We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect secluded oceanfront rental in paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
A great place to relax
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A great place to relax
This salt water pool is 42' long. Entry to property.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
A great place to relax
This salt water pool is 42' long.
Entry to property.
2nd floor bedroom
2nd upstiars bedroom
View from 2nd floor bedroom window.
Living/Dining area. Cabinets are custom made using wood from a nearby Mango tree.
View from dining area.  All 4 of the units TV's can access internet channels.
2nd floor living room.
Lotus bedroom has sitting area with coffee table, desk and chair, dresser and flat screen TV
All bathrooms have a tub with shower and washlet
Another view from Lotus bedroom.
Not just the view, trade wind coming off the Pacific feel wonderful.
All headboards and cabinets and most art work created by local artists.
One of bath room has ocean view from the window
Dresser and mirror made by local artisan using locally grown mango tree.
Walkway to the sunrise deck
One place to take a nap
Upper pond and waterfall
Lower pond.
Lower pond with various water lilies
Fishing at sunrise, just outside of property
Sunrise color in Winter season
Night blooming cactus flower is fragrant in the early morning.
11/1/2015 A baby whale put on a show.  Whale season is from early December until the end of March.
The baby practices his moves.
Then his mother came up and they took turns diving and jumping. (1/11/2015)
Coastline in front of property
More coastline.
Sunset view from spa.
Swimming pool at Sunset
The pool's medallion.
View of the pond's night blooming lilies.
One good way to begin an Hawaiian honeymoon
Photo taken from the pool deck.
Zen garden in Winter. Waves can be quite high in Winter season
Stroll garden to see various exotic flowers and enjoy the fragrances of paradise
Outside cooking area has Ocean and Garden views
Outside cooking area in the evening.
Trailway to Shipman's beach
Shipman's beach
Shipman beach is about 80 minutes walk
November 2014, Kilauea Volcano Lava reached the edge of Pahoa
One month old lava
Lava came through the fence and stopped
Pahoa transfer station is open to Public to view the recent lava flow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Keaau, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah B
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect secluded oceanfront rental in paradise”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Way off the beaten path right outside of Hilo you will find this vacation rental with stunning views and incredible landscaping. The money shot of this property is definite the infinity pool overlooking the ocean and bluff made of lava rock. The house is surrounded by multiple zen gardens, fruit trees of all types, a lily pond, outdoor kitchen and walking path. My family and I stayed here for 4 nights and we were in paradise. The owner Dan is so accommodating, helping us when we needed it, offering fruit from his trees and even loaned us a drill so we could drink fresh coconut water. Him and his wife have done an unbelievable job with the landscaping on the property, the design of each room and are meticulous in the details of every aspect of our stay. This was a truly special experience. I recommend it for people who want to do a lot of exploring in Hilo and who want a bit of seclusion.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jT0873
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

During our (first) stay on the Big Island, we stayed at three places. This was the first. It was so wonderful, we spent the rest of our trip wishing we had booked more time here. Our other stops (Hawi, Kona) did not compare. We had the top unit of two units. While we were here the bottom one was empty so we had the place to ourselves. The owners live on the property, but we hardly ever saw them. It is a beautiful place, incredibly clean and new, every detail taken care of. Quiet. Incredible views. Beautiful gardens. This is a great location for a quiet, mature family. We hope to return here some day.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy S
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slice of Paradise - In Paradise”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The place was exactly like the pictures show. The condo was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. The grounds were beautiful. The owner of the property was very helpful with all my questions and had great ideas for places to go. I was there with my Husband and Dad. Very relaxing for all of us - just what we needed. If you are looking for a Slice of Paradise while visiting Paradise - I would highly recommend a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful setting
Liked least: the neighbors barking dog
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelbySol...
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wonderful Beautiful Peaceful Place”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Picture this a beautifully landscaped (I believe over 200 different plants) on a bluff overlooking the ocean, with a walking trail in front of it. We saw turtles and whales :) But it gets better picture a beautiful infinity pool overlooking all of this beauty with a Japanese soaking tub. They also have an amazing out door kitchen for cooking. The beds were incredible -- we are trying to get the name and brand to buy some for home.

Close to Hilo but even closer to the little town of Pahua (?) which has incredible breakfasts there. Oh if you want a massage go to the Hilo Massage Academy soooo reasonably priced and very well done :)

I definitely would like to come back in summer to see the place in full bloom. Picture I posted does not do it justice -- it was an amazing well care for and loved property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool the hot tub the gardens and the view
Liked least: The lighting at night on motion sensor that turned off to soon.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twomanyba...
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing in Paradise”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 3 nights in Paradise, coming from the Kona side, and it was not enough time! The room and grounds were simply beautiful. We sat on the lanai in our spare time listening to the waves, see the sunrise and even seeing aid of dolphins swim by! We sat on the cliff and saw several sea turtles "posing" for us when they emerged from the sea for air. The pool was so relaxing, as was the entire stay. It was a perfect way to end our vacation. My husband did a shore dive with Nautilus Center in Hilo and saw 32 sea turtles! We drove and ventured all over the southeastern part of the island, seeing tree tunnels that put Kauai's to shame! We also ate a wonderful meal at Cafe Pesto! This is a true treasure and we will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, seclusion and quaintness.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing