We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly a peaceful and tranquil Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Deluxe Rainforest Suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Deluxe Rainforest Suite
Deluxe Pillow Top King Bed
Rainforest Suite
Sunrise at Welcome to Peace & Tranquility
View from your room
Enjoy your morning coffee on the lanai
Royal Palm Driveway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Hartland...
Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly a peaceful and tranquil Retreat”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Peace and Tranquility for two wonderful weeks. If you are looking for a quiet sanctuary out in the country as we were, then this is the place for you. David is accommodating and willing to share knowledge of the area and useful travel tips for sightseeing and dining. The bedroom is spacious, with good ventilation from the tradewinds and the bathroom is both spacious and beautiful. Bathing in rainwater was a definite plus for our skin. We really enjoyed our two-week stay and the snorkelling close by was a highlight.. However, with three dogs on the premise you need to be okay with dogs being around.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoomisStr...
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little Gem in Pahoa”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed with David for several nights; he was an interesting, generous and entertaining host.

Our room was clean and spacious; he even had fresh cut flowers in the room awaiting our arrival. Breakfast was delightful....who includes breakfast anymore?

On top of being a good host, he was full of knowledge on the local area....He was always willing to provide useful tips.

You can't go wrong by stating with David and his three cute dogs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: We had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yumiko H
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Sanctuary!”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The property is absolutely beautiful - overlooking the ocean. It is a sanctuary on earth! My husband and I stayed for three nights in the rain forest suite and enjoyed everything about our stay.

The house is only about 40 minutes from Hilo airport, but seems far from the bustle of civilization. Still, there are some nice restaurants nearby and we enjoyed delicious dinners every night.

David is the sweetest host. Every morning, he prepared tea, fresh Hawaiian fruit and juice for us. He is very knowledgeable about the island and whatever he recommended for sightseeing, dining and so forth were just right.

The volcano is just 45 minutes away. We enjoyed hiking the trail and dining at Volcano House.

Every night I enjoyed a hot "rain forest bath." The bath room is so spacious, beautiful and tranquil. The water is purified rain water and my skin became so soft after only three nights. All in all, we absolutely enjoyed our stay at this peaceful place with a great host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the living room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
704marci
Newport Beach, California
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing Hidden Gem in Paradise!”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This home was so beautiful and inviting; the pictures don't do it justice! The room was so zen and spacious; with sliding glass windows overlooking the grounds and ocean. The bathroom was amazing- I took a bath in the soaking tub everyday overlooking the incredible views. You couldn't ask for a better host than David. I would definitely stay here again, and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard T
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Anniversary to Remember”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The property is as beautiful as the pictures. I soaked in tub one evening and it was so relaxing. My wife enjoyed taking a bath under the large rain head. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed waking up to the beautiful sunrises over the ocean. David was a great host. We enjoyed his home and his company...having multiple conversations over wine and other libations. The breakfast was fresh fruit with coffee and/or tea. David sent us to his favorite snorkel and swimming spots. We also had a great dinner at a local restaurant that David suggested in his town of Pahoa. Mahalo and aloha.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable bed.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing