We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
This is a MUST SEE museum.

I've been here 4 times over 12 years. The museum has several areas dealing with Western history... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
joensue81
Excellent museum - worth the time to explore it

We spent 3-4 hrs here and saw all the highlights we were interested in. Especially enjoyed seeing... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
pqjb2016
,
Maine
Read all 3 988 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Cody
from US$250,00
More Info
from US$250,00
More Info
from US$42,00
More Info
from US$65,00
More Info
Reviews (3 988)
Filter reviews
3 988 results
Traveller rating
3 431
465
70
7
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3 431
465
70
7
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two days natural history buffalo bill great museum art museum something for everyone plains indians under one roof indian exhibit his life world class museum we spent hours wings native americans several hours plan on spending day pass
Filter
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 3 988 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

A very modern building with large display areas that focus on Buffalo Bill as an entertainer and performer. Asked an attendant where the displays were about his time as a scout and hunter and were told they don't cover those things !!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank grahamd00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CenterOfTheWest, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Center of the West, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

We are disappointed to hear that you didn't get to experience our displays about Buffalo Bill's time as a scout and hunter. There is an alcove in the Buffalo Bill Museum specifically dedicated to this very important part of his story. We are currently training many new staff members who may not know all we have to offer yet. We apologize for the faulty directions you have received. We also offer 4 other museums within the Center focusing around the Natural Science of the Yellowstone region, Plains Indians and their relationship with the buffalo, Western Art, and Firearms. We invite you to join us again soon to get the rest of the story!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Extremely interesting, educational and informative. Awesome collection of firearms and Indian history.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank ontheroadagain1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CenterOfTheWest, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Center of the West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for your great review! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

This museum is a treasure. My wife and I spent all morning and I went back for the afternoon. There is a full service snack bar including beer and espresso. Displays range from history, to art, to firearms, to natural history. One of the better museums I've seen. Apparently the firearms display will be closed for several months while they remodel.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Pondoro2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CenterOfTheWest, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Center of the West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for your great review! While the Cody Firearms museum will be closing for its remodel, many of visitors' favorite exhibits have been placed throughout the other four museums for your viewing pleasure. You can also access our online collections for any you might have missed or wish to view while the museum is closed. We invite you to join us again next year for The Cody Firearms Museum's grand reopening!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

My wife and I visited the Buffalo Bill Center of the West while on an overnight stay in Cody, WY. If you find yourself in the area, then seriously consider making time to visit the Buffalo Bill Center. This is the type of museum you expect to find in a large city. It's divided into five sub-museums each with its own subject. They're all very well done and worth visiting.

The museum will take three or four hours to fully appreciate. You can make it a quicker trip by walking faster or skipping some of the exhibits (sub-museums). There's a cafeteria inside the museum that serves a decent lunch. There is plenty of free parking in front of the museum.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank smenzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CenterOfTheWest, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Center of the West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for your great review! Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

5 museums of the West under one roof? Take the time and spend both days here. They give you a 2 day pass with your admission fee. The whole family will be glad you did, from 5 to 95! Plenty of seating, food on sight, and history, nature, art and guns. Something for everyone who loves the West!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank ahare19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CenterOfTheWest, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Center of the West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for your fantastic review! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews