We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Night at the Museum”
other travellers have booked this property
Entry gazebo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entry gazebo
Dining in gazebo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Entry gazebo
Dining in gazebo
Mosaic floor tiles in kitchen stove area
Interior door
Exterior
Tropical garden view to gazebo
House veranda view
Front yard access for guests
tropical landscaping
Welcome sign
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
coorgy
coorgy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Night at the Museum”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A well maintained cozy place with lot of antiques, books and collectibles. The host was available and friendly. The laundry service for a nominal fee was nice benefit. It is a few minutes drive from downtown.

We did have a keep a close eye on our little one from breaking any of the delicate, expensive collectibles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Aloha. It was a pleasure hosting you. I do not allow children as guests because of the collectibles but assisted you in finding a last minute accommodation. Mahalo again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karthick...
Frisco, Texas
1 review
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed two nights there, we enjoyed it. If we have time , we could have extended our trip.
She is very friendly and shares more information about places in Hilo.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatWhit...
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“All We Could Have Asked For”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We recently completed a two week vacation in Hawaii. As we had decided to island hop, we were looking for something a little different from our Waikiki high-rise or our Maui Beach Resort for our three night visit to the Big Island. We had opted to stay in Hilo to get a better taste of the quieter, more traditional Hawaii. As a result, my search ended us up booked at Hale Kawehi. It ended up being one of the true highlights of our visit to Hawaii.

The Property: This is not a typical house, but a unique property that offers guests a chance to stay in a classic old Hawaiian house. Be assured that you have use of the entire house, as the owner/hostess has separate living quarters behind the house. Your home includes a bedroom with two comfortable twin beds, a full bath, a half bath, a full kitchen, two living rooms, a bar area, a TV area, and finally two glorious outside sitting areas for you to enjoy, and for smokers, a place to light up. Covered parking is also included for any rental. In true Hawaiian tradition, the windows are not glass but are all screened making the outdoors a huge part of the atmosphere in the house. It is a comfortable and unique experience. All amenities are there for cooking your own food, as well as anything else required to ``live`` in the house. A nice touch is you are greeted upon check-in with fresh croissants and fresh juice for weary travelers, and local wine is available for a small fee if you should desire as well.

The Owner: We had the opportunity of course to meet Kawehi when we checked in and she was a lovely lady who made us feel very welcome in what can be sometimes a different experience for a lot of people. She is a life long Hawaiian, and well versed on her immediate surroundings in Hilo, as well as with all the Big Island has to offer and beyond. A world traveler, you get the sense right away that she appreciates why you are there, and will do what she can to make your visit special. She is very proud of her family`s home, as is obvious as soon as you meet her. We had the opportunity to meet up with her at different times during our visit, and we left feeling like we had made a new friend.

In conclusion, if you are looking for a unique and comfortable place to stay that offers a convenient location to visit Hilo or as a jumping off place for the Big Island, you will not do better than Hale Kawehi. I would not hesitate for a moment to make this our home again during any return visit to Hawaii!!!!! Mahalo

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidECle...
Hillsboro, Oregon
2 reviews
“Hale Kawehi is the real Hawai'i”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Kawehi Cochran is a very gracious hostess. We try to stay with her whenever we come to Hilo. The house is decorated with her mementos and treasures and it's very comfortable and welcoming. The lanai overlooking the garden is especially pleasant. The location is also perfect: walkable from downtown and only a short drive from Prince Kuhio Plaza. Always a great experience!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2015
Mahalo Nui Loa for your visit during Merrie Monarch week. It is always an exciting and festive time in Hilo and I was pleased to host you and Helen. You were wonderful guests and I hope you visit again. A hui hou for now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desihook
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We ended a 10 day trip with our last two nights at Hale Kawehi. It was the perfect place to wind down and prepare for our long trip home. As other reviewers indicate, the host goes out of her way to make visitors comfortable with juice and croissants and really helpful travel advice. Little signs provide helpful directions for use of lights, fans, etc. and even wine and laundry are provided for a very minimal cost. Impeccably clean, the house is built in a uniquely Hawaiian style with as much livable space outside as inside and is beautifully and interestingly decorated (old clocks and stained glass!). Mahalo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing