We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good dinner”

Sushi Rock and Trio
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Hawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$35
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A 5 star casual experience expanding the horizons of sushi featuring locally grown and raised mostly organic products and ingredients.Plenty of offeings for non fish eaters,vegetarians and those needing gluten free dining.Owner operated ,friendly and welcoming.Amazing house made desserts,salads,sandwiches,broiled items and, of course,world famous sushi!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Worth the drive if you are not staying in the north country. This place has some great food. The staff is friendly and runs about checking on everybody as needed. The fish is fresh and tasty, and they accommodate those who are not big sushi fans with some more normal entrees.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MackStWgns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alohapeter, Owner at Sushi Rock and Trio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Very appreciative of your comments.Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife, I, and 5 friends from the mainland went to dinner last night. It was one of the best dinners we have ever had. The fresh Ono, Mahi, and Ahi were excellently prepared, salads, rolls, etc. were fabulous. Thanks to Peter and his crew for the wonderful service and hospitality!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alohasterlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alohapeter, Owner at Sushi Rock and Trio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Your enthusiasm is never taken for granted.Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Owed a friend a favor and he wanted to come here for dinner. Ordered a maragarita and waited, and waited and waited. Finally came out and our order was taken. We started with appetizers of goat cheese salad and carmelized onions, fish cakes and chicken satay with peanut sauce. Main course of rock star nori maki, makai inside out roll and a vege delux roll. Again we waited, the margarita was not that flavorful, tasted like alcohol with a bit of lime juice in melted ice served with a dried out lime on the side. Our appetizers came out with our main plates, so many plates of food that we had to rearrange everything on our small 2 person table. Then the waiter forgot to give us plates to eat on, we had to ask. The food was good, the service was terrible. The timing of giving us all of our food at one time without any breaks didn’t help either. I don’t go out for dinner very often and look forward to a nice relaxing evening and this was not it.

1  Thank celestewest10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alohapeter, Owner at Sushi Rock and Trio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry I’ve taken so long to respond.Honestly I can only apologize and let you know it’s been very challenging to know how to staff and also finding the right people.I take your comments seriously and am working hard to make sure it doesn’t happen often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

An extraordinary restaurant with wonderful creative Sushi. Sushi Rock and Trio is a real find in the small town of Hawi. A great chef, excellent service and a laid back vibe make for a great dining experience. If you are on the northern end of the Big Island, don't miss Sushi Rock.

Thank charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alohapeter, Owner at Sushi Rock and Trio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Very thankful for your kind response to our hard work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Ordered a bunch of sushi for lunch - including the spicy Pele roll. All of it was fantastic! We order sushi everywhere we travel, and this was top notch. Staff was very friendly (not surprising for the North Shore!) and the building oozed charm. Highly recommend this gem!

Thank manabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alohapeter, Owner at Sushi Rock and Trio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you.Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Rock and Trio also viewed

 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Kapaau, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sushi Rock and Trio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing