We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Cronies”

Cronies Bar & Grill
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 04/14
20:00
Ranked #24 of 245 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 27 February 2021

Going to cronies is a bit like pulling on that old comfortable sweater you immediately feel relaxed and at ease. The staff are warm and friendly and attentive at just the right level. The service is fast and efficient The food hits the spot Been in for lunch recently a couple of times. The socially distanced tables made it look a bit sparse but didn’t affect the vibe it was still cheerful joyful even.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank keithf772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2021

Visited on a trip to big island, it's a dive bar, I don't usually expect much from dive bars but I have to say this place was great, the staff were not very friendly but the service was good and the food, while not up to 5 star quality, was perfectly acceptable

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leichsputtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2020

This is the the locals eat. Nothing fancy but we both had burgers and they were good. Friendly staff and good service

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Winger63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2020

I really do love Cronies' burgers. Way better flavor than Burger joint or Ponds IMO. Ordered a double works burger to go. Got home and there were no mushrooms or sprouts. Such a bummer! Also, they raised their prices. A double works burger is now just shy $25 with NO side. I ordered by phone, the guy who took my order failed to say that side fries are not included with burgers anymore, and also didn't tell me my total. After I paid and left I was puzzled of how I blew $30 on a burger. Went online and found their new menu with the new prices... A burger joint should def not charge for a small side of fries when you're already buying a pricey burger.

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank DGventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2020

Went last night for apps. The apps were ok. The place is decent. Good to watch sports. One waitress passed us off to a rookie who was super nice. We tipped her good cause the one that passed us off was thinking their having a beer n apps n wont get a good tip. Wrong move. We might fo back for lunch today to try other food.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank aihiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cronies Bar & Grill also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cronies Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.