We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another great visit”
other travellers have booked this property
Entry gazebo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entry gazebo
Dining in gazebo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Entry gazebo
Dining in gazebo
Mosaic floor tiles in kitchen stove area
Interior door
Exterior
Tropical garden view to gazebo
House veranda view
Front yard access for guests
tropical landscaping
Welcome sign
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Canuckgre...
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We’re just back from our third visit to Hale Kawehi in Hilo. Hilo’s an interesting and different place to mix in with time on the west side, and this year we spent four nights, occupying our time with some swims on the beaches outside of town, a trip up to the volcano (which included a very worthwhile evening Hula show at the Park visitor centre), a movie at the old Palace theatre, some music at the Hilo Town tavern, coffee and treats at a couple of the many nifty coffee places downtown, a visit to the Plantation museum a little ways south of Hilo, etc. Obviously we wouldn’t have booked Hale Kawehi again unless we really liked it, and we were not disappointed. As we said in our previous review: ‘This was a wonderful base for exploring the Hilo area. The house is large and very well-equipped. It is very well set up for spending lots of time on the spacious and private lanai, which is just outside the kitchen doors and surrounded by Kawehi’s lovely garden. (There’s also a great verendah around the side of the house, with lots of comfie chairs.)We like good places to read at night, and there were several here, including a marvellous chair built for two. It has the feel of what it is, an old family home that is full of many interesting historical objects. But as others have noted, the best thing about this rental is Kawehi herself. She is warm, engaging, and very generous.’ Thanks so much, Kawehi; we hope to be back for another visit before too long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beerlover...
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lots of space, comfort and collectibles - Old style Hawaiian charm”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in Hilo in Sept 2015 and booked this property through AirBnB property 883446.
From booking to arrival, communication with host by email was prompt and clear, including instructions on how to find the property. We got a friendly greeting and were shown around this impressive and elaborately decorated property. We were immediately taken by how much living space there was for just two people. There are two verandas, with outdoor seating and tables on each, one with large table. Next to the kitchen there is a dining area and separate lounge served by a small bar with sink. The TV is in yet another area with very comfy armchairs. There are also two toilets, one in the main bathroom opposite the bedroom.

We were surprised and disappointed to find that sleeping arrangements were two single beds, but this was something we missed when reading the description. A nice surprise though was the supply of good quality house wine on sale with an honesty box.

This property, 20min walk from the restaurants and bars of Hilo centre, is amazing at first glance and the host has put a tremendous effort into making this a palace of bric a brac and antique and interesting furniture. It has a lot of charm and you will love the place if you share the same creative and artistic tastes.

However, a downside as a guest is that you almost feel you are intruding into someone's private museum of collectibles. There are so many knickknacks that we struggled to create space for our stuff and be able to easily find it again later. There are numerous notes that instruct you about items that can't be used or touched. There are also notes left as reminders about how lights, fans etc are to be used. Whilst this is meant to be helpful and to save energy, we found them an irritation as we would have done this without being asked. The host attends the property daily to empty trash and also tidies items back to their assigned locations; even if, as a guest, you had moved them because you wanted to use them somewhere else.

Overall, this a lovely property with lots of living space that is well appointed and beautifully presented. Many people have obviously enjoyed staying here and I can very much understand why. For us, however, the experience was tarnished a little by all the notes and what we felt to be rather intrusive actions of the hostess who made us feel uncertain about our privacy. This meant we did not feel entirely free to relax and be ourselves while we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and comfort of the furnishings. Outdoor living and indoor areas are very generous
Liked least: The single beds. The frequent notes and reminders. Uncertainty about privacy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
This guest booked on Airbnb and left a similar review. She has also left this review on tripadvisor. I gave this much thought and am compelled to respond to her complaints. Firstly, the cottage is advertised with deluxe twin beds, but apparently this guest was very unhappy with the twin bed accommodation. The beds are extremely comfortable. She shoud have reviewed the listing carefully before booking. Also I have very simple, common sense house rules, one of which is to turn off fans and lights when leaving because electricity is very high in Hawaii. The lights and ceiling fans were left on all day and night. On the second day, I left a polite note asking that they turn off the fans and lights when leaving. There was a total disregard to this request and it should be noted that this is in my house rules...to turn off lights and ceiling fans when leaving.
Guests are required to agree to house rules before booking with AirBnB. The fans were on the entire time they were here. So on my housekeeping daily rounds, I would turned them off . The house has almost 2,000 sq. ft. of living area and lots of space for luggage and personal storage. She claims the house was filled with bric-a-brac and nick-knacks so they had no room for storage, etc. This is not valid. 2,000 sq. ft. is large for a vacation rental. There are lots of storage areas. The house has fine art displays and art collectibles, hardly what I consider nick-knacks. It is advertised as a home with Hawaiian artificats. This is part of the charm..... and the house is very clean and orderly. I do general trash and supply refills daily. There was no invasion of privacy. I am sorry they did not feel comfortable. But perhaps this cottage was not a good fit for them. You are coming into peoples homes. This is not a sterile hotel setting. You have to come and see for yourself. This is a lovely Hawaiian vintage setting in Hilo and I go out of my way to accommodate my guests. I have been awarded Super Host status on AirBnB so my record speaks for itself. Thank you for this opportunity to explain myself and I look forward to great relationships with my guests. Mahalo Nui Loa and have a great Hawaiian day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarrowHou...
St. Francisville, LA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“KAWEHI: Her friendly, informative personality was the "star of the show"!”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

As B&B owners ourselves, we particularly appreciated the absolutely charming
experience of staying in the home of Kawehi Cochran in Hilo. Her artistic
talent for decorating and fine collection of local antiques was evident
everywhere.

However, it was her friendly, informative personality that was
the "star of the show"! Mahalo, Kawehi, for sharing part of your Hawaiian
culture with us and all your must-do suggestions were the best! My only
regret was not staying longer than 5 days with you and enjoying more of
the quaint city of Hilo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So many things... the spaciousness, decor and location for starters.
Liked least: Regretting that we hadn't stayed longer than 5 days. lol
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marian M
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
“Unique and Fabulous House”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This home was more than exceptional.

The host anticipated all our needs and wants. The house was uniquely old Hawaiian. We woke to the sounds of the water fixtures on the lanai's (yes multiple lanai's), fresh pastry and coffee provide by the host. Kewehi. The gardens were lovely. - The stocked wine was perfect for the evening after a long day of touring. Kewehi also provided lots of literature and books so we found some places to visit that were off the beaten path. We could not have asked for a better experience.

We are recommending this house to everyone we know who plan a trip to Hilo.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coorgy
coorgy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Night at the Museum”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A well maintained cozy place with lot of antiques, books and collectibles. The host was available and friendly. The laundry service for a nominal fee was nice benefit. It is a few minutes drive from downtown.

We did have a keep a close eye on our little one from breaking any of the delicate, expensive collectibles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Aloha. It was a pleasure hosting you. I do not allow children as guests because of the collectibles but assisted you in finding a last minute accommodation. Mahalo again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing