We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to unwind!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Peaceful Private Rain Forest Getaway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peaceful Private Rain Forest Getaway
driveway leading up to the cabin back of cabin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Peaceful Private Rain Forest Getaway
driveway leading up to the cabin
back of cabin
deck
view from back deck
living room with couch/futon bed
lots of DVD's to watch
queen size bed 
note- you need to climb in from the bottom
driveway to cabin
driveway to cabin
driveway to cabin
foliage
foliage
bell tree
homegrown bananas
south point
green sand beach
black sand beach
Hawaiian hawksbill turtle on black sand beach
windmills on south point road
lava going into the ocean
lava going into the ocean
volcano glow
halema'uma'u crater
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Naalehu, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pattiv73
Loveland, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to unwind!!”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We loved staying in the cabin! It was so relaxing to look out the big windows and see the beauty of the rain forest, birds, etc. Connie is very helpful, and set the cabin up so that it is very easy to just walk in, put a few groceries in the fridge, and get going on your vacation! It was under an hour to drive to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, and we went there a couple of times (since your admission gets you in for a week). The nearby towns had groceries and restaurants, so services were not very far away. Our only complaint: the queen bed is HARD! We realized the mattress was set on a wooden platform, so it wasn't very soft when it was missing the box springs. My poor husband had to sleep on the recliner.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2015
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the cabin. I do my best to make it as comfortable as I can for my guests. I'm surprised you and your husband thought the bed was hard. I've never had anyone complain about it before. I'm so sorry your husband had to sleep on the recliner!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickisnot...
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, sustainable - PERFECT!!”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed in this wonderful little cottage for three nights while we wandered the south part of the island. Some perks: private, located IN a beautiful rainforest, collects and filters rain water, completely solar powered, well stocked (soap, shampoo, dishes, condiments, towels), CLEAN, very reasonably priced, and last but not least, the owner (Connie). I will absolutely contact Connie if I'm ever in the area again and definitely recommend this great little gem in the rainforest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherylavo...
escondido
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lush Rain forest tropical setting”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in July 2014

I only was ablt to spend one night at this delightful getaway but I truley enjoyed it. the beautiful folliage was a joy! The house was comfortable, clean and set up just right for me. I can't wait to go back! Connie was a great host!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The llocation
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Retreat”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Off the grid and the beaten path on the Big Island of Hawaii, lies this secret jewel of a cottage. In the jungle of Hawaii, this cottage relies on catchment water, and solar power.. The system worked very well, without leaving one to think you'd abondoned civization. The owner is a most gracious hostess, helping with suggestions when needed, and allowing maximum privacy the rest of the time. The cottage back yard adjoins the new state park, so you feel like you've rented 10,000 acres. Food and entertainmentis fairly close by. My all time favorite place to stay on the big island.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piratejim...
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hawaiian getaway”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Connie was very helpful and the cabin was great! The land behind is a State preserve so there is nobody behind you. Halfway between Hilo & Kona made it central located and right near the black sand beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing