aloha,

Couldn't have asked for more. Makes me wonder why anyone would rate this place with anything less than four or five stars! Thank you to our host for a most pleasurable and relaxing stay on 2/13/11. Hope to return for a longer stay. An amazingly comfy remote controlled futon in the living room, AND a heavenly bed with a flat screen TV with satellite TV in the bedroom? Plus everything you could ask for in the way of toiletries, etc., in the bathroom, in addition to groceries and a laptop with Wi-Fi in the kitchen? WOW, THERE WAS SO MUCH TO LOVE ABOUT THE ENTIRE EXPERIENCE!!!!!

P.S. Of course, being greeted by Spicy, the 18 yr. old cat, was a nice treat for me since I left my own critters behind with a pet sitter to go on this week long adventure! (For those of you allergic to felines, not to worry, no cats were ever inside the cottage -- and you will only be greeted by Spicy or White Socks IF you call for the kitty to come to you.) =^..^=

Mahalo!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 November 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
california
Reviewed 10 November 2010 for a stay in October 2010

Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
best1007
Redmond, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our stay at The Cottage when visiting the Volcano on the Big Island”
Reviewed 13 October 2010 for a stay in May 2010
1
person found this review helpful

The hostess Bonnie was very friendly. The one thing that was most suprising to us, however, was that we were actually staying at a cottage that was not necessarily only a rental property, but someone's regular place of residence. The closet in the bedroom did not have any room for us to hang up our own clothes and there were many things in the house that belonged to the owners, so we did not really have a place to put our stuff during our stay; consequently, we kept our clothes in our suitcases. The hostess left a lot of snack type food for us, and she brought us fresh fruit every day - that was nice. We had our privacy and it was a nice place for us, as it was close to the attractions that we wanted to visit on The Big Island. Renters just need to be aware that they are staying at someone's "house" so it is very different than a hotel or a rental condo.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Young singles Older travelers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2010
Thank You for your review,We just want to say that the Warm jackets and sweaters and rain gear hanging in the closet are for guest that might not have brought for the Cool nights and rain that we get up here in the rainforest.Warm Aloha's Bob & Bonnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Reviewed 20 August 2009 for a stay in July 2009
3
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing