We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical getaway!!!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
racheljoh...
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Magical getaway!!!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

My husband and I stayed at this dream vacation for 10 days and thoroughly enjoyed all this beautiful house had to offer! The sunsets we witnessed were truly awe-inspiring. The house itself is quite unique, and offers a great "home" for anyone travelling to the Big Island. Captain Cook is a great place to set up home base on Hawaii as we were close to a great restaurant called the Coffee Shack, as well as to Kealakekua Bay where early morning swims can be quite rewarding! The house is a magical getaway and both my partner and I were happy to relax in the beauty of the home. There are many provisions the house has to offer if you were coming as a couple or with your family. There were even some mermaid oracle cards we found that had some really interesting messages during our vacation! Bruce is a wonderful and attentive host, anytime i messaged him for assistance with a matter he would respond quickly and resolve the issue in a very timely fashion. We will be returning next year for another visit for sure!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_ecstern
SeaTac, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Home in the Tropics”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had never gone away before on a big trip as a whole family, and this home on the Kona side of the Big Island was magical in every way. The glass doors open onto a deck surrounded by lush tropical plants and a view of the coastline that stretches as far as you can see. Just sitting in the hammock or eating breakfast on the deck was so relaxing. All facilities are well stocked and easy to use. The contact person supplied us with snorkel gear, papayas on our doorstep, and a contact to rent kayaks. If you happen to wake in the middle of the night, check out the stars from the deck: as brilliant as they are atop the volcano. The best!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BambiBK
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous time at Pu`uhonua House!”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family of 4 really thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Pu`uhonua House. This house had the coolest construction design. It felt like you were staying in a tree house that offered the most spectacular views of Captain Cook's Bay. The house has many steps with all the bedrooms on the lower level plus a large sleeping loft on the top level. All the walls were screened from floor to ceiling. Most of the time there was a breeze to enjoy. Since we were there in August, it was not necessary to close the glass panels due to the warmer temperature. It did get a little warm & humid during the day but usually cooled off for the evening. We loved the eco-friendly environment! Bruce was a very responsive host and set us up with kayaking & SUP outings. Bruce also gave us lots of other location suggestions for hanging out at the various beaches and snorkeling locations plus great restaurant suggestions when we didn't feel like cooking. The house is fully stocked with all the kitchen pots, pans, & spices for cooking. Plus, Bruce provides coolers, plenty of beach towels, beach chairs, & noddles for spending the day at the beach. Bruce took us down to Two Step Beach where we did paddle boards & snorkeled and got to swim with the wild dolphins. Wow, that was so exiting! You will love staying at Pu`uhonua House!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WiseRiver...
Alameda, California
1 review
“Awesome Aloha Home!”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I brought my Women's Retreat group to the Pu'uhonua House and everyone was absolutely surprised by the beauty, charm and gracious energy of the space. The owners have put a lot of love and Aloha into the home and it fit our needs perfectly. Each floor and each room felt spacious and serene with wraparound views, fresh Hawai'ian breezes and lush gardens. We were greeted each morning with fresh picked fruit from the gardens by Bruce, the owner. He warned us that the Strawberry Bananas would ruin us forever and he was right. They are so good! Bruce was also so easy to work with and made sure my retreat guests were taken care of. He was very generous with his time and even helped me with a package that was delivered during the Retreat. This is a great space for groups and families that like adventure. From climbing the ladder to the loft to the paddle boards you can rent from Bruce, we all had so much fun plus were serenaded by the sounds of Nature at night. It made my swimming with Wild Dolphins Retreat perfect and my group now has many fond memories of our shared experience. I highly recommend staying at this beautiful home. Mahalo!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
139ktl
Castro Valley, California
1 review
“Fabulous tree house oasis”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My family of 17 stayed in 2 houses on Kona, one of which was the Pu'uhonua House. What a fun place to stay! It's like a tree house. My family really enjoyed the lanai's, the unique bedrooms, the rooftop viewing area (awesome stars!), and the comfortable feel. There are lots of stairs, but easily manageable. Bruce was a pleasure to work with and made us feel welcome. We appreciated the credit he gave us when a couple people had to drop out just before the trip. We would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique property, great location, beautiful view
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$325
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing