We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice house in a residential location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of House
Back of House Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Front of House
Back of House
Living Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Master Bedroom, Queen
Second Bedroom, Queen
Third Bedroom, Twins
PIneapple and Side Yard
Side Yard
Flowers in the Yard
Kahakai Coastline Park
Kahakai Coastline Park
Lava Cone and Rainbow, Volcano National Park
Night Watching of Lava Flowing into Ocean
Old Town Pahoa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jerry9146
Marshall, VA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice house in a residential location.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We liked our stay here very much. It was a good location for the many attractions we visited. Owner was easy to deal with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice and quiet. Close to many attractions.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne M
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lovely big house to relax in.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 5 days while we explored the area. Every thing was a short drive away and it was lovely to come home to a nice big house to relax in. Lovely big living area. Lots of frogs to listen to in the evenings just lovely. No AC but lots of fans. Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size of house and price
Liked least: no AC so a little hot at times
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMRambo
Columbus, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband, our sons (20 and 14), and I stayed at Don's and Carla's home in Mahimahi St. from 3/29 - 4/4/14. From the time we arrived, we felt right at home. Don was quick to address all my questions and concerns prior to arrival and provided easy to follow directions to the house from the Hilo Airport as well as great tips for places to shop for groceries and go out to eat. The home was outfitted with everything our family needed for the beach (coolers, snorkling gear, plenty of beach towels, chairs, etc.). It was nice to come home to a house (rather than a hotel room) in a quiet neighborhood at the end of a busy day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like home
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDMONTON
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glenn O
New Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Comfortable house for our my wife, her Mom and our two Teenage daughters. Plenty of space. Safe neighborhood with great neighbors. Always got quick, clear responses from Don on any communications.

House is 45 minutes from the National Park, 25 minutes to snorkeling at Kapoho Tide Pools. Make sure to enjoy the Makuu Farmers Market on Sunday Mornings - Excellent local food! Also, take the early morning boat tour to see lava flowing in the ocean. The boat launch is only about 20 minutes away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of room for a reasonable price.
Liked least: Takes about 2.5 hours to get to the Kona side from here.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$95
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing