We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 172)
Filter reviews
1 172 results
Traveller rating
266
474
300
79
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
474
300
79
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coconut grill attached restaurant koi pond ice pond close to the airport small museum the big island banyan drive budget hotel free breakfast older hotel on site restaurant old hawaii beds were comfortable ceiling fan convenient location air conditioner
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1 172 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2018

This is a lovely older hotel owned and operated by a Hawaiian family. Very clean and a great location for Downtown Hilo. Be sure to check out the Hawaiian memorabilia room and the beautiful quilt squares in the lobby hallway.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hilo Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and for supporting our local business. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the amenities of our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We love it because of a/c and the view of the ocean and everything else. They was accomadating we ask to check in early and they have a room ready for us to enjoy and we expected everything on the website without a problem. We will be coming back again soon and we didn't try the restaurant yet but maybe our next stay we will.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Arron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hilo Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely basic hotel with wonderful staff. Parking is easy and free. It’s about a 20-25 min walk from downtown where most of the shops and restaurants are. There are a few options to eat around the hotel.
I would stay there again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank maryfratto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

I’ve have stayed at a Hawaiian Seaside location several times (Hilo and Maui) over the last three years. This particular hotel in Hilo is one of my favorite travel bargain experiences. It is located less than a mile from the airport and is right on the serene, scenic Hilo Bay. If you’re looking for luxury, then this is not the hotel for you. Actually, in Hilo, there really are no luxury hotels. You need to stay on the Kona side of the Big Island for that experience. This hotel is generally less than $150 a night and is staffed by a friendly and very efficient team. The rooms are small, but clean and functional. There is no air conditioning, but the open-shade windows provide a pleasant enough experience without them. Privacy is the one drawback, as the hotel doors all have entrances from the outside. There is a local restaurant on-site that is outstanding. I ate here at least once a day. The lobby is not big, but has a beautiful open-air view looking out over the bay. If you’ve come to the Hilo side for adventure and quick access to Akaka/Rainbow Falls or the Vocano National Park, then the Hilo Seaside Hotel is a perfect choice. If you’re looking for a quiet, romantic getaway hotel, stay away. This is an excellent choice for adventure millennials or families on a budget who want to discover the Big Island like a local. There are some outstanding local beaches for surfing and sea turtle watching less than five minutes away from this hotel. Check it out.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank tphybridtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hilo Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you for your amazing review of our hotel! We truly appreciate your continued support our locally owned and operated establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

It was wonderful!! The employees were all very friendly. I don't think one employee didn't say hello for my entire stay. If I go back, I'll definitely stay here again. Judy was awesome. She told me what and where I should see.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank mmccorison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hilo Seaside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews