We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stop looking - this is the one”
other travellers have booked this property
Onomea Bay Cliffside Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Onomea Bay Cliffside Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Onomea Bay Cliffside Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Papaikou, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
CSM92084
Vista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stop looking - this is the one”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What a great get-away! Our experience at the cottage was absolutely amazing, and the view is incomparable. From the back deck (preferably while enjoying the Jacuzzi), you see nothing but trees, the gorgeous ocean bay, and an occasional gecko. The property is located 10-12 minutes north of Hilo, so it's somewhat isolated, but about a quarter-mile off the main road. The cottage itself was immaculate, and very "open-air". We can't think of one thing we would change about this property or our stay here. Only one bedroom, perfect for two people. A wonderful experience at the jewel of the Big Island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky053
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Private cottage with panoramic ocean view”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This place was phenomenal! Its beautiful decor and amenities made it feel like a real home and not just a vacation rental. Photos on web sites show the space as it really is. The one thing hard to tell was if there are any houses around. There are not! You enter the drive off the end of a cul-de-sac and pass a small caretaker’s cottage on the way to the house, on the same property. And then the view is 180 degrees over the cliff. No houses visible from anywhere unless you venture out on to the grassy yard and look back toward the caretaker’s cottage. Careful thought was put into the site plan of the home to maximize ocean views and preserve privacy.
The hot tub was clean and well maintained. We used it every night to soothe sore muscles after hiking in Volcanoes Park and elsewhere. Fortunately we had sunny weather most of the week and enjoyed brilliant stars off the deck and sun and moon rises over the ocean. Breathtakingly beautiful!
The kitchen was well equipped. Grocery stores are only about 15 minutes away in Hilo. The charcoal grill was a little frustrating; a gas grill would be better. Eating out on the covered patio was a pleasure both for breakfasts and dinners. The latter was enhanced by dimmable lighting, as the sun set around 6:00 in December. No mosquitoes here so the outdoors could be utilized at any time. Geckos will visit indoors and out.
We stayed two different places during our two week stay on the island and would choose this place to come back to on our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The charcoal grill (would have liked gas grill)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wylieek
Wetter, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of the...”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

highlights of our Hawaii vaccation.The place is beautiful,unique,clean and stylish.Best accomodation so far!Thanks for the experience!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alease142...
alease1420
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in this magnificent house for 4 nights while enjoying the Big Island. The location near Hilo, but out of the way of other tourists was perfect. We were able to explore the whole island with this home as our base. When we arrived at the property we were pleasently surprised by the quality of the furnishings, appliances and amenities and blown away by the view. We even rearranged our plans to simply spend more time sitting on the back porch! The view for sunrise was spectacular. We were even treated to dolphins on our last morning. The stars each night were gorgeous. I dont think I have ever seen as many. Some may be wary about the lack of AC. As a southerner, I know I was. It was not needed. Each night we slept with the windows open and enjoyed the breeze and the tree frogs! Like others, I hesitated to write a review because we want this home to be our little secret too! We hope to return again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View!!
Liked least: Nothing1
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffrey r
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“bliss personified literally breathless.”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

there is not one negative thing about the cottage!
The amenities are second to none, the views will literally take your breath away. from the fully stocked kitchen to the outdoor shower, the gorgeous bathroom to the comfy bed. the king size hammock and the perpetual tradewinds. the resident cardinal and the geckos. the hot tub views and the PRIVACY!

We have stayed at vacation rentals around the world and this is the best. you will not believe you get all of this for what you pay. i'm still gushing about it 4 months later like i was there yesterday.

Practically speaking - rent a car as there is nothing close. {ask what they have on the lot. we got a camaro conv. on-site for 41$ day. online price 93$ day}
Post office - 10 minutes north but buy your post cards at the cheesy store next door. Fun place.
Little town just up from post office with great cafes
Hilo Farmers Market is fun but $$$$$

You won't regret staying here only that you have to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$200
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing