We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing museum”

Buffalo Bill Center of the West
Ranked #1 of 64 things to do in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hours: Mar 1 – Apr 30: 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. daily May 1 – Sep 15: 8 a.m. – 6 p.m. daily Sep 16 – Oct 31: 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. daily Nov 1 – 30: 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. daily Dec 1 – Feb 28: 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. Thursday – Sunday Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s days Since 1927, the Buffalo Bill Center of the West has been committed to the greatness and growth of the American West, keeping western experiences alive. The Center of the West, an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution, weaves the varied threads of the western experience-history and myth, art and Native culture, firearms, and the nature and science of Yellowstone-into the rich panorama that is the American West. The Center of the West has been honored with numerous awards, including TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence for four years running.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came here years ago and it is even better than I remembered. Wonderful exhibits! We even had biscuits, coffee and beans outside from a man displaying chuckwagon food. Go to this museum!

1  Thank treesprite07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CenterOfTheWest, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Center of the West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review! I'll let our Camp Cookie know how much you enjoyed the experience! Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3 730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"two days"
in 367 reviews
"natural history"
in 296 reviews
"buffalo bill"
in 1 137 reviews
"great museum"
in 238 reviews
"art museum"
in 101 reviews
"something for everyone"
in 175 reviews
"plains indians"
in 239 reviews
"under one roof"
in 134 reviews
"indian exhibit"
in 38 reviews
"his life"
in 77 reviews
"world class museum"
in 50 reviews
"we spent hours"
in 63 reviews
"wings"
in 74 reviews
"native americans"
in 97 reviews
"several hours"
in 55 reviews
"take your time"
in 47 reviews
"plan on spending"
in 38 reviews
Filter

59 - 63 of 3 731 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everyone should visit here when in the area. It is not just one museum, but five; the one for Buffalo Bill is only a part of the complex. It will take a good two hours. It is very informative and enjoyable. Buffalo Bill was an interesting guy. However, his story is only part of what you see. The museum as a whole is very well designed and impressive. Go see it.

Thank CherylDave1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CenterOfTheWest, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Center of the West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your fantastic review! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the best museums we have ever visited. It is HUGE! Well done and educational. So much to do, we only allowed 1/2 day in our vacation schedule and this was not nearly enough. We did not even get through half of the exhibits. Great gift shop, wonderful café and outdoor experiences with Raptors and a Covered Wagon cook making sourdough biscuits, coffee and beans over a campfire. Don't miss this museum! We will be back!

Thank pcfrizzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CenterOfTheWest, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Center of the West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your fantastic review! If you need a quick refresher on your next visit we are also offering a Highlights Map at the admissions and tour desks. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the Raptors and our fantastic Chuck Wagon experiences. There really is something for everyone. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very modern building with large display areas that focus on Buffalo Bill as an entertainer and performer. Asked an attendant where the displays were about his time as a scout and hunter and were told they don't cover those things !!

Thank grahamd00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CenterOfTheWest, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Center of the West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are disappointed to hear that you didn't get to experience our displays about Buffalo Bill's time as a scout and hunter. There is an alcove in the Buffalo Bill Museum specifically dedicated to this very important part of his story. We are currently training many new staff members who may not know all we have to offer yet. We apologize for the faulty directions you have received. We also offer 4 other museums within the Center focusing around the Natural Science of the Yellowstone region, Plains Indians and their relationship with the buffalo, Western Art, and Firearms. We invite you to join us again soon to get the rest of the story!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Extremely interesting, educational and informative. Awesome collection of firearms and Indian history.

Thank ontheroadagain1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CenterOfTheWest, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Center of the West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffalo Bill Center of the West also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Bill Center of the West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing