We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and Miss”

Grand Avenue Pub & Grille
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Description: The Grand Avenue Pub & Grille offers a calm, relaxing space for eating and enjoying good conversation. Our menu offers many creative and refreshing varieties. Salad bar, homemade soups and buffets for lunch and dinner Monday-Thursday. Also Friday night buffet. Each Sunday our Brunch offers great choices such as omelets made to order, superb waffles, awesome meats with great side dishes and a dessert lovers variety of sweets to finish out an terrific meal. Also Monday-Saturday, drop by the Grand Avenue Tavern and unwind in a traditional pub-style environment. Sip locally-brewed beer or indulge in a glass of wine. We offer nightly drink specials and live entertainment Fridays.
Restaurant details
Description: The Grand Avenue Pub & Grille offers a calm, relaxing space for eating and enjoying good conversation. Our menu offers many creative and refreshing varieties. Salad bar, homemade soups and buffets for lunch and dinner Monday-Thursday. Also Friday night buffet. Each Sunday our Brunch offers great choices such as omelets made to order, superb waffles, awesome meats with great side dishes and a dessert lovers variety of sweets to finish out an terrific meal. Also Monday-Saturday, drop by the Grand Avenue Tavern and unwind in a traditional pub-style environment. Sip locally-brewed beer or indulge in a glass of wine. We offer nightly drink specials and live entertainment Fridays.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

My ribs were great-- cooked well with tasty sauce. However, my baked potato had a bad spot that was at least a quarter of it's entire volume. My wife faired worse-- she wanted the pan fried walleye, and after a lengthy pause, the waitress came back and said they were out, so she got the perch at a 10% discount and asked for it to be pan fried as well. It came back with some sort of uncooked flour coating-- my wife asked several times and the waitress insisted it was just salt and pepper. My wife even brushed some of the flour away, and the uncooked consistency made it totally unappealing, and she didn't eat it. Her mash was inedible as well- a huge tasteless blob of stuff that same off her plate with a single lift of the fork. Luckily the cheese soup and salad bar gave her something to eat. Breakfast the next morning was another spilt decision-- loved my corn beef hash with poached egg but my wife again got the wrong pancake. Lovely hotel, great stay, but a little concentration would have helped here.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda S, General Manager at Grand Avenue Pub & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dave,
We are very sorry to hear that your experience with some of the food was unsatisfactory. We unfortunately ran out of walleye that particular evening. Please know that we have looked into why this happened and will try to make sure this does not happen again. We hope that you will dine with us again and will give us the opportunity to perfect your dining experience. Thank you again for taking the time to give a review so that we can always strive for perfection.

Thank you,
Hotel Mead Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2018

Enjoyed happy hour at the Grnd Avenue Pub & Grille. My wife and I drank pinot grigio while one friend drank a coke and the other had red wine. We ate a sandwhich. Soft music played in the background. A nice place for a conversation during happy hours.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda S, General Manager at Grand Avenue Pub & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you so much for such a kind review. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Yours truly,
Hotel Mead Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Friday Fish Fry is Wonderful!!! The Atmosphere is Comfortable & Quiet!! Great Place to meet with Family & Friends!!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Di C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda S, General Manager at Grand Avenue Pub & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your dinner experience with and look forward to seeing you again the future.

Thank you,
Hotel Mead staff and management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

My wife and I along with some friends arrive at about 6PM to eat before a show that started at 8PM. it took about 15 min to get our first drinks and another 10 or so to get our order taken. at 7:45 we asked about our food order and were told ours was next. we told them to cancel it. 1 1/2 hours and it was not even started. they need MANAGEMENT. it was not even that busy. will never go back again.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda S, General Manager at Grand Avenue Pub & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Kelly,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a satisfactory experience with us and want to thank you for taking the time to give us a review, good or bad, as we like to know where we can improve. We strongly urge all to make reservations when we have an in house show as we tend to fill up quickly. We strive to make sure all our guests are happy when they are here and would love the opportunity to give you a better experience.

Thank you,
Hotel Mead staff and management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

We have been staying at the Hotel Mead for 35 years whenever we come to Wisconsin Rapids from Phoenix to visit my wife's mother. In the early and mid years we always enjoyed the quality and service at the restaurants until a year or so ago when they closed the Cafe Milano which had gone down hill in quality and service. Reopened as the Grand Avenue Pub and Grill the food quality took a real nose dive as the ratings show until our current 10 day stay (Feb 18).

The quality of the food and the menu have improved dramatically since the latest chef arrived. We have tried multiple menu choices at breakfast, lunch and dinner and have not been disappointed. The service staff is friendly, accommodating and mostly attentive. I hope that anyone who has had a negative experience give them another try. We had a group o 6 on Sat and the salad bar, prime rib and, in my case, the sweet potato were excellent.



However,

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank W Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda S, General Manager at Grand Avenue Pub & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thomas we want to thank you for taking the time to give us a very kind review. We love to hear when our guests are happy with their stay/dinner and look forward to seeing you again the future.

Thank you,
Hotel Mead Staff and Managerment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Avenue Pub & Grille also viewed

Wisconsin Rapids, WI
Wisconsin Rapids, WI
 
Wisconsin Rapids, WI
 
Wisconsin Rapids, WI
 

Been to Grand Avenue Pub & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing