We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Onomea Bay Cliffside Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Onomea Bay Cliffside Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Onomea Bay Cliffside Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Papaikou, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
wylieek
Wetter, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the...”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

highlights of our Hawaii vaccation.The place is beautiful,unique,clean and stylish.Best accomodation so far!Thanks for the experience!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alease142...
alease1420
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in this magnificent house for 4 nights while enjoying the Big Island. The location near Hilo, but out of the way of other tourists was perfect. We were able to explore the whole island with this home as our base. When we arrived at the property we were pleasently surprised by the quality of the furnishings, appliances and amenities and blown away by the view. We even rearranged our plans to simply spend more time sitting on the back porch! The view for sunrise was spectacular. We were even treated to dolphins on our last morning. The stars each night were gorgeous. I dont think I have ever seen as many. Some may be wary about the lack of AC. As a southerner, I know I was. It was not needed. Each night we slept with the windows open and enjoyed the breeze and the tree frogs! Like others, I hesitated to write a review because we want this home to be our little secret too! We hope to return again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View!!
Liked least: Nothing1
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffrey r
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“bliss personified literally breathless.”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

there is not one negative thing about the cottage!
The amenities are second to none, the views will literally take your breath away. from the fully stocked kitchen to the outdoor shower, the gorgeous bathroom to the comfy bed. the king size hammock and the perpetual tradewinds. the resident cardinal and the geckos. the hot tub views and the PRIVACY!

We have stayed at vacation rentals around the world and this is the best. you will not believe you get all of this for what you pay. i'm still gushing about it 4 months later like i was there yesterday.

Practically speaking - rent a car as there is nothing close. {ask what they have on the lot. we got a camaro conv. on-site for 41$ day. online price 93$ day}
Post office - 10 minutes north but buy your post cards at the cheesy store next door. Fun place.
Little town just up from post office with great cafes
Hilo Farmers Market is fun but $$$$$

You won't regret staying here only that you have to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B.C., Canada
Reviewed 20 May 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TX USA
Reviewed 19 May 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing