We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful quaint condo w/ a terrific lagoon out...”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the lanai of Maunaloa Shores 403, an oceanfront condo in Keaukaha, Hilo's beach park area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the lanai of Maunaloa Shores 403, an oceanfront condo in Keaukaha, Hilo's beach park area.
The condo is comfortably furnished with everything you'll need for a relaxing stay. There's a TV with basic cable and a DVD player
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
View from the lanai of Maunaloa Shores 403, an oceanfront condo in Keaukaha, Hilo's beach park area.
The condo is comfortably furnished with everything you'll need for a relaxing stay.
There's a TV with basic cable and a DVD player
The condo is tastefully decorated.
There's a dining table with seating for 4, and the open kitchen is adjacent.
The hall off the living room leads to the bedroom, bathroom and den.
Ceramic tile floors and ceiling fans keep you cool.
Indoor dining table has seating for 4
The full kitchen provides all you'll need to prepare, cook and serve meals.
There's an electric range and nice tile counters.
Sink, fridge, coffee maker, and much more!
You'll find dishes, pots and pans, utensils and small appliances in the cabinets and on the shelves.
But why eat indoors when you can eat out on the covered lanai?
Spittin' distance to the warm, crystal clear waters of Carlsmith Park.
The bedroom has a nice queen bed.
It's hard to get the right angle, but the bedroom has an ocean view as well.
A large closet and dresser for your storage needs.
You'll appreciate the light dampening shades on those early mornings!
The den has a futon sofa, reading library,
more storage space,
and a desk that's perfect for your laptop if you must work while you stay.
The futon folds out to a bed for extra sleeping space.
The bathroom has a shower over tub with hand held shower head and grab bar.
May all who enter as guests leave as friends!
There's a shortcut to awesome swimming and snorkeling just past the pool area.
Picnic pavilion and BBQ at Carlsmith Park.
Exterior shot of Maunaloa Shores.
There's also a pool and plenty of lounge chairs for sunbathing.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Extraordi...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Owner cares not about guest comfort”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We are in the midst of a stay beganning on 1/1/17. Upon our entry to the unit we noticed that no furniture from the posted for rent pictures exists. The living room furniture consists of a sofa that was attacked by a rabid mongoose, shredded. Not really furniture that you can sit on. There was no table to sit outside, no bar stools for the bar, there is a china hutch jammed into the kitchen blocking drawers, making the kitchen very cramped. Disappointed in the response from the management, they did remove the moldy rug and replace it, but we can not even use the provided television, as it does not have a remote. All of these complaints were voiced to the rental management before being posted here.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
The couch, along with a rug and a glass table, were destroyed by the guests who checked out the same day he arrived, which was 1-January. There are very limited options for furniture shopping on this island, and many were closed on Monday in observance of the New Year holiday. Never the less, we were able to get the rug and table replaced on 4-Jan, the couch on 6-Jan.

As for the TV, it works! We purchased and tried out several different "universal" remotes, and were able to determine that it was the sensor for the remote that was not working. While it may be a bit inconvenient to stand up and change the channel yourself, this is not the same thing as the TV not working. After the replacement of the sofa, table and rug, we knew the owner would be in bad shape if she had to replace an otherwise functional television as well. We were even talking about going to Rent-A-Center and renting a TV on our own dime. Then this review was posted after we had literally devoted days to getting these issues resolved, and we decided that Mr Naffziger would just have to cope with changing the channel on the TV without a remote.

The owner of this property is actively involved and works hard to keep it in good condition. The guest experience is extremely important to her. She also stays in her condo regularly and enjoys it. We know that she will replace the television when she is here to pick out one that she likes and wants.

We take customer satisfaction VERY seriously, but even we have our limits. Online reviews can seriously impact the success of a vacation rental, and a review this spiteful over the above mentioned TV remote issue is unacceptable. And now we see that he is taking time out of his vacation to go and post these nasty and inaccurate reviews on as many websites as he can find. We have informed this guest that will not book to him again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sallym808
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirty & Outdated Kitchen”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong as a whole the Condo was clean.
Except for the kitchen.
Would I recommend this condo, yes
if the Kitchen was cleaned up and reorganized.
But it seems doing the dishes is up to each renter. The dishes were dirty, the pots and pans were impossible to cook in, everything stuck and not due to my cooking abilities.
Front left burner on stove was not working.
There is a cupboard above the refrigerator full of things you don't need- a punch bowl with 20 cups. It would be nice if they removed those items and put the blender,etc. in that cupboard for easy access. Instead of in the back of some drawer. Which was difficult to get out. You had to remove all pans to get to it. The kitchen was dirty. ALL the cupboards and drawers need wiped down and new drawer paper put down. My recommendation would be for the property manager to stay a night or two and try to prepare a couple of meals. Dirty cutting boards and DULL knives.
The double bed in the one bedroom is very uncomfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked least: Kitchen and the Double Bed.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2014
Oh my! Thank you so much for letting us know. We will get there right away check this out and get it corrected. We'll address the cleanliness with the housekeepers and check out the cabinets, cookware and small appliances to get the kitchen in better shape. We are terribly sorry this happened.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pambJ3179...
Warrenton, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful quaint condo w/ a terrific lagoon out the back door!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This was just what we were looking for. My husband & I stayed here w/ my adult son & his girlfriend. We went snorkeling w/ the sea turtles, laid & sunned on the lava rocks & basically enjoyed the peace & beauty of the location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Listening to the waves hit the shore at night, but swimming in a quiet lagoon w/ the sea turtles in the day.
Liked least: It rained on our last day there...but rain is still beautiful in paradise!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kat_arit
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable condo and great location”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Our family of five stayed at this condo for four nights, and it was great for what we needed. The location is a short drive from the main part of Hilo, though there is not much in terms of shops or restaurants within walking distance. The best part of the location is Carlsmith Beach Park, which is pretty much in the backyard of the condo property. This beach was great for relaxing, swimming, and watching sea turtles. It wasn’t too crowded either (we were there during the week—not sure what it’s like on the weekends). The outside of the condo does look a bit dated, but the inside is clean and nicely decorated. The balcony was also great to have. We really enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA, United States
Reviewed 22 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
5
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing