We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location for exploring the Hilo side”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
All teak furniture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
All teak furniture
Cable tv and wifi internet
All rooms alike, soft beds, TV Bamboo/Pele/Aloha and Mahina Suites
All rooms alike, soft beds, TV Bamboo/Pele/Aloha and Mahina Suites
Step out to garden - teak rug
Jalousie window - tiled stylish bathroom
Spacious bathroom
Comfortable seat - Plush towels
Spacious bathroom
Bathroom
Entrance to Multi purpose room
Small appliances
Magentic cook top with special pots
Dishes
Other amenities
Washer and dryer
Microwave pizza oven and refrigerator
Outdoor fan, grill, chill and watch stars
Pergola and garden
Garden
Garden
Pergola
Pergola
Pergola
Pergola
Pergola
Pergola
Front view of home
Pergola
Kitchen
Driveway
Driveway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Keaau, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Stefan K
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location for exploring the Hilo side”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My wife and I chose Seekers' Hive as a base for exploring Mauna Kea and the volcano national park. It's perfectly placed, some 25 mins from the airport and perhaps 40 mins from the volcano national park. We didn't read the provided route instructions properly and when we arrived we did so along an unpaved long road - which turned out to be unnecessary, as you can enter from the opposite direction. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and the property itself sits in well manicured grounds. Our room was actually a suite - two rooms with a bathroom in between. A shared kitchen and outdoor eating area completed the setup. We would not hesitate staying here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Thank you for choosing us. We appreciated your company. Regards Jay and Vijay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LENCHA
WALNUT, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very serene and clean”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This place is outside Hilo, but close enough, the property is nicely manicured and the shared kitchen has everything you need to cook if you want. The owners are a very nice couple and very friendly. Would come back again

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
Aloha to everyone in the family,
Looking forward to hosting you all again. Best regards. Karais
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin C
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts, excellent property”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Using Seekers Hive as a central point to explore the volcanoes, Hilo to Mauna Kea and Puna was a fantastic choice.

The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. A shared kitchen provided us with everything we needed for wonderful breakfasts and evening meals. The outdoor eating area is perhaps the jewel in the crown of this accommodation.

Kay and Vijay were great hosts, extremely welcoming and helpful with our questions. An English family of four have never felt more welcome so far from home. Would highly recommend.

Thank you so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
Thank you and do visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussiechi...
New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Frog call”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our unit was out in country near the volcano which was great. At night we could hear the frogs calling which was nice. Shared kitchen with others no problem. There was a washing machine in the kitchen which was handy but had limited hours you could use it. Had to wash dishes in the laundry sink. Bed was very comfortable but there was no curtains on the frosted louvered window so woke early. Outdoor eating area was large and pleasant.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
Aloha
I am glad to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our bed, shared kitchen and the large eating pergola area. There are many means to cook like microwave cum oven, magnetic cook top and grill which you both enjoyed very much. Doing laundry is only "suggested hours" - it is to accommodate guests to have good rest and not to be disturbed; nothing is enforced. Having laundry is an additional creature comfort. Sink is for washing dishes only. We provide the first class facility that is clean and extremely affordable. We are centrally located; volcano park is easily accessible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanon-MO
Waynesville, Missouri
1 review
“Excellent property and people!!”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I can not say nothing but World Class Service from Kay & Vijay!!

From the very first time that we corresponded via Trip Advisor to the time that we received our deposit back, Kay & Vijay were upfront, honest and polite. Kay & Vijay was very prompt in returning email inquiries. Plus, they are the nicest couple too!!

Everything that was described on Trip Advisor was exactly what we got!! The property is even more beautiful in person than what the pictures describe. The location of the rental to the main Keaau highway is close, but you can not hear the traffic.This location is only about 15-20 minutes from Hilo too. The directions from either airport on the island and additional information provided about the area were spot on. These instructions and need to know items were very helpful, even to someone that is familiar with the area. Kay & Vijay were professional and personally showed us all amenities available to us during our stay at the time of check in.

The vacation rental is brand new and it is just beautiful! The property and rental was extremely clean and very well kept. A lot of pride and love goes into this property!! Again, all the information that was provided about this property is the main reason that I booked this rental. Clear and concise information on what the property offered, the pictures-everything is even prettier in person, to the map, etc.

I have nothing but positive things to say about our week long stay here. We will be returning in the future!!

Thank you for making our time in Hawaii a great one!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
Thank you; do come again when you have some down time to enjoy the beauty and aloha of your land. Best regards to both of you and thank you for all that you do for our great nation. Jay karai
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing