We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Enjoy the beauty of a organic farm and three bedroom redwood home set in a lush tropical jungle!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the beauty of a organic farm and three bedroom redwood home set in a lush tropical jungle!
Huge sunny front yard overlooking the jungle Jungle Farmhouse on 2.3 acres
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Enjoy the beauty of a organic farm and three bedroom redwood home set in a lush tropical jungle!
Huge sunny front yard overlooking the jungle
Jungle Farmhouse on 2.3 acres
Lots of seating areas on porches.
Parking area to view the active lava flow is just 15 minutes from the farm.
View from kitchen of living room.
Complete kitchen with everything you need.
Open floor plan.
The 2nd bedroom with Queen bed with antique dresser and desk.
Bath features slate tile and tub and shower
Enjoy the optional solar heated hot outdoor shower.
Private drive to farmhouse
Beautiful water gardens
Beautiful edible gardens (Passion Fruit Blossom)
Water gardens with pond
Our tiki overlooks the pond
Tropical flowers abound (Red torch ginger)
Enjoy native plants in garden (Hawaiian Taro)
View of beautiful jungle from Lanai
Ducks enjoying the pond.
Our ducks will greet you.
The pond.
Taro growing throughout the gardens.
Our baby ducklings
Our baby goats.
Mama goat with baby.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stferret
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The Jungle Farmhouse was an ideal place to stay during our trip to Hawaii. The place was clean, well maintained, and had a lot of charm. The owners were helpful with their suggestions and very accommodating, offering up the use of their snorkeling equipment, laundry facilities, etc.
We enjoyed visiting with the two goats, watching the interactions of the chickens with the ducks and neighboring rooster, and the joyful excitement of the dogs. Nights were dark and peaceful (other than the sounds of the Coqui frogs), and it was nice to have lodging away from the dense population hubs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house gecko
Liked least: coqui frogs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie_B...
Springfield, VA
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Hated to Leave”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed our first 3 nights on the island at the Jungle Farmhouse. What a wonderful place to wind down and actually feel like you're on vacation. Ducks, chickens, goats, dogs, and fresh fruit hanging on the trees all around prove you are in someplace special. The sound of the rain and the frogs make the best night time soundtrack ever, so soothing and so easy to lull you to sleep. From the minute we arrive, Matthew and Danny made us feel at home, offering us fruit, fresh eggs, use of the washer/dryer, ideas for dinner, etc. From the JF, we had a great base of operations to enjoy Kaleo's, the Red Route, the Sunday market-which IS NOT to be missed, the grocery store, etc. Everything was within reach, but everything melted away once you were back on the porch and listening to the frogs, watching the goats, or just looking at the birds. We slept well all 3 nights and were very sad to leave for Kona. Pahoa and the JF just feel so live and vibrant and apart; the dryness and traffic of the west side of Hawai'i feel less like vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the porch
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence3...
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed in the Jungle Farmhouse with our 3 kids (3, 5 and 7 years) and for them and for us it was paradise: right in the jungle with chicken, goats, ducks, dogs cats and of course geckos and of course the osund of the coquis :-) The Farmhouse is decorated with a lot of taste and you are feeling like home immediately. The location of the farmhouse is great for discovering Puna district: it was the side of Big island we preferred: away from the main tourist areas you are living real hawaii every day! Thanks to the owner who welcomed us so openhearted!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig T
San Rafael, California
Level 6 Contributor
869 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Jungle house for four days during the Merrie Monarch festival in Hilo. We absolutely loved it! Danny and Matthew have a real winner here. Very tastefully decorated and a really comfortable house in a great location. You are within an hour of Volcano National Park, a half hour of wonderful Hilo, and a few minutes from the most Hawaiian of places, Kalapana (go to Uncle Robert's kava bar). We had farm fresh eggs everyday from their many chickens. A full kitchen and a nice grill is right there. 3 very nice bedrooms and a full bath and half bath. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, comfortable home.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FeatherFa...
Abq
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise....”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Ecstatic about our stay @ the Jungle House. Old Hawaiian Style abode, with kimono style stitched curtains, 1950's style furnishings with modern amenities. Make sure to check out the cupboards and the collection of dishes, I loved the unique styles yet another addition to the the quaintness and unique style of the Jungle House.

2 min from Pahoa the Jungle House sits on the highest point of the property with a beautiful view of the property allowing a rich intake of the luscious greenery of many shapes and forms that surround the house.

The enclosed Lanai was agreed upon as our favorite room in the house. The lanai sits on the back side of the house giving yet another breathtaking view. ( I suggest using the out door shower under the lanai.... there is nothing like a shower in the middle of the jungle!)

Did I forget to mention the Jungle House and it's beloved owners Matt and Danny hosted a cocktail party of nearly 50 people. During our visit we were able to celebrate the marriage of our sister. Danny and Matt were gracious not only to allow us to use their property they even helped set it up! Spectacular!!

Do yourself a favor and make it easy. Stay at the Jungle House, it is in a great beautiful SAFE location. You can easily make this location your home base and travel along the Eastern side of the island.

Mahalo~ Danny, Matt, Olive and Doob

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;