We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
539
50
11
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
539
50
11
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews forest house guest cottage outdoor shower japanese soaking tub granola rainforest retreat the big island bamboo cottage fruit owners peter unique experience national park breakfast basket our honeymoon the cottages bagels kona coffee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
547 - 552 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2007

We stayed here for two nights in the forest hale room. Very nice surroundings in the middle of the rain forest. Very hippy-ish influences and very clean cabin. No traces of any rain forest critters in the cabin!

The hot tub looked nice - but it was shared between the other guests and we were too tired to use it!

Very open views at night to view the stars.

Obviously at 4k feet above sea level it was going to rain. And it did. Take rain proof clothing.

Also - there's no chance of food after 8:30pm. Avoid the Lava Cafe we found them to be exceptionally rude and unhelpful on more than one ocassion. The Thai restaurant on the other hand was excellent.

PS They've lost the remote control for the fire in this cabin. The on switch is hidden behind it to the left!

Date of stay: April 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icklecaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 April 2007

For anyone looking to get away from it all - this place is it. We stayed in the Forest House - an octagonal cottage of our own with many windows so that you experienced the feel of being surrounded by rainforest. Skylights above the bed so that we could view the stars.

Beautiful touches to the room - detailing was amazing - from dinner plates and cutlery to beautiful artwork and keepsakes around the room. This place is wonderful for a romantic getaway or for a retreat away from it all.

Cool, rained a little bit each evening while we were there. Close to Volcano National Park. Half hour from Hilo and 2 hours from Kona.

See their website for great photos of the place.

Date of stay: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank osiris9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2007

While the cabins at the Rainforest Retreat are nice, we were disappointed with the way we were treated during our stay. When making the reservation, we requested a crib for our young son. The owners acknowledged our request in their response, so we were surprised to arrive and be told that, "we don't have a crib; I don't know why we would have told you that we did." No solution was found other than to have our son sleep on the floor. Since we had paid full price at the time of the reservation, finding other accomodations wasn't an option. My complaint is not that they don't provide cribs--that is certainly their right--but that they acknowledged our request, charged us the full fee, and didn't bother to tell us that there was no crib availability. A letter to the owners yielded no response.

Agree with the other writers that the breakfasts are nothing special.

Date of stay: February 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank exc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2007

The owners, Peter and Kathryn Golden, handbuilt these cabins themselves and it shows. Our cabin, Forest Hale, just glowed with polished wood, original artwork, playful touches, a gas fireplace, a CD collections and player, stacks of Hawaiiana books, a DVD player and movies, electric tea kettle, incense, luxe robes, upholstered rocking chairs by the fireplace, quilts, but most of all the views out into the rainforest. I felt like I was inside a terarium looking out onto giant ferns. Then there is also the private hot tub (complete with rubber duckies) which we jumped right into after the long ride from Kona. I loved being surprised by all the pieces of artwork placed thoughtfully on the garden paths and in unexpected places inside the cabin. We never saw the other guests, except for their cars, so don't worry about privacy. This place keeps the real world at bay, and makes you want to loll in bed all day listening to the rain on the roof and the snap of the fire. Don't worry about breakfasts, this is a place meant to be savored, not gobbled. I was initially hesitant to book this place, as the website looked too beautiful to be true. It is true! I don't think I would recommend bringing children here, it is not kid proofed at all, and something is bound to be broken.

Date of stay: February 2007
2  Thank leafpeeper98
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Volcano Rainforest Retreat the first two nights of our honeymoon, and we couldn't have asked for a better place to begin our new life together.

We stayed in the Sanctuary, which was beautiful, peaceful, and clean. We enjoyed the outdoor Japanese bath and the little touches in the room.

It was the most relaxing, natural place we've ever stayed. I would highly recommend it and would go there again if I ever got the chance!

Date of stay: August 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ksij
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews