We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Will Need A Day or Two!”

Buffalo Bill Center of the West
Ranked #1 of 64 things to do in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hours: Mar 1 – Apr 30: 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. daily May 1 – Sep 15: 8 a.m. – 6 p.m. daily Sep 16 – Oct 31: 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. daily Nov 1 – 30: 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. daily Dec 1 – Feb 28: 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. Thursday – Sunday Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s days Since 1927, the Buffalo Bill Center of the West has been committed to the greatness and growth of the American West, keeping western experiences alive. The Center of the West, an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution, weaves the varied threads of the western experience-history and myth, art and Native culture, firearms, and the nature and science of Yellowstone-into the rich panorama that is the American West. The Center of the West has been honored with numerous awards, including TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence for four years running.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the best museums we have ever visited. It is HUGE! Well done and educational. So much to do, we only allowed 1/2 day in our vacation schedule and this was not nearly enough. We did not even get through half of the exhibits. Great gift shop, wonderful café and outdoor experiences with Raptors and a Covered Wagon cook making sourdough biscuits, coffee and beans over a campfire. Don't miss this museum! We will be back!

Thank pcfrizzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CenterOfTheWest, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Center of the West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your fantastic review! If you need a quick refresher on your next visit we are also offering a Highlights Map at the admissions and tour desks. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the Raptors and our fantastic Chuck Wagon experiences. There really is something for everyone. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3 728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"two days"
in 367 reviews
"natural history"
in 296 reviews
"buffalo bill"
in 1 137 reviews
"great museum"
in 238 reviews
"art museum"
in 101 reviews
"something for everyone"
in 175 reviews
"plains indians"
in 239 reviews
"under one roof"
in 134 reviews
"indian exhibit"
in 38 reviews
"his life"
in 77 reviews
"world class museum"
in 50 reviews
"we spent hours"
in 63 reviews
"wings"
in 74 reviews
"native americans"
in 97 reviews
"several hours"
in 55 reviews
"take your time"
in 47 reviews
"plan on spending"
in 38 reviews
Filter

61 - 65 of 3 731 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very modern building with large display areas that focus on Buffalo Bill as an entertainer and performer. Asked an attendant where the displays were about his time as a scout and hunter and were told they don't cover those things !!

Thank grahamd00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CenterOfTheWest, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Center of the West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are disappointed to hear that you didn't get to experience our displays about Buffalo Bill's time as a scout and hunter. There is an alcove in the Buffalo Bill Museum specifically dedicated to this very important part of his story. We are currently training many new staff members who may not know all we have to offer yet. We apologize for the faulty directions you have received. We also offer 4 other museums within the Center focusing around the Natural Science of the Yellowstone region, Plains Indians and their relationship with the buffalo, Western Art, and Firearms. We invite you to join us again soon to get the rest of the story!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Extremely interesting, educational and informative. Awesome collection of firearms and Indian history.

Thank ontheroadagain1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CenterOfTheWest, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Center of the West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This museum is a treasure. My wife and I spent all morning and I went back for the afternoon. There is a full service snack bar including beer and espresso. Displays range from history, to art, to firearms, to natural history. One of the better museums I've seen. Apparently the firearms display will be closed for several months while they remodel.

1  Thank Pondoro2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CenterOfTheWest, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Center of the West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review! While the Cody Firearms museum will be closing for its remodel, many of visitors' favorite exhibits have been placed throughout the other four museums for your viewing pleasure. You can also access our online collections for any you might have missed or wish to view while the museum is closed. We invite you to join us again next year for The Cody Firearms Museum's grand reopening!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I visited the Buffalo Bill Center of the West while on an overnight stay in Cody, WY. If you find yourself in the area, then seriously consider making time to visit the Buffalo Bill Center. This is the type of museum you expect to find in a large city. It's divided into five sub-museums each with its own subject. They're all very well done and worth visiting.

The museum will take three or four hours to fully appreciate. You can make it a quicker trip by walking faster or skipping some of the exhibits (sub-museums). There's a cafeteria inside the museum that serves a decent lunch. There is plenty of free parking in front of the museum.

Thank Sandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CenterOfTheWest, Public Relations Manager at Buffalo Bill Center of the West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review! Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buffalo Bill Center of the West also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Bill Center of the West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing